We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Simple, Great location and Spotless”
Review of Hostal La Palma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal La Palma
Ranked #15 of 147 Speciality Lodging in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very Simple, Great location and Spotless”
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Hostal La Palma is a great place from which to view the heart of historical Malaga. The lady who runs the hostal is a warm, friendly and interesting character. The hostal is clean and comfortable and perfect for a short stay in the beautiful city of Malaga. Tidy little rooms are complimented by a fully fitted kitchen and a fabulous sunny roof terrace for maximum relaxation. The hostal is just a short walk from the famous Malaga Cathedral and Picasso's birthplace. This hostal is in a great location and the room rates are very reasonable. Visitors will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelNua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    36
    14
    0
    3
See reviews for
8
37
43
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Málaga, Andalucia, Spain
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2013

I spent two night in this hostel, paid definitely low price, great position, cleanless, attention to detail, and the staff is always pending to your exigences. the room were furnished, silent and warm. high recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Great location, beautiful room, exquisite woman owning and operating... Everything extremely organised, mountains of fliers and brochures for all kinds of attractions, not just the obvious tourist traps. The owner spends a good 15 minutes guiding you through the rooms, even gives you a mini map on a business card with the number of her cell phone which she wears around her neck, just in case you get lost or have some trouble, you can always call her.

Bit expensive but it was during semana Santa and I was pleased just to get a room, let alone a gorgeous one.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ohpossum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

I have stayed one of the colourfull rooms of hostal LaPalma for two nights. For the price that comfort can not be beaten. My room with a sink,liquid soap, tv with satellite, fan and toilet paper which are very usefull. shared bathroom and kitchen with microwave and fridges. So surprised about cleaning. Hostal is so clean no dust no left stuff ın kitchen ! for dormitary price you will find 5 star hotel quality towels-linen included,hangers in your room inside cabinet ! every room has different colour you might ask for your favourite color to find your room. Lovely place to stay. Builing is old-marble and offices below you as bedrooms located at top of building. Best viewed terrace as I compare with other hostels which doesnt have sunshine but sunbeds at terrace. The location is perfect ; next to the best street in town,closed to traffic only for shopping. if you cross street you will see port and way down is beach located. Beach is half rocky-sandy and free;) Carolina who owns the place is really nice,helpful and also gives clues about Andalusia. We communicated very well in English as well. The beds were new, comfortable also bedside lamp over your head!
There is a lift so staying at top wont be problem. Definitely - highly recommended!!

Room Tip: To be close to terrace is best if you gonna enjoy sunshine a lot;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soulofholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Cyprus
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2012

I am very happy and received alot more than I was expecting. Service and attention were always more than considerate and prompt thanks to Carolina (owner). She helped with translations for my flights, laundry, additional stays etc. All the rooms and place is cleaned everyday as i witnessed. Location wise, can not ask for better. It is right in the heart of all restaurants, bars, shopping etc with only 10-15mins walk to the beach. The only place i need to stay when i return to Malaga sometime soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheMontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somewhere
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

The room was very clean and had everything we needed with no bad surprise (TV, small fridge, bathroom), although it was a bit small. The balcony was also small but very nice to have!

What made our stay at Hostal La Palma an extremely pleasant one was the friendliness of the owner lady. She smiles, she helps, we felt very welcome and at no point we felt that this was an 'industrial' hotel.

Definitely recommend this place!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2012

I was only in Málaga for one night and found La Palma late in the afternoon, after being pointed there by another hostal. I was impressed.

The lady on reception (Cristina, I think) was very kind and friendly. She spoke a very clear and understandable Spanish (plus also speaks English).

Location is spot-on, too. Right in the centre of old Málaga, it's ideal for shops, cafes, etc.

I definitely recommend the place.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Free_Assortment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Perchel
Ibis Malaga Centro Ciudad
Room Mate Larios
#2 of 89 in Malaga
1,083 reviews
Perchel
Novotel Suites Malaga Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Molina Lario
Hotel Molina Lario
#4 of 89 in Malaga
1,900 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 89 in Malaga
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal La Palma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal La Palma

Property: Hostal La Palma
Address: Calle Martinez 7, 29005 Malaga, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 147 Speciality Lodging in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hostal La Palma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal La Palma Malaga, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing