We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good for that price”
Review of La Casa Mata

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Casa Mata
Ranked #31 of 145 Speciality Lodging in Malaga
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“good for that price”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

The room was fine, with trezor, own PIN code. Shared bathroom was not that nice, but I didnt care. Free wifi, desktop downstairs. Kitchen, free breakfast-very simple, but ok. Ive met very nice people there. Location was fine, few min from old city

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank burtie144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    55
    28
    12
    14
See reviews for
6
66
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fes, Morocco
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

First of all - NOTHING like it looks in the pictures!! It's a backpackers hostel, so of course you have to have certain expectations when you stay there, but this place is WAAAAAYYYYY over-priced for what you get.

Also, they have so many people passing through that the staff really don't seem to give two hoots about you.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Malaga hotels

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Our ship was delayed to Spain from Morocco and we arrived at our hotel about 23:30. We politely apologised and tried to explain to the owner why we were so late when he rudely interrupted and said, 'I dont care!'

When I confronted him about what he had just said, he made as if he didnt know what I was talking about it. It seemed as if he was drinking and was clearly in another state of mind.

What more can I say?

The shower was terribly small and no breakfast is offered.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

La Casa Mata is situated in what looks like an old house in a quiet street not too far away from the historic district. Upon arrival you are given your room key and a key for the front door which you can use any time of day or night. This in my opinion gives it a 'home' feel. There is a communal bathroom and kitchen and although it was quiet when I was there, it is very likely that the place livens up during summer months. It is probably a hotel more suited to backpackers and young people. Within 5 mins walking distance are shops, historic sights and a wide selection of restaurants and bars. Recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikesuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

I stayed there for 4 nights for the first time in a hostel and I was more than surprise. David, the receptionist was the best. He gave us a map (by the time we left, he gave us another 4 :D), offered us a clean, nice, cosy room. The hostel has a kitchen with everything that a kitchen must have; there is only one bathroom, but its clean all the time and pretty -spacious.
The location of the hostel is perfect, because its in the heart of the historical center, its impossible to get lost there and again, the guys from the hostel always gave us good tips for clubbing, for the best beach and simply chatting ...
Malaga is great, but the spanish people aren't that friendly as I expected and they don't use to party very much..

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex-traveller4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

I stayed one night in a tiny room, furnished summary that did not have an outlet!!!!
good things: location and patito color tiles walls!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andalutzya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights as first-time hostel goers and were very impressed. We were greeted very warmly and allowed into our room earlier than expected. Room 8 was a very spacious private triple room with air conditioning, a big wardrobe and a safe. The shared bathroom was kept very clean at all times although occasionally there was a queue for a shower. Similarly, the shared kitchen was very clean and well equipped with free tea and coffee. We did not use the kitchen to cook in but were able to leave labelled goods in the fridge which was very useful. The hostel had free wi-fi and a computer with internet in the reception area. The hostel was generally quiet and any occasional noise at night was easily blocked out with ear plugs. Can't praise the owner enough, he was always very welcoming and helpful, sorting out any problems we had immediately. He annotated a map on our arrival which we used throughout our trip. As 3 young girls we felt very safe in this hostel - a nice surprise! The location of the hostel was great, restaurants and shops were reachable within 5 minutes and the beach in 15-20 mins. We were really pleased to be in the heart of Malaga, a fun and friendly spanish port.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emily12316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Casa Al Sur
#20 of 145 in Malaga
150 reviews
Centro
Casa Al Sur Terraza
Casa Al Sur Terraza
#21 of 145 in Malaga
85 reviews
Chinitas Urban Hostel
#23 of 145 in Malaga
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hostel Juanita
Hostel Juanita
#32 of 145 in Malaga
133 reviews
Centro
Alcazaba Premium Hostel
Alcazaba Premium Hostel
#5 of 145 in Malaga
173 reviews
Malaga Lodge
#4 of 145 in Malaga
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa Mata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Mata

Property: La Casa Mata
Address: Calle Molinillo del Aceite 8 | Malaga center, 29008 Malaga, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 145 Speciality Lodging in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Casa Mata 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to "La Casa Mata", a new concept of low-cost pension in Malaga. It is a safe, warm and clean place in a wonderful location, right in the historic centre of Malaga. You can socialize with the other guests or just relax in the common areas within the house that are a fully equipped kitchen with all mod cons, a lounge with TV and DVD player and a sunny patio. It is a perfect option for modern people that wants to stay in private or shared rooms, but enjoy the common areas advantages as the 24 hours computer with internet access and WIFI.La Casa Mata is close to both train and bus stations at about 15 minutes walk. It is at a stone throw from all the sites of cultural interest such as Picasso museum, the cathedral, Alcazaba castle as well as all the best clubs in town for your wild nights out. Malagueta beach is at 10 minutes walk to enjoy the amazing sunny days of ´La Costa del Sol´. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your La Casa Mata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Mata Malaga, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing