We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly efficient hotel.”
Review of Hotel La Chancla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Chancla
Ranked #25 of 87 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Stayed here recently for short break. Staff very friendly and service great.Food very good and flexible to special needs.No hesitation in recommending this hotel.Lovely room overlooking beach. Will return again I am sure.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank Trevor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (333)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 333 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2013

we were a party of two both 50 + and at first concerned as we had booked late Ryanair flight which did not arrive at Malaga till around midnight, Not to worry, arrived at hotel 20 mins from airport by taxi to find everyone ready for us and the hotel bar buzzing and open for another couple of hours including food, but no worry hotel rooms were quiet.
Can't praise the Staff enough from a the ladies who prepared breakfast, I think they were sisters? to the Bar staff brilliant all week.
Must not forget the housekeeping staff room cleaned every day and excellent all week.
So well done to all at La Chancla for making a week away so special!
Manager very helpful and happy to book return taxi in early hours, yes it arrived on time!

Great hotel super location will go back asap. transport to Malaga city just around the corner. great city super Flamenco shows and eating.
Some great bars and restaurants along the prom, try them you will not be let down
zuma bar next door Great also.


brian and sonia

Room Tip: ask for room at front overlooking beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brian m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I had a wonderful night's stay at La Chancla on 30/10/13. I fell asleep to, and awoke to, the sound of the sea lapping on the shore, just 15 metres from my window. There is no road between the hotel and the beach, so no noise from traffic! I was staying in one of the roof terrace rooms, with a jaccuzzi right outside my room (all guests can use it up to 10.00 p.m. and then it is for the sole use of the two roof terrace rooms. The atmosphere of the place is laidback, and the hotel itself is quite quirky and cool! Elegant and sophisticated it is not. Nor is it for backpackers looking for rock-bottom prices. It is, however, a very clean and comfortable place to stay, with friendly staff and a brilliant beachside setting. I will definitely be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daz197339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rafael M, Director de Recepción at Hotel La Chancla, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2015

Thank you for your comments, we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We had decided to stay in Malaga on our last night and had wanted a small hotel by the beach, which this is but it is a long way from Malaga city.

Good size rooms with a view of the sea, hot tub on roof, bar underneath hotel, lots of choice for cocktails etc.

The only problem was parking, which was on the very busy street. Our Sta Nav kept telling us to turn right but there were no right turns so parked and went looking , it was a couple of roads in.

Liked the position would stay again as really friendly staff etc.

Room Tip: It can be noisy at night so if you do not want a sea view , request room at the back. top two rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelto70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Its a well placed hotel in Malaga, its near the downtown and in a zone full of activity by day with the beach in front the hotel and a balinese beds to enjoy the sun with bar service. Personnel is kind. By Night you can stay in the surrounding for the many pubs or go to Downtown on bus or Taxi (watch out the taxi asks prices first) in 15 or 5 min. Inside the hotel is clean and good and a jacuzzi in the upper floor. My First Choice for business trips there.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diego Armando D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The hotel is difficult to find initially, and parking is not available close by. The hotel is also not in the main foreign tourist area. As a result, we were a little disappointed on arrival, particularly as our room was directly over their sidewalk restaurant. Very helpful staff, a well appointed room, great sound-proofing, fantastic views over the beach, and incredibly interesting immediate environment, made this stay one of our top in Spain. We were told that the majority of all visitors in this particular area were local, which made for very unusual and good local food. We loved it!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank GabrielaJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

The hotel is located in Pedregalejo, the fishing neighborhood of Malga. This area has a beach, a lot of fish restaurants and very picturesque houses. If you don’t have your own transport, you can easily get to the centre of Malaga by bus 3 or 11. Or alternatively go by bike along the sea promenade.
There is not traffic allowed in the small streets, so you don't have any traffic noise. The taxi will drop you off on the main road. If you are driving yourself, there are some parking spaces nearby.
The hotel is on the sea promenade, so our room had a sea view. The room was really nice: wooden floors, brightly painted walls and a comfortable bed. It included also airco, a safe and free WiFi. The bathroom with shower had a good set of toiletries. On the roof there is a nice sun terrace with Jacuzzi. Staff is very friendly and you can rent bikes here.

The hotel has also a very popular bar. This means that depending on the customers you will hear them in your room even with the windows closed. Now in low season it is still too cold to stay late outdoor, but maybe in high season it will be different?
Breakfast is good, you can chose from a menu with a lot of options. But breakfast only starts at 9:30 in the morning. If you want to have breakfast earlier, you have to inform them in advance. Personally I find this a bit too late, certainly when you want to do some sightseeing before it gets to hot during the summer.
But in short the rooms are good, the neighborhood is really nice and staff is friendly. So I would stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms with a sea view are great, but you will have some noise from the bar downstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Globetrotter045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Hotel Villa Guadalupe
#22 of 87 in Malaga
518 reviews
Hotel Zenit Malaga
#29 of 87 in Malaga
492 reviews
Pedregalejo
Hotel Domus
Hotel Domus
#72 of 87 in Malaga
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perchel
Ibis Malaga Centro Ciudad
Malaga Hotel Picasso
#23 of 87 in Malaga
307 reviews
Centro
Eurostars Astoria
Eurostars Astoria
#38 of 87 in Malaga
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Chancla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Chancla

Address: Paseo Maritimo El Pedregal 64 | Pedregalejo, 29017 Malaga, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Malaga
#10 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
Price Range: £43 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Chancla 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the beachfront in the Andalusian capital Málaga, this charming and modern hotel is located in the traditional fishing neighbourhood of the city.Spend the day relaxing on the sun terrace of La Chancla, soaking up the sun. In the evenings here you can admire the impressive Andalusian sunsets.Take a stroll down to the beach from La Chancla, where you can lie back on the fine sands and swim in the Mediterranean Sea.After a long days sightseeing, or on the beach, unwind in the on-site sauna, followed by a drink in La Chanclas terrace bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Stayforlong S.L., Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel La Chancla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Chancla Malaga, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing