We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Beach”

Playa de La Malagueta
Book In Advance
More Info
US$44.33*
and up
Malaga City Private Walking Tour including Alcazaba Fortress
Ranked #29 of 203 things to do in Malaga
Attraction details
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
280 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 966 helpful votes
“Good Beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

The beach at Málaga is known as Playa de La Malagueta and is located just alongside the main port. The beach seemed to be quite sheltered and even though there was quite a breeze the couple of times we visited the waves were quite gentle and the sea was good to swim in – although the time of year the sea was quite cold but most refreshing and the beach was fairly quiet too.
It was a good beach to walk along from one end to the other, and there are plenty of sunbeds to choose from. There are a few restaurants located on Paseo Marítimo Pablo Ruiz Picasso too so you don’t have far to go if you fancy a bite to eat.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Sunmagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    376
    217
    48
    36
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
875 reviews
668 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 835 helpful votes
“OK beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Sandy beaches in Malaga means that same gritty, dark, powdery sand that isn't the best. The ocean was calm, the beach was clean, Just wish that those in charge arranged for there to be more shade. Also wish they had installed a parking payment system that didn't need a degree in Super Intelligence to work it out. Having been to other Costa Del Sol beaches - this one lacked atmosphere - but would admit, we are here at the end of season

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank elsiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haugesund, Norway
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Always nice on the beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

We went in low sesong. Nice beach, Sunbeds for rent. A lot of innoying flies on the beach. Beach restaurant with ok food and beverages. The sea were cold! Clean sandbeach. We'll be back!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank BRW522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Not quite Miami Beach.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

La Malagueta beach is just a short walk from the centre of Malaga and can be accessed via the newly developed harbour promenade, El Palmeral De Las Sorpresas. There is a wide stretch of sand, some palm trees for shade, showering facilities and several bars. We didn't venture into the sea as it was only March and the weather was very changeable. However, the sand looked clean and it was pleasant to stroll along the shoreline and enjoy the views. There are undoubtedly better beaches along the Costa Del Sol but as an extra attraction on a city break this is well worth a visit.
We had a drink at the Mami (sic) Beach bar where we received friendly service and had comfortable outdoor seats with shade- check it out.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Hispanist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
278 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Walk on by...and don't eat at the beach restaurant”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

Nice for an out of season walk in the sun, looking at the sun on the sea; just don't look too close. Sand is coarse and dirty. and sea looks unclean.
We ate at the chiringuito "La Malagueta". The sardines grilled on the beach fire were fine, though quite small. The paella was inedible; we each took a spoonful, then a second one,in disbelief. It had a very strange taste; extremely unpleasant.
So we ordered some fried baby squid. Mostly very greasy batter. maybe the oil wasn't hot enough, or just used too often. The owner/waiter didn't make any comment on our virtually untouched paella. Maybe he's used to it being uneaten!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank cliffordchambers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Playa de La Malagueta also viewed

 

Been to Playa de La Malagueta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing