We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel for one night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport
Ranked #44 of 89 Hotels in Malaga
Reviewed 23 August 2014

After booking this hotel for this october for a flight to london i realised that when we stayed in this hotel last year for a paris flight i had totally forgotten to review it.So here it is.
Not difficult to find if you do your homework and plan ahead like with google maps etc.We found it straight away and arrived after having supper at a restaurant an hour before.This is recommended as it is true that the hotel is in a very industrial area and there are very few things around it.Once there it is to sleep and wake up to get a plane.
When we went room was more than adequate for one night(who needs a wardrobe for one night lol).
Clean and very spacious for the four of us and sleep quality was excellent.
The breakfast which is included was adequate as a continental breakfast and does help as the breakfasts at the malaga airport are very expensive.
Drive from hotel to our airport parking is just 2 minutes drive which is excellent as we could easily check in at the required time without having to plan ahead.
As i said before will be staying in October again and will review again to let you all know if things have changed.

Room Tip: become a member of the holiday inn IHG loyalty card and wi fi will be free for the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank GlennRGibraltar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

392 - 398 of 1,259 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

You don't need another review about the hotel - it is exactly what it says it is, and you know what you're getting. So how about a word about the taxi ride and the fare instead? Think of it like this: you arrive at whatever time of night, and you need a place to lay your head. It's a 20-euro additional fee for staying at this hotel. There's no way round it; hell, we almost got lost walking back the other way in broad daylight to pick up a hire car the next morning. You can not, do not, want to walk this in the dark or with luggage. So 20 euros isn't a rip off, it's market forces. Just add it to your committed cost for the night, and if you can then find a better option with that factored in, good luck to you.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank IestynH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

first the gripe, you will have to pay 19€ for a two minute ride from the airport, You could walk or take a bus but at 10:30 pm we just wanted to get in, eat and relax.
Checked in quickly and our room was comfy and beds were good.
Food served until midnight, usual fare, chicken, burgers, salad etc. Did the job and not too pricy.
Breakfast was a bit manic, self service continental, and a queue for the toaster.
Overall would recommend for a stopover and was pleasantly surprised after reading previous reviews.
Pity about the taxi sham.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank SandybabyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Hard to find, is on the same side of the airport on avenida velazquez,.More difficult at night.
But Breakfast is good , and the internet is free if you are reward member, so be free reward member before you check in , you can do online on hotel page .if not you should pay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank gabriel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear gabriel b,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am pleased you liked our breakfast options. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. I am sorry our hotel was difficult to find and for the inconvenience this cause you. Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Family room shoe box. Mini double bed and fold down mini couch.
Family of five from hotel to airport early morning ryan air flight. Taxi company used would not take more than 4 people so our journey of five mins using 2 taxis cost us 19 euros per taxi.
Total 38 euros
Hotel quoted 15 euros
Cheaper to book into a 5 star and get complimentary taxis OR book more accessible flights. DONT get caught like we did
Rip off malaga
Never again those people kill tourism

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank dcn29986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear dcn29986,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We're sorry to hear you were not well satisfied with your over-all stay with us. It is regrettable that we fell below your expectations. We have sent you a private message in an effort to obtain some additional information. Thank you for staying and we look forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We have stayed there a few times when arriving on late flight. Though slightly tricky first time you can easily walk from the airport (about 15 min, though consider your luggage). There is a shortcut walk from under the bridge, which your expensive taxi will also take. It is safe as long as you take some basic care. From the airport terminal, walk towards the Avenida velasques (bear right all the way, basically).
As you hit the main road, cross to the far far end side, near the roundabout, and there will be a parallell road which is where all car hire shops are (this is not the main avenue, so I find easier to cross then Oxford Street or Champs Elysees, although these have traffic lights). Just walk right all the way, (make sure the car hire shops are on your left and San Miguel factory is on your right, accross the road, and you're on the right track), turning left as the road turns. The road will end and to the right you will see a path going under the bridge. Take this (very short) path, crossing under and the hotel is immediatelly to your left.
The hotel is pretty basic, the breakfast is pretty average, but, if you want a good night sleep & stress free transfer, then it does the job. Its clean and surprisingly quiet. This is why I have happily returned. If however you expect to have a nice holiday there, then you're mad.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
9  Thank AnjAng715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear AnjAng715,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. I am pleased to note that you found the beds to be comfortable.

On the other hand, I sincerely apologize for the challenges you have encountered. We deeply regret that this aspect have negatively impacted your overall impression of our hotel, nevertheless, I am glad that you enjoyed most of your stay with us.

Rest assured that your comments will be taken into consideration for future improvements where possible. We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We arrived late at Malaga airport and thought we stay close to the airport so we can just go to bed, get up early and start our holiday in good spirits. Well I rather would have slept on the beach. The hotel was stuffy, smelly and the beds awfully cheap and uncomfortable. They really take advantage of the people arriving at the airport late or needing to leave early and needing a place to stay. It was also loud with the planes....and it took a "long" taxi drive to get there! There are way better places to stay at, cheaper and as close and beautifully located like the Zen hotel in Torremolinos and the ranchos des Ingles....really nice! All and all I say: find something nice to start your holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rose T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear Rose T,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Malaga.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
0.8 mi away
Campanile Malaga
Campanile Malaga
#57 of 89 in Malaga
433 reviews
1.6 mi away
ibis Budget Malaga Aeropuerto Avenida Velazquez
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Malaga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Malaga Nostrum
Hotel Malaga Nostrum
#45 of 89 in Malaga
389 reviews
1.0 mi away
Malaga Hotel Picasso
Malaga Hotel Picasso
#20 of 89 in Malaga
306 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hotel Humaina
Hotel Humaina
#67 of 89 in Malaga
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport

Address: Avenida Velazquez 294 | (Junto N-340), 29004 Malaga, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 89 Hotels in Malaga
Price Range: £44 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the closest Hotel to Málaga International Airport. The brand new Holiday Inn Express Málaga Airport is a comfortable and modern establishment ideally suited for both the Business and Leisure Traveller. If your flight is arriving late or you have an early departure time, and need a comfortable and familiar place to stay, this is the ideal place to stop over. SPECIAL OFFER:If you reach the Hotel via Public Transport (Bus 19) we will reimburse the Bus Ticket. Don't Miss Out!! Inaugurated on the 26th of June, 2008 its fantastic location makes it the ideal base camp to start off your day in the Malaga Area. Located directly on the N340 Motorway and with easy access & connections to all major city ring roads, the Holiday Inn Express Málaga Airport is surrounded by the Business Parks of Guadalhorce, Villa Rosa, and San Luís; and only a 2 minute drive (800m) from the Airport!For the leisure traveller the Hotel is next to Málaga's main beaches such as Guadalmar, Torremolinos and Benálmadena as well as Málaga City Centre.In the morning, we offer a delicious COMPLIMENTARY Continental Buffet Breakfast to all our guests! Both Wi-Fi and High Speed Internet Access (HSIA) are available (at a charge).And now we offer a Limited Dining Service (Monday-Thursday) in our 'Restaurante La Biznaga' for 12 Euros + VAT. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport Hotel Malaga
Holiday Inn Express málaga
Holiday Inn málaga
málaga Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing