We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beachfront apartment, but basic amenities”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel La Chancla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Chancla
Ranked #18 of 90 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“beachfront apartment, but basic amenities”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

practical, clean and well located apartment, right on the beach and promenade (no need to cross any street to get to the beach). Fairly basic, but clean. Small bedroom with modern safe. Bathroom with one of the smallest showers I ever saw, toilet & bidet, overall very nice. Living room with good HD TV, it's small, but thanks to HD it works really well, we could only find ONE single non-Spanish channel however... sofabed in living room a bit shabby. Good kitchen, but very few plates/mugs/glasses etc, large fridge, we really missed a coffee maker and/or water heater. Cleaning & fresh towels daily. Very small terrace and not really suited for enjoying the sun. You don't need a car here, buses 3/11/34 are a 7min walk away and will take you into the city center, shops, Alcazeba, Castillo, ... in less than 20min. There is no parking at the hotel, but within 5-10min you can find free parking. Nice restauarant and bar at the hotel itself. Lots of great restaurants on the promenade. Try Mar Pedregalejo for seefood and paella, Fossil Paloma for excellent steaks and go to Kali (just below the apartments) for cheap Tapas & Beer (€1 for a beer and €1.5 for beer + tapas).

Room Tip: ask for a first floor apartment if you want a small terrace. Groundfloor apartments have direct fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    90
    20
    8
    8
See reviews for
42
145
24
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Charming small hotel right on the beach just a short bus ride or 45 minute walk from central malaga. The locality is mainly Spanish people as there are few tourist hotels but there is a good choice of cafes and bars although english is not widely spoken. The hotel has a popular bar downstairs serving decent food all day and the small but adequate rooms at the front of the hotel have glorious sea views. Friendly hotel and area with only downside being that the spanish still think it is socially acceptable to smoke in restaurants and whilst not a specific complaint against this hotel it did spoil our enjoyment of eating out. Weather in march a lovely sunny 20° !

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186311Kapow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galashiels
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Looks great after refurb. This was our second time. 2 years ago we stayed in the hotel it was great. This year we were in the apartments and no complaints.
Very popular with Spanish and don't expect many English speakers but that's all the fun.
Had a meal there one night curry was cold they reheated it and it was still cold but the other guys food was fine so don't be put off.
Drinks such as Gin and Tonic very pricey so if you're on a budget stick to beer.
Couldn't pick a nicer spot and we will certainly come back.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank mrjot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

Just back from La Chancia and it looks great after its refit. Its so good that we actually walked past it. We were there two years ago and it was bright yellow and blue but its glass now.
We were in apartments which had everything you needed and a great view.
See you again I hope.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrj0t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights with friend. Nice neighbourhood with charming houses. The hotel is just by the beach and has a café by the beach promenade. Quite a walk by the sea to the city center. Clean room, nothing to complain of att all, nice to fall asleep listening to the waves. Service ok but difficult to get attention, the reception was always empty during our stay and we had to ask the very busy bartender for help and it took a few minutes for the receptionist to show up. Tried salad from the café - not impressed, basically just lettuce and mayonnaise, although I have to say spanish restaurants in general tend to disappoint me. All in all a good, very affordable (stayed during off season) place. Location probably lovely in the summer!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan_S_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here recently for short break. Staff very friendly and service great.Food very good and flexible to special needs.No hesitation in recommending this hotel.Lovely room overlooking beach. Will return again I am sure.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Trevor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

we were a party of two both 50 + and at first concerned as we had booked late Ryanair flight which did not arrive at Malaga till around midnight, Not to worry, arrived at hotel 20 mins from airport by taxi to find everyone ready for us and the hotel bar buzzing and open for another couple of hours including food, but no worry hotel rooms were quiet.
Can't praise the Staff enough from a the ladies who prepared breakfast, I think they were sisters? to the Bar staff brilliant all week.
Must not forget the housekeeping staff room cleaned every day and excellent all week.
So well done to all at La Chancla for making a week away so special!
Manager very helpful and happy to book return taxi in early hours, yes it arrived on time!

Great hotel super location will go back asap. transport to Malaga city just around the corner. great city super Flamenco shows and eating.
Some great bars and restaurants along the prom, try them you will not be let down
zuma bar next door Great also.


brian and sonia

Room Tip: ask for room at front overlooking beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brian m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Malaga Hotel Picasso
#24 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Barcelo Malaga
#2 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Las Vegas Hotel
Las Vegas Hotel
#25 of 90 in Malaga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Centro
Hotel Molina Lario
Hotel Molina Lario
#3 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Chancla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Chancla

Property: Hotel La Chancla
Address: Paseo Maritimo El Pedregal, 64 | Pedregalejo, 29017 Malaga, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Malaga
#10 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
#18 Family Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Chancla 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the beachfront in the Andalusian capital Málaga, this charming and modern hotel is located in the traditional fishing neighbourhood of the city.Spend the day relaxing on the sun terrace of La Chancla, soaking up the sun. In the evenings here you can admire the impressive Andalusian sunsets.Take a stroll down to the beach from La Chancla, where you can lie back on the fine sands and swim in the Mediterranean Sea.After a long days sightseeing, or on the beach, unwind in the on-site sauna, followed by a drink in La Chanclas terrace bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel La Chancla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Chancla Malaga, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing