We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for what we needed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport
Ranked #43 of 88 Hotels in Malaga
Uttoxeter
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good for what we needed”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

As we were arriving near to midnight we decided to stay here - it's about a 10 minute walk from the main terminal building - but as other reviewers have said it is difficult to find, you need to walk down through a poorly lit underpass by the side of the main duel carriage way over uneven ground which is tricky after a long flight. However upon arrival the staff were pleasant and the rooms very clean and well kept - the bathroom was spacious and the shower very powerful - towels not so (very thin and small) and we slept very well - the beds were comfortable and we couldn't hear the road due to the double glazing

The breakfast was ok - self service to the usual continental variety, coffee machine a little tricky to work out, but worth it, even after the queue.
In short this hotel does what you would expect - it's close, clean and has the amenities that you need - had we been arriving even slightly earlier, I would have searched for something with a little more style and a little more Spanish.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KateWill76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear KateWill76,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. I am delighted to know that you found our rooms and staff to be highly commendable. On the other hand, I am sorry if locating our hotel was a challenge for you. We greatly appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Again, thank you and we hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to the area.

Best Regards,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    442
    410
    109
    63
See reviews for
325
450
73
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yamhill, Oregon
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

First – the “good”: Rooms are clean, spacious, and quiet. We stayed on two different nights, a week apart, and found the staff to be friendly, helpful, and courteous. “Adrian” in particular could not have been more helpful. The rates were very reasonable and (given the rate) we found the breakfast to be very adequate. We were especially pleased to find that they had a gluten free breakfast bread option! The dinner service was acceptable.

The “mediocre”: wifi is ridiculously overpriced at €11/24 hours – especially now that so many hotels offer wifi for free. There is no hotel shuttle (why?) and – as other reviewers have said – the €17 fixed price cab ride to the airport (> 5 minutes away) is WAY too much money. I DID walk to the hotel from the airport on one occasion (after turning in a rental car) and its only a 15-20 minute walk and no more dangerous than any other industrial area.

The “bad”: I would have rated this hotel higher, save for the issue of FINDING the hotel and issues relating to driving a private vehicle/rental car to the property. It took us 45 minutes of driving in circles to figure out how to GET to the hotel (we SAW the hotel on the first pass 10 minutes after leaving the airport). We eventually learned the “shortcut” – a wicked right turn off a roundabout leaving the airport, down a frontage road past parking structures and rental car agencies, and then (no kidding) OFF the road down what amounts to a dirt path under a bridge and into the hotel parking lot! Despite the fact that reviewers have complained about this for YEARS, the best hotel management can do is to post insipid comments like this: “Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are sorry to hear you had a difficult time getting to our hotel.” But they do NOTHING to fix the problem. Until such time as this property provides a detailed map and driving instructions with each reservation/booking I’d advise considering another alternative.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ORGinH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear ORGinH,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the location of the hotel prevented you from fully enjoying your visit. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Malaga hotels

Ringsted, Danmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Yes, it´s an Airport hotel and good if You are leaving early in the morning. The rooms are okay, but with the hotel sourrunded by highways, trains and the Airport - and the breakfast are poor, it´s cheeper and take just a few minutes more, to find a nice hotel in Torremolinos.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Jan B,

Thank you for posting a review about your recent stay with us. It seem that we were not able to execute an exemplary hotel stay experience with regards to location and breakfast selections. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience these aspects have caused.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay with us more pleasurable, please do not hesitate to ask the manager on duty. We hope for an opportunity in serving you again.

Sincerely,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bornem, Belgium
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Excellent location, literally 5 minutes from the terminal. You can see the airport from the hotel.
Ideal if you need to drop off a rental car early in the morning.
By car it's also just 10 minutes from the old town.
Very clean hotel, friendly and helpful staff.
Although it's located next to the highway, very well isolated and no noise whatsoever!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan-travelspot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Easy to reach hotel just minutes from airport, ideal for a one night stop over. Rooms good for price but breakfast pretty poor. Would be better to have less choice but improve quality.
J Gray Scotland

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gray50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear gray50,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the food selections prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Myself and my partner recently stayed here for one night after getting a late flight in. It's probably about half a mile from the actual airport. A taxi is a minimum of 20 euros but they said we could walk (although it's along a busy road). Hotel was easy enough to check into, a nice sized and clean room. Comfortable bed and bathroom facilities were great! I would return here as it was made really easy for us whilst we were there. Breakfast which was included in here to morning was a continental breakfast, cereal slightly stale, but croissants and toast good. Enjoyed my short stay, Thankyou :)

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Poppy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Holiday Inn Express Malaga is reached by a bus from the airport and a walk over a bridge crossing the motorway, a petrol forecourt and a windswept industrial park. Be careful of the cars – they don’t stick to the marked driveways. The first room we were allocated stank of smoke (despite being a non-smoking hotel), so we asked for another and were given a ground-floor room. The telephone didn’t work – as we had some calls to make, these had to be done from reception. They charge 4 euros for an hour of wifi – in every other hotel I’ve stayed in in Spain, this is free. There is no extractor fan in the bathroom. The shower is advertised as an “invigorating power shower”, but is just an ordinary shower. TV is a small 4:3 aspect with minimal functionality, and doesn’t face the bed. The best that can be said about the food in the restaurant is that it is unremarkable. This hotel’s selling point is that it is close to the airport. That is the only point in its favour, and as you're going to have to take some form of transportation to get to the airport, it's not a good one.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rory W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Rory W,

Thank you for your review about your stay. It is truly unfortunate to read that you did not fully enjoy your time in our hotel. We take comments such as these very seriously and would like to follow up with you. I have sent you a private message in an effort to obtain more information.

I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Campanile Malaga
#55 of 88 in Malaga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Hotel Malaga Nostrum
#42 of 88 in Malaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malaga Hotel Picasso
#20 of 88 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Perchel
Ibis Malaga Centro Ciudad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport
Address: Avenida Velazquez 294 | (Junto N-340), 29004 Malaga, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 88 Hotels in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the closest Hotel to Málaga International Airport. The brand new Holiday Inn Express Málaga Airport is a comfortable and modern establishment ideally suited for both the Business and Leisure Traveller. If your flight is arriving late or you have an early departure time, and need a comfortable and familiar place to stay, this is the ideal place to stop over. SPECIAL OFFER:If you reach the Hotel via Public Transport (Bus 19) we will reimburse the Bus Ticket. Don't Miss Out!! Inaugurated on the 26th of June, 2008 its fantastic location makes it the ideal base camp to start off your day in the Malaga Area. Located directly on the N340 Motorway and with easy access & connections to all major city ring roads, the Holiday Inn Express Málaga Airport is surrounded by the Business Parks of Guadalhorce, Villa Rosa, and San Luís; and only a 2 minute drive (800m) from the Airport!For the leisure traveller the Hotel is next to Málaga's main beaches such as Guadalmar, Torremolinos and Benálmadena as well as Málaga City Centre.In the morning, we offer a delicious COMPLIMENTARY Continental Buffet Breakfast to all our guests! Both Wi-Fi and High Speed Internet Access (HSIA) are available (at a charge).And now we offer a Limited Dining Service (Monday-Thursday) in our 'Restaurante La Biznaga' for 12 Euros + VAT. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Priceline, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport Hotel Malaga
Holiday Inn Express málaga
Holiday Inn málaga
málaga Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing