We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa de las Mercedes
Nearby Hotels
Room Mate Larios(Malaga)
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$151
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$164
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$205
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
AC Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Molina Lario(Malaga)
US$239
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$103
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$197
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Malaga Centro Ciudad(Malaga)(Great Value!)
US$71
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (254)
Filter reviews
254 results
Traveller rating
91
108
40
9
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
91
108
40
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall hotelsmall streetpacked breakfastspeaks perfect englishcentral courtyardpicasso's birthplacegreat hostswithin easy walking distancespanish styleold townstay there againbuffet stylestayed here for two nightsboutique hotelshort breaklocation is excellentmini bar
Filter
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 254 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2011

The other reviews pretty much sum up this hotel, which is good value for money. The rooms are on the small side (a good sized bathroom though, with a large walk in shower in room No 5) but the hotel is quiet and very well located for the historic sights and restaurants. The breakfast was fairly basic but still enjoyable. Our room was very clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. We were there for five nights and would return if we visit Malaga again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MTH54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 May 2011

We appreciate your opinion and we are really glad that you enjoy your stay.We are trying every day to improve a better service to our guests .
Kind regards

Ignacio Benítez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2011

We stayed 4 nights spread over 2 periods. When we just arrived, I felt the hotel to be a bit out of the city center, but it's actually located near to the bar & tapas streets and nearby Placa De La Merced, and a step away from the Teatro Cervantes. Close to the hotel, there is El Tapeo de Cervante, with best tapas and sangria in town!
We had a triple room on the 1st floor (the upper floor). The room was spacious and really beautiful, with a high wooden ceiling. It has windows to the inner hall/patio, so no outer windows. We kept the windows closed at night, as of potential noise in the hall (we didn't suffer from any).
Breakfast was excellent, served in a charming room.
The staff was really friendly, helpful and very beautiful :-).

Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank 2000monkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CASAMER2, Gerente at Casa de las Mercedes, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2011

Dear guests,

We want to thank you for taking the time to write this nice comments. We work each day to improve and provide a better service to our guests and this is our best reward, your satisfaction.

Ignacio Benítez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2011

A good value hotel with very friendly staff. Location is peaceful, but close to the lovely cafes of Placa Mercad.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karhuherra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2011

We booked a 2 night stay late March 2011. We had high hopes after reading the reviews but were sadly disappointed. On the positive side the hotel is well located and the staff very pleasant and friendly.

We were given gound floor room No.2 ( having booked 4 months prior). Despite the open window there was an unpleasant musty odour in the bedroom. Closer inspection revealed staining and dampness in the walls. After pointing this out we were offered a triple bedded room on the first floor with no window or natural ventilation, again not acceptable.

We were then offered a modern studio apartment in a recently renovated block approx 10 minutes walk away. Not what we wanted and contrary to all the reasons we had chosen Casa de Mercedes, but after travelling for much of the day we felt we had little or no choice but to take it. I am sure some would find the apartment perfectly acceptable but white is not our favourite colour and the apartment had all the charm of a dentist's waiting room with dreadful accoustics. Nobody could enter or leave the block without advertising the fact regardless of the time of day or night. So disappointing.

We made the 10 minute trek to breakfast each morning but the breakfast was hardly worth the trip, very average, almost half hearted in delivery and the room dull and featureless.

It would seem that this hotel has gained it's reputation from the more stylish rooms on the upper floors because the ground floor rooms are dark and uninviting. Interestingly none of the ground floor rooms or breakfast room are featured on their website.

This is the first negative review we have posted on Trip and it gives us no pleasure. We would not recommend this hotel to our friends and at 72 Euros a night is in our view poor value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank artfulldodger_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CASAMER2, Gerente at Casa de las Mercedes, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2011

First of all we want to apologize for not having offered a room in Casa de las Mercedes that you liked and for the inconveniences suffered. It is true that in certain ocassions, there has been a bad smell in this room and many professionals have come to check the problem without providing a definite solution, but we are still working on that matter and we hope to fix it for sure this time. The plumbing installation was correctly done but it is true that in Malaga when East wind blows, certain areas are affected and some of this problems might occur and you have to take certain actions in order to fix them. Regarding the humidity in the wall, that is a punctual problem with the shower on that room which is also being fixed.

As an alternative we offered you accommodation in another establishment managed by our company (Apartamentos Coronado) which we need to say that we disagree with you, aside from the fact that you do not like white color or modern design. This apartments were opened last August and until now, they have had great acceptance and reviews regarding their location, design, furniture, confort and the same personal and warm attention from the staff from Casa de las Mercedes, in conclusion, everything that a traveller might ask for in order to enjoy his or her stay.

This is your first negative review in Tripadvisor but also ours and we hope that an unfortunate incident will not discredit the reputation and clients that we are gaining each day with our best effort.

Ignacio Benítez
Gerente

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights and found, as other reviewers, that the rooms are quite small but adequate. Everything was spotless and the rooms cleaned daily. If you're visiting at this time of year I would ask for extra blankets because the heater in the room doesn't give out much heat. I'm not sure what happened on our last night but the extra blankets had disappeared. The staff are friendly and helpful, breakfast is basic but fresh and tasty, especially the orange juice and croissants. They recommended a fantastic restaurant called Vino Mio, the food was superb as was the entertainment and it was only 5 mins from the hotel. The hotel is on a quiet street and within easy walking distance to places of interest, shops and the beach.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anita_brereton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 March 2011

We appreciate your opinion and we are really glad that you enjoy your stay.We arleady have made the heaters instalation better.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews