We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but hard to find -directions given here” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Campanile Malaga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Campanile Malaga
Ranked #51 of 90 Hotels in Malaga
Hull UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good but hard to find -directions given here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

As has been said in previous reviews, the room was very clean, the bed was comfortable & the staff were helpful. I would definitely stay there again.
If you have the Half Board offer suggested by the staff on Reception, this means the Starter Buffet, the Sweet Buffet & the Breakfast Buffet. We had expected a main course. The starter buffet was plentiful and delicious but it's better if you know what to expect. Breakfast was well worth it as the airport cafes are much more expensive.

There is a Burger King very close by and a little cafe with food the other way but we didn't have time to try it.

The hardest part about the Campanile is actually getting there. We met a couple who had got lost and spent over an hour getting there from the airport. The hotel is set back off the Avenida De Velasquez , directly behind the Repsol garage.

BY CAR
It is easier to get to from the East , ie going towards the airport. On the Avenida de Velasquez you go over a flyover , then on your right you will pass a SsangYong Chevrolet dealer, then a large Citreon Garage... very shortly after this, at an overhead sign saying MA 22 / Pologones Industriales, move into the parallel side road accessing the Repsol garage. You will come to the Repsol garage.. you can turn right immediately in front of this [ or if you fill up, bear right after the pumps into the small road that will loop round to the Commercial Park. At the small roundabout go right & you are at the back of the Campanile The entrance to the Campanile car park is in the side street on your right.

If you approach from the airport, leave the MA21 straight after you have crossed the river. Follow the sign MA 22/ Parque Commercial . At the roundabout at the end of the slip road go round it & back over the bridge over the Avenida De Velasquez ( that you've just left). You will see the large Commercial Park ( Bauhaus, PC City etc) ahead to your right. The Campanile is the large whitish building to the right of PC City Go straight ahead & turn right after the roundabout into the Commercial Park . If you keep following the road around to the right through the park then it will bring you to a small roundabout behind the Campanile. Go left here & you will be at the back of the Campanile . If you can get to the Commercial Park at least you are not heading away from the hotel at on a fast dual carriageway while discussing divorce !

BY TAXI
From the airport as mentioned there is a minimum 15 or 20 euro charge for a 5 minute journey.

BY BUS
This is perfectly possible.

From the airport get either the A Express Bus (2 euros) every half hour at 20 mins past and 10 minutes to the hour or the 19 ( 1.20 euros) on the hour. Both buses stop at Avda. de Velázquez (La Concha) .The bus stop is opposite the Repsol garage, not long after crossing a wide slow river and Burger King on the left. You have to walk 100 metres to cross the Avenida by the footbridge ramp (fine unless you have masses of luggage) & then walk back & turn in front of garage.

You can get to the airport for a flight very easily using the buses. The A & 19 both stop at Avda. de Velázquez (Azucarera) outside the garage. If you click on the bus-stop on google maps it will give you the bus times The times are more approximate ( our bus came early) & there are 3 an hour. This is what we did as we had arranged to have our car picked up from the hotel. If we stayed after a flight we would get our car from here. We have always found Carambar Cars very good and helpful.

NB It is necessary to put your hand out to tell the A [express] bus to stop - not sure about the 19.

If you want to go into the centre of Malaga the number 10 as well as 19 & A all go there. On May 1st ALL the shops are closed except for places to eat and drink.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank hullsaddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    150
    109
    31
    27
See reviews for
43
203
35
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westcliff-on-Sea
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

Completed in 2009, this is a small hotel, about a mile from the airport, and designed for a traveller's overnight stay. Simply furnished, but comfortable and reasonably spacious rooms, well equiped en suites and spotlessly clean. Helpful staff with good command of English.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

Whilst the standard of the hotel is good, and the breakfast for a Spanish hotel is more of an American style breakfast buffet, be warned, if you arrive here in a taxi from the hotel you will be charged 19 Euro for a short 5 minute trip; unless you arrive late there are efficient buses which will get you to opposite the hotel door. Not pointed out in the hotel advertising (as viewed on aa.com) is that the hotel kitchen is closed on Saturday and Sunday; so do not expect any food other than sandwiches or pizza. There are a few places in walking distance close buy, but other than the fast food joints these are very Spanish and have odd opening hours, do not expect to eat at 6pm they are closed!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

This hotel is located a few miles out of Malaga near the airport,it is a great hotel for access to airport and to travel into Malaga central or down to the nearby resorts.
The hotel is a very modern basic hotel ,the rooms are spotlessly clean ,comfortable beds and good showers.
There is a hot and cold buffet breakfast you can eat as much as you like again clean and a great selection to suit all tastes.They also have evening meals at a very good rate.
One thing I would warn about some of the local taxi drivers are very dishonest,a young friendly taxi driver brought us from the airport to our cruise port at the proper fare of around 15 Euro,when we left the cruise to get to hotel the older not so friendly driver charged us 27 Euro for a much shorter journey we should have paid about 12 Euro so ask before you get into cab!!!
To get into Malaga or Toremolinos you can get a 110 bus right outside hotel for only 1.5 Euro we used this twice it runs every 20 minutes till late.
To get this bus there is a stop behind the main train station in Malaga.
So to sum up its clean, comfy,and quiet and worth the money don't be out off that it is behind a garage in a more industrialised area if its just a transit hotel you need!!!
The girl on reception (long dark hair and attractive)was amazing,very friendly helped us with bus directions and a map to get where we wanted to go an asset to the hotel.I hope the manager reads this!!

Room Tip: Ask for one a front reception side it faces away from carriage way but the doulble glazing is effici...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank paul meekin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

We stayed at Campanile Hotel Malaga Airport, family with baby. Very clean, comfortable and modern. There are facilities in the room as kettle, small coffe/tea's envelopes and cookies daily. Restaurant and bar available. Location is good. Close (by car) to big Carrefour (infinity variety of cheese and ham) . Recommend to rent a car because it is easy way to reach other important cities and close to airport (we stayed for 5 days in Malaga and we visited Marbella, Seville and Granada). BUT before you go, ask the staff the correct address to insert in the SatNav because you get lost if you insert 212 Avenida de Velazquez. Actually the hotel's road is parallel to Avenida de Velazquez but difficult to reach. Until 22:00 the taxi costs 15Euro, after this is 20Euro.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilisa007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

We stayed here for one night before catching an early morning plane, and it was an excellent choice. Getting to Malaga airport by car the next day was very easy, and the free parking at the hotel was a bonus.

(Unfortunately, finding the Campanile was not so easy and we spent a while driving around the industrial estate first. We hadn't been able to print off a map when we booked. We recommend that you do. If driving out of Malaga along the Avenida de Velasquez, turn right just beside/before the Repsol garage).

The rooms are minimalist and uncluttered and everything looks new and spotlessly clean. The beds are comfortable and the bedlinen nice and soft. There was a TV with a good range of channels and it was the only place in Spain we stayed at where tea and coffee-making facilities were provided.

We stayed on a Sunday night when the restaurant was closed, but the bar was open and there was a pleasant area to sit, with books and magazines to look at. The very obliging barman/receptionist made my ailing husband a hot toddy, for which he was very grateful.

We didn't venture far outside, but popped round to the Repsol garage to get a snack. Even on a Sunday evening, they had fresh baguettes!

Breakfast looked very appetising, with fresh fruit included, but sadly, we didn't have time to sample it.

The Campanile a very comfortable budget hotel and we would definitely stay there again because of its convenience for the airport.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank footsteps2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

Very clean modern hotel a short bus journey away from Malaga airport. We arrived after midnight and I wouldn't have known where to get off on the bus as the hotel is set back from the main road so had to take a taxi costing 15Euro. Was easy to take the bus back to the airport - it goes every 30 minutes. The room was £40, modern and immaculately clean - I would definitely stay here again. P.S. For anybody who books with Thomas Cook please note this hotel is open to check guests in 24 hours a day and not until 11pm only as I was advised by Thomas Cook.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonMandD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Malaga Nostrum
Hotel Malaga Nostrum
#40 of 90 in Malaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport
0.7 mi away
ibis Budget Malaga Aeropuerto Avenida Velazquez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Plaza Del Castillo
4.6 mi away
Hotel Zenit Malaga
Hotel Zenit Malaga
#20 of 90 in Malaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
1.2 mi away
Romerito
Romerito
#56 of 90 in Malaga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Malaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Malaga

Property: Campanile Malaga
Address: Avenida Velazquez 212, 29004 Malaga, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 90 Hotels in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Campanile Malaga 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, LoveHolidays and Louvre hotels so you can book your Campanile Malaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Malaga Hotel Malaga
Campanile Malaga Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing