We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Castillo de Santa Catalina
Ranked #7 of 151 Speciality Lodging in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 September 2012

A wonderful place just outside the center of Malaga. Great atmosphere, excellent service (Alexis is a star) and good value for money. If you are looking for a peaceful, romantic getaway this is the place to be! Getting to the center is just a short (taxi) ride.

Room Tip: Room 7 is the best with private terrace and great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank San018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2012

A stunning end to our travels in Spain. The location and the room itself exceeded all expectations. Amazing views, sense of history, comfort, calm, privacy and service. Any previous criticisms have been attended to - apart from the problem of lugging heavy suitcases up flights of stairs without a porter! The staff were beyond charming. It did not really feel like being in a hotel, more like being a special guest whose every wish was accommodated. I only wish we could have stayed longer, and will definitely be back

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Balm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We stayed at this hotel over the Easter period. Having a holiday home in Malaga inland we like to try different places to stay on the coast for a couple of days. The hotel was set in a residential area; it was apparent from the neighbouring properties that this was an exclusive area.

We had a junior suite, we couldnt fault it, a large circular room with a huge terrace commanding views of the port and the City .

We walked on a couple of occasions into the centre of Malaga, a pleasant walk along the promanade - it would take about 30 mins to walk into the centre.

There did seem to be an attractive dining area within the hotel which we didnt use but we did have drinks on a lovely patio area one evening after returning from a night out in Malaga.

The only downside to the hotel would be it's perched quite high up on a hill, so not for the infirm, but a taxi would be relatively inexpensive into town.

We have no complaints about the service we received.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank June024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Beautiful setting, on a hill and during the day it is a nice walk to the city.
returning after diner however is quite an exercise, as it is a steep climb.Take the bus and get off at the right stop, ask the driver.
The room we had was very large, had a balcony overlooking the sea and the garden;nice to rest and read.
Service at the front desk is OK, but if you have a heavy suitcase be prepared to climb some stairs.
Breakfast is OK
Price is OK
ISOLATION is very poor, especially if you have high heels above you or people taking a shower at 1AM or drying their hair for 15'
Do not book when weddings or parties are being held.

Room Tip: Nice hotel for a short stay and take the upper rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ombra_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

This is a fantastic hotel; started life centuries ago as a fortress on the hill keeping guard on the town of Malaga. Now extended and sympathetically modernised it provides truly individual accommodation. Set about 2 miles outside Malaga Centro, it is walkable (uphill coming back) but suggest a taxi for about 5 euros; arrives at reception in 2 minutes. Staff are excellent and very helpful. We travelled for a week-end break in February hence the place was quiet but imagine in the summer this place would be buzzing. Probably best suited for adults. We left our kids at home and in our view was a good plan. The rooms are large and individually designed. Ours offered fantastic views over the Med and Malaga in one direction, and over the hills from the other. Room standard was good and authentically impressive. Ours had a huge terrace shared with one other room and offered amazing views. The grounds are splendid and kept to a very high standard. This is not your average hotel chain boring shoe box, it is a truly individual experience and costs no more than many of the shoe box variety. Only down side was dining and bar facilities. The bar was rather sparse and breakfast limited but cest la vie, this place is a must visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TC1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

An old castle, have had Bellavista room, with private terace and almost 360° view over Malaga.

Staff is very nice, breakfast is classy but fresh, interior and garden is extraordinary.

A minor setback might be that it is a bit isolated and bit far from the city center, you can walk in the morning but you will need to take a taxi in the evening as your feet will probably kill you after a day walk in beautiful Malaga. But hey, that's a castle, of course is on the hilltop :)

Room Tip: Choose Bellavista, you will thank for the tip :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jinks_eng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

This was the last hotel we stayed in on our Spainish vacation and when I
saw it I was speechless. My husband booked this hotel as a surprise to
me and boy was I surprised! A true Spanish castle, tons of local
flavor. Our room #5, was not ready so we were offered refreshments on the
terrace. The room was awesome! So romantic! Overlooking the terrace
with incredible sea view. I did not want to leave. It was
really quiet and calm, not too many visitors, or perhaps we just did
not see anybody. At the end of 18 day vacation I just wanted to relax
and it was the perfect place to do it.

We got few restaurants recommendations and chose one, which had really
very good food.

Now cons:
There is no kitchen in the hotel. Breakfast is very limited and cold.
Instant decaf from a plastic bag gave me shivers. And very fatty jamon
(Spanish ham) did not impress. Staff also failed to bring more food as
it ran out, so we had to go, find somebody and ask to bring some more
which was quite difficult as they speak no English. I wish that
quality of food would be higher and better variety.

There are allot of weddings being planned at the hotel, and it's the
most beautiful place for it....but having brides/grooms all day long in
the courtyard was a bit disturbing as it's a very small place. There
are also allot of filming going on there...all Saturday morning there
were tons of people with cameras and projectors running around the
hotel, at times pretty loud as they were filming.

Our terrace was gorgeous, but it was very sunny all day long and hotel did not
think to provide any umbrellas at the tables. So we could not use it
except for the evening.

There are all little things, but they make the overall picture.

Never the less, I loved this hotel and definitely looking forward to
coming back. I truly hope they read the reviews and take care of
few drawbacks.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Regina Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Barcelo Malaga
#3 of 89 in Malaga
3,271 reviews
Room Mate Larios
#5 of 89 in Malaga
1,134 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 89 in Malaga
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perchel
Salles Hotel Malaga Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Castillo de Santa Catalina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castillo de Santa Catalina

Address: Calle Ramos Carrion 38, 29016 Malaga, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 151 Speciality Lodging in Malaga
Price Range: £87 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Castillo de Santa Catalina 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1932, this listed building preserves much of its historic charm. It has over 3,500m² of public areas, gardens and terraces. Rooms at the Hotel Castillo de Santa Catalina feature a plasma TV, marble or tiled bathrooms, free Wi-Fi, and unique décor. The hotel offers spectacular views over Málaga Bay. The rooms at the Castillo come with individual climate control, a safe and a minibar. Many offer sea views. Free parking is offered on site. The Santa Catalina is situated in the exclusive El Limonar area of Málaga, 250 metres from La Caleta Beach. The Picasso Museum and the city centre are less than 2 km away. The fortress provides a perfect venue for wedding receptions, corporate events and private functions. Castillo de Santa Catalina truly is a fantastic choice for a fairytale wedding! Our dedicated wedding team is on hand to take care of each and every detail to ensure you can relax and enjoy the day of your dreams. For more information, please feel free to call or email us with any questions you may have. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Castillo de Santa Catalina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Castillo De Santa Catalina Malaga, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing