We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazingly WONDERFUL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Castillo de Santa Catalina
Ranked #8 of 145 Speciality Lodging in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazingly WONDERFUL”
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Absolutely stunning ! We have stayed in Malaga before but this is by far the best . We always travel around Spain by train so I was concerned we would be too far out but no problems. My partner is 75 and he found the walk into town no problem. We walked downhill and got a taxi back usually 6-8 euros
Would highly recommend this hotel .

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    45
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
25
131
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

This place is literally a small castle, apparently still in the same family for centuries. It is clearly managed with love and pride and it shows. Despite being such a unique and regal place it has a very comfy feeling and you are made to feel like you are visiting old friends. Service was excellent. Rooms are beyond reroach, all have original tile work in the bathrooms and you can tell it has been preserved in the original state as much as possible with renos only when necessary. It is hard to get there but if you drive or take a cab you will be glad you chose it. The views from the patio are amazing. Beds are comfortable and due to the fact that it was built as a castle very spacious rooms with a lot of privacy.

We arrived early in the morning and well before check in time and they tried to accomodate us as soon as possible, made us coffee and set us up in a spacious reading room area while we waited for our room. When we got the room it was spotless and had a fresh lemon scent. Had all the toiletries you could want and water bottles, tea in the room, slippers, robes the works.

Stay here, you will love it as we did and you will not want to leave!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renata B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gliwice, Poland
Level Contributor
258 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Lovely hotel, wonderful interior with original tiles on the walls. Cosy and quiet place with superb views of the city. High standard - comfortable rooms with huge bathroom. BBC channel that you can watch is also a nice surprise. Good breakfast with fresh orange juice and scrambled eggs... Nice patio with sofas - you can really rest there....perfect!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Franeczka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

The hotel is nothing short of spectacular - the roads are a bit confusing to get there, but we had our TomTom so we had no problem at all. We arrived on Christmas eve, were upgraded to a junior suite (Miramar), which is just exquisite - huge bedroom / living room, beautiful views. We promptly decided to "stay in" - it was storming outside and was freezing. We had not booked dinner in advance, although I had received an e-mail about it. The hotel was short staffed (it being Christmas eve) but the receptionist was extremely helpful and kind - we had a delicious meal, with a complimentary bottle of cava, which was a very nice surprise. Also, breakfast was lovely, I read another comment about the selection not being very wide, however, that was not our experience - we had choices between hot and cold dishes, and have to mention that is is not typical to get traditional egg / bacon etc in Spain for breakfast, so we were pleasantly surprised that we were able to choose between scrambled eggs, omelets, bacon etc. Yes, the hotel is quiet, yes there is no pool however, the hotel is relaxing, quiet, away from the hustle and bustle ... we loved it and would go back at the drop of a hat.

Room Tip: Consider getting a junior suite - there are only 8 rooms, and we upgraded to one - it really was not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Engela001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Nestling in the leafy lanes of Malaga's Limonar suburb, this mellow rambling old building offers space, comfort and a sense of history only a 30 minute walk from the city's bustling centre. There's an air of genteel neglect about the furniture and decor but the atmosphere captures the imagination. It would make an ideal film set for a story of intrigue, of family secrets to be slowly unravelled. It's rooms are airy and spacious. From its elevated position there are expansive views to the sea, excellent outside areas and cosy lounges to relax, read or chat over a long cool drink.
Good value for money and very restful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gualchos_Dweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Very nicely located hotel on top of a hill overlooking Malaga. It's a bit off the main shopping streets but the hotel is so nice you don't need it to be closer!

They only have 8 bedrooms and we had a Junior Suite which was massive with a very nice bathroom, lounge and bedroom. We also had a terrace for ourselves leading to a little courtyard.

The staff were great even though some of their English were limited but it didn't bother us.

Breakfast was ok, a bit limited and the room was very quiet with no music or anything which made it a bit awkward with a few tables just sitting whispering.

The bad points: Wifi was terrible. I know its a holiday destination but if it's stated Wifi it should work. Also, the lighting in the bathroom was weird. it was either full on blast or no light at all. Shame for a hotel giving the impression of being romantic. No pool is available.

Apart from that, the hotel is great and definitely worth the visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wahla21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

This is a nice, small hotel located in an old castle built in the 16th century situated on the top of a hill, with beautiful views of the sea, mountains and the city, surrounded by a nice garden. We had a room with a nice terasse where children could play with water and we enjoy a drink with views over the port and the city. The only disadvantage is that they do not have their own restaurant, which add much more value to this place. Rented out for special ocasions. We really enjoyed it, around 500 meters to the sea and a short bus ride to the city center.

Room Tip: Ask for room at upper floors with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Barcelo Malaga
#3 of 88 in Malaga
2,917 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 88 in Malaga
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Las Vegas Hotel
Las Vegas Hotel
#26 of 88 in Malaga
609 reviews
Centro
Hotel Molina Lario
Hotel Molina Lario
#4 of 88 in Malaga
1,860 reviews
Hotel California
#18 of 88 in Malaga
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Castillo de Santa Catalina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castillo de Santa Catalina

Property: Hotel Castillo de Santa Catalina
Address: Calle Ramos Carrion 38, 29016 Malaga, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 145 Speciality Lodging in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Castillo de Santa Catalina 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1932, this listed building preserves much of its historic charm. It has over 3,500m² of public areas, gardens and terraces. Rooms at the Hotel Castillo de Santa Catalina feature a plasma TV, marble or tiled bathrooms, free Wi-Fi, and unique décor. The hotel offers spectacular views over Málaga Bay. The rooms at the Castillo come with individual climate control, a safe and a minibar. Many offer sea views. Free parking is offered on site. The Santa Catalina is situated in the exclusive El Limonar area of Málaga, 250 metres from La Caleta Beach. The Picasso Museum and the city centre are less than 2 km away. The fortress provides a perfect venue for wedding receptions, corporate events and private functions. Castillo de Santa Catalina truly is a fantastic choice for a fairytale wedding! Our dedicated wedding team is on hand to take care of each and every detail to ensure you can relax and enjoy the day of your dreams. For more information, please feel free to call or email us with any questions you may have. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Castillo de Santa Catalina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Castillo De Santa Catalina Malaga, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing