We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All style, little substance”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Campanile Malaga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Campanile Malaga
Ranked #50 of 90 Hotels in Malaga
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“All style, little substance”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

Hotel & Restaurant Campanile Malaga was the sour note that ended an otherwise exciting adventure to Andalucia, Gibraltar and Tangier. Besides being very difficult to find (it's in the opposite direction of any place you'd want to be on Avenida Velazquez), it's buried in an isolated, industrial sector.

My travel companion found this hotel online and it was comparable in price and location to the Holiday Inn Express. From the pictures, it certainly appeared to be a much better choice. It appeared stylish and hip with its modern decor. However, the overwhelming impression this hotel left in my memory was disgusting smell of rot and mold in its public spaces and later on, in our room.

Because we arrived late and had to immediately return our rental, we had few dining options available without the cost of an additional cab ride. The hotel was offering a "1/2 board" buffet deal, with dinner and breakfast for 17.50 Euros. Don't be fooled: this is no deal. The buffet is terribly limited and doesn't include beverages for the dinner. It was also advertised as opening at 6 am but we had to wait on staff until about 6:30 to actually get our food.

The Wi-Fi is free but only accessible in the lobby.

I cannot give this place a positive review for these reasons and I will remember to stay away from this hotel brand in other travels to the region.

Room Tip: Try the Holiday Inn Express instead. You'll have a better overall experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abiku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    151
    111
    32
    27
See reviews for
43
205
36
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambria, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

If you are driving this is very hard to find, however by taxi it would be a snap. Very clean, efficient, spacious, and very modern. Coffee makers in the room, with tea and coffee with a restaurant on site, which we did not use. Close to the airport however we did not find it noisy and the bus stop is not far. It does have plenty of free parking.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

We had a night stopover here as it was close to the airport for an early flight. We found it to be very clean and not bad for the price. Unfortunately because it was a Sunday the restaurant wasn't open so you would need to go out if you wanted a meal. The hotel doesn't t offer a shuttle service to the airport either which is a shame as taxis are quite pricey.We found the staf to be very pleasant and spoke English. It is obviously a fairly new hotel and quite comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mahaMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

My husband and I booked the Campanile based on good reviews, as we were looking for somewhere close to the airport for a one night stop over. We booked this based on its location on the map (although, unwisely, we ignored comment which said it was hard to get to).
We arrived at the airport late (1030pm) and were advised by the information desk we couldn't walk because you had to cross a free way. We decided to get a taxi, but found out the minimum fare was 19Euros! Considering that was almost the same price as the room, we decided to get the bus. This didn't arrive for another 1.5 hours (but I refuse to pay 19euros for a 1k journey). The bus stop is only a short walk, but all in all, it was not quite as convenient as it should be. Ideally the hotel should offer a (cheap shuttle).

Travel issues aside, the hotel, was ok. Pretty basic and soulless, but clean, with a big bathroom and a decent bed. Only complaints were that the breakfast was quite expensive, and there were no English language TV channels.

If you have a car, I would recommend for somewhere cheap to get your head down. If not, I would just pay the cab fare to stay somewhere of a similar price (and with more character) in central Malaga

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amandypandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

Wonderful staff. Good basic hotel for the price- Good to use bus system from airport- much cheaper than a taxi if you are willing to cross the pedway and backtrack a bit- worth it we found. Hotel nearly makes it but there is a bad smell which was helped by opening the window- then you can hear the traffic noise. This is a useful stop if you are passing through Malaga and need a reassonably priced hotel. If they could fix the smell it would get a higher rating from me

Room Tip: try and get a room on the side away from the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maddy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerphilly
Level Contributor
96 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

Very close to Malaga airport but quite handy for the city too. Big rooms with equally generous showe rrooms. Bright, modern, quiet. Comfy bed, free parking, friendly staff, what more could you want? The only downside was that the signal from the free wi-fi was too weak to connect on our floor. But for that, it would have got five stars.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HTWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

We knew we would be landing at Malaga at 23.00 so I booked a room at the Campanille. We found finding the hotel difficult what with driving at night and on the left. The sign for the industrial estate where the hotel is could do with being 'much' larger.
The hotel itself was great, staff welcoming and they even gave us directions to our next hotel. I would just say try and drive there in daylight as it`s that bit easier

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulJ1886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Malaga Nostrum
Hotel Malaga Nostrum
#41 of 90 in Malaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport
0.7 mi away
ibis Budget Malaga Aeropuerto Avenida Velazquez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Plaza Del Castillo
1.2 mi away
Romerito
Romerito
#57 of 90 in Malaga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Zenit Malaga
Hotel Zenit Malaga
#20 of 90 in Malaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Malaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Malaga

Property: Campanile Malaga
Address: Avenida Velazquez 212, 29004 Malaga, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 90 Hotels in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Campanile Malaga 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Louvre hotels, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Campanile Malaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Malaga Hotel Malaga
Campanile Malaga Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing