We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing to write home about!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport
Ranked #43 of 88 Hotels in Malaga
Tenerife, Spain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nothing to write home about!!!!”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

This is a basic hotel, looking tired, cool reception from the front desk. Rooms were clean but basic. OK for a stop over especially when you arrive late at night and just need a bed to sleep. Having just had a frustrating experience getting from the airport to the 2 minute journey to the Hotel in a local taxi (Malaga Uni Taxi Tel. 952 32 00 00). We were informed by the Taxi driver that the 2 minute journey was a minimum charge 19 euros. He was sympathetic to our disgust but adament that this was the charge, take it or leave it! At 12.40am, tired and ready for bed we paid the fee begrudingly but later questioned with our Hotel whether this was the NORM in Malaga and the receptionist confirmed that it was. I feel this was a 'total RIP OFF' and would like warn anyone else travelling literally just A to B (to this Hotel) of this outrageous fee. 'Dick Turpin' at least wore a mask!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnBell21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear JohnBell21,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    448
    419
    110
    63
See reviews for
328
460
73
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Having had the day from hell yesterday in the worst weather Malaga has seen for a while, and having driven for 6 hours from Portugal only to have the rental car blow up just 30 kms from Malaga, the day only got worse when, in a new rental car, it took me at least an hour to find the hotel. If the directions I was given by Avis had said that I should look out for Toys R Us and the Makro it would have helped enormously. As it was, the Holiday Inn Express illuminated sign on the building was not working (due to the rain they told me!) and I did in fact drive past the building (which is set quite well back off the main road in a commercial area) at least 4 times before stopping at a Repsol petrol station and asking for help. Taxi drivers were on strike yesterday, by the way. Once in the hotel the service was very good and this morning it took me 2 minutes to drive to the Airport Terminal. There is no noise of planes landing once inside the hotel so sleep is not a problem.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JELK39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear JELK39,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and comments regarding your stay with us. We are truly sorry to hear of your difficulties driving to the hotel. We are delighted to read that after this initial issue, it was soon sorted and allowed you to enjoy your stay with us. We will always endeavor to ensure that all our guests stays are comfortable

Thank you again for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

This is not the place you would like to spend two weeks of holiday, but it is clean, efficient, very friendly personnel, nice breakfast, very close to the airport (walking distance, actually, if you can find your way, and it will save you the price of a taxi, a whopping 15 euros).
If you rent a car from the neighbour, http://www.delpasocarhire.com, there is a free shuttle to and from the airport

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jesperbxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We drove 1and a half hours from Cordoba to Malaga. . . easy. . . then 1 hour in Malaga looking for the hotel. In and out of the Malaga airport three times, into Malaga, along the main street, Avenida de Velasquez. The trick is to head along this main road towards the airport on your right hand side and turn into what looks like a used car sale yard BEFORE the overhead bridge and BEFORE the airport. It is very close to the airport but if you are coming fromthe airport you must go away from the hotel area and then do a u-turn to come back, go trough the roundabout and head back towards the airport. It is nowhere near the high rise glitch and glamour of the seafront at Malaga. You don't book here for the view! A very quiet location despite being near the airport. The staff at Reception were extremely apologetic about the difficulty of finding the hotel, something to do with the fact that there could be no high signs because of the airport. . . but signs at street level along the Avenida would certainly be a great help to tired travellers driving themselves. Despite the hassle involved in finding the hotel it was very comfortable and not overly expensive. Once you know exactly where you are the drive into Malaga itself is not far.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LITTLEWHISKERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This hotel has a warm and welcoming feel to it when you walk in. The attendants at the front desk are helpful and friendly, and although the breakfast was simple, the cuisants were fresh. We appreciated that there was a breakfast provided for very early morning travelers. On the negative side - our non-smoking room smelled of smoke, the place was quite difficult to find since the outside signs were faded, and as many reviewers have pointed out, it is difficult to get to the airport unless you have a car.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 100Paige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear 100Paige,

Thank you for taking the time to express your feedback about your stay. I truly regret that the room you were given was not completely at par with your liking. I appreciate you letting us know about this as this is our best means of improving what we can offer. Despite this, it is good to know that you found our staff to be friendly.

Again, we thank you for your review and apologize for any shortcomings.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton keynes
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We used this hotel for the one night after arriving at Malaga Airport in the evening. It turned out to be the best location for us as our car hire company, Delpaso, were located right next door. Room was as expected for airport hotel, small and compact, but clean and beds comfy. Staff on reception both on arrival and check out were polite and efficient. Breakfast was ok. No real reason to complain. Can understand previous comments about how difficult it was to find although close to airport. We were lucky in being driven there by the car hire shuttle bus and the driver used the short cut off the roundabout to into the area for the hotel car hire office. Otherwise you have to drive up the dual carriageway and back down to access hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laura1503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear laura1503,

Thank you for leaving us feedback about your recent stay. It is nice to know that overall you had a commendable stay and you found our rooms to be comfortable and staff accommodating.

Please see us soon if your travels bring you back to the area!

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corscombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Stayed here for 1 nights after a late evening flight from the UK. Difficult to find if driving yourself as you have to go into Malaga before doing U turn and then back towards the airport. Rooms were good , nice bed and bathroom. Breakfast was free for all, given that we arrived at the same time as a coach party were having there breakfast prior to their departure. Overall , value for money and a good nights sleep in a basic hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Chris H,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We certainly apologize for the inconveniences you experienced trying to find the hotel.

We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. We are pleased you did find your room and bed commendable.

We thank you for having chosen our Hotel. We take this opportunity to send you our best wishes.

Regards,

Brenda J.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
0.8 mi away
Campanile Malaga
Campanile Malaga
#54 of 88 in Malaga
404 reviews
1.6 mi away
ibis Budget Malaga Aeropuerto Avenida Velazquez
1.4 mi away
Hotel Malaga Nostrum
Hotel Malaga Nostrum
#42 of 88 in Malaga
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Malaga
1.0 mi away
Malaga Hotel Picasso
Malaga Hotel Picasso
#22 of 88 in Malaga
278 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Plaza Del Castillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport
Address: Avenida Velazquez 294 | (Junto N-340), 29004 Malaga, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 88 Hotels in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the closest Hotel to Málaga International Airport. The brand new Holiday Inn Express Málaga Airport is a comfortable and modern establishment ideally suited for both the Business and Leisure Traveller. If your flight is arriving late or you have an early departure time, and need a comfortable and familiar place to stay, this is the ideal place to stop over. SPECIAL OFFER:If you reach the Hotel via Public Transport (Bus 19) we will reimburse the Bus Ticket. Don't Miss Out!! Inaugurated on the 26th of June, 2008 its fantastic location makes it the ideal base camp to start off your day in the Malaga Area. Located directly on the N340 Motorway and with easy access & connections to all major city ring roads, the Holiday Inn Express Málaga Airport is surrounded by the Business Parks of Guadalhorce, Villa Rosa, and San Luís; and only a 2 minute drive (800m) from the Airport!For the leisure traveller the Hotel is next to Málaga's main beaches such as Guadalmar, Torremolinos and Benálmadena as well as Málaga City Centre.In the morning, we offer a delicious COMPLIMENTARY Continental Buffet Breakfast to all our guests! Both Wi-Fi and High Speed Internet Access (HSIA) are available (at a charge).And now we offer a Limited Dining Service (Monday-Thursday) in our 'Restaurante La Biznaga' for 12 Euros + VAT. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Southall Travel, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport Hotel Malaga
Holiday Inn Express málaga
Holiday Inn málaga
málaga Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing