We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic accommodation in Malaga centre - very clean, great location”
Review of Hostel Juanita

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostel Juanita
Ranked #35 of 146 Speciality Lodging in Malaga
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We booked in for one night here to enjoy Malaga's night life before heading off for a holiday in Nerja, We arrived past midnight but were greeted so warmly by the receptionist who showed to our room and marked on a map where we could find bars etc. We'd opted for an en suite and the room was spotless, there was plenty of soap/shower gel and hot water in the bathroom. The situation of the hostal is brilliant - only a short walk from Malaga Alameda train station and in the best location for the bars and restaurants in the city centre. Would definitely book here again - friendly, helpful staff; clean, comfortable room; and an unbeatable location.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PearlnDen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
There are newer reviews for Hostel Juanita
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed in pension juanita from 27/02-07/03/14. It's in a fantastic location right in the heart of the old town of malaga and within walking distance to the port and beach. The pension is so clean, a lot cleaner than some hotels we have stayed in. The rooms are small however we didn't spend a lot of time in the room so it didn't bother us. The only downside is the walls are paper thin, you can hear people walking in and out which sometimes affected sleep! Other than that, great place to stay with friendly staff and central location! Thank you!!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannahsigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

This is a good, centrally located hostal. The iron gate was a little tricky to manage, especially when coming home after visit in the tapas bars. We had an ensuite room (number 1), which had a good size and was comfortable. I didn't think there was any heating or air conditioning, Free Wi-fi, although the signal was weak.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nojo6266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Mario and his colleagues are special peoples. I lived there in two different times two weeks ago. Before i went in others hostels in Malaga but "Juanita Pension" is absolutly the cleanest, the location is perfect (in the center, near the bus station and metro) and Mario is that kind who loves that his costumers be happy in their experience in Malaga.
I will come back this summer without any doubts, thanks Mario, see you soon.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Federicog7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Four walls and a ceiling is about what you'll get. But hey, you're in the city heart of Malaga so who cares?

No parking facilities at the location itself, but there are some parking garages within walking distance (e.g. Plaza de La Marina), which will cost you about 24 Euros per day.

'El Tren is' a nice place to have breakfast. Take a left when you walk out the hotel and you'll walk straight up to it. Toast and coffee grande are good and will only cost you about 4 Euros per person.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raoul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

My daughter & I stayed one night here in October, 2013. It is very well located within walking distance of all the major sites. Room was quite spartan but bathroom very clean and staff most helpful. Parking is nearby in underground lot as you cannot drive on the narrow streets in the old part of the city. As with most of the hotels we stayed in in Spain internet was spotty at best & rarely worked in the room. Our room had a fan but I didn't see any air-conditioning so in summer it might be quite hot.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patty6-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Stayed here in October 2013.....A lovely hostal....So clean ..... helpful staff ....clean towels daily...
It's right in the centre of the city - couldn't be any closer for shops, restaurants, bars, cafes, the local fruit and veg market and of course the harbour and beaches.

Whilst in Malaga look out for La Surena bar - 5 bottles of Mahou for 3 euros. And offers on food thru-out the week.
Try El Cid's for lunch and tapas recommended to us by the manager at the hostal and well worth a trip. Doesn't look very inviting as its used by the market workers but lovely food.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debbie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Debambu Larios
#15 of 146 in Malaga
36 reviews
Centro
The Lights Hostel
The Lights Hostel
#5 of 146 in Malaga
174 reviews
Centro
Hostal Larios
Hostal Larios
#64 of 146 in Malaga
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Victoria Hostal Malaga
Victoria Hostal Malaga
#43 of 146 in Malaga
87 reviews
Centro
Feel Hostels City Center
Feel Hostels City Center
#42 of 146 in Malaga
276 reviews
Centro
No photo provided
Apartamentos Calle Larios
#60 of 146 in Malaga
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Juanita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Juanita

Address: Calle Alarcon Lujan 8, 29005 Malaga, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga > Centro
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 146 Speciality Lodging in Malaga
Price Range: £27 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Juanita 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hostel Juanita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Juanita Malaga, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing