We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exellent little hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa de las Mercedes
Ranked #5 of 36 Malaga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Casa de las Mercedes is a real little gem of a hotel. Its location was perfect, with many of the historic sights close by as well as the many bars and restaurants. The hotel staff were extremely efficient and very friendly and helpful. Finding out bus timings etc and making ticket bookings was no problem for them. Breakfast was Continental and more than adequate. The hotel and the room itself was very clean with fresh towels as required. Our two night stay there was lovely and we look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sylvia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasadelasMercedes, Director de Recepción at Casa de las Mercedes, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2012

We sincerely appreciate your opinion. Hope to see you again!!
Casa de las Mercedes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (234)
There are newer reviews for Casa de las Mercedes
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2012

We planned to stay 4 nights but the room we were allocated was airless and had no external windows; the windows instead opened on to a corridor. Not at all what we were expecting. We were helpfully offered an apartment nearby instead so I have no other experience of the hotel. Be aware of this when booking.

Room Tip: Avoid internal rooms with no outside windows
Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasadelasMercedes, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Casa de las Mercedes, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2012

We are really sorry we have not exceeded your expectations in our hotel. We work very hard to give our guests the best service we can.
Our rooms are serviced every day, aired and clean towels are provided to them each day. Unfortunately you stayed in a room whose windows open to a corridor, but this is the first time we heard about it, because all room have plenty of light and air.
This is due to type of construction of the building.
Sincerely, we hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We have spent in this hotel 3 nights in May 2010 and until now we remember this short-break as one of the most beautiful short-breaks we ever had. We stayed from Saturday until Tuesday and we loved this little hotel! It was easy to get here, we took a bus from the airport and got off in the city centre and then walked to the hotel. It is tucked away in a small street, but this is why we loved it so much in the first place! We read on Trip Advisor about it being so hidden and relied on the nice reviews we read and we weren't disappointed! I remember at the time they newly opened (if I recall well) and for booking directly with the hotel they had an offer and I think we got some free tapas in a local tapas bar, which was the best tapas we have ever had and we also bought some lovely wine which was very cheap (something about EUR 6 per bottle). It was quality of haute cuisine, we thought it deserved Michellin star, this is how good it was! If only I could remember this tapas bar name, but it was quite close to the hotel, I'm sure they would recommend it, if you ask at the hotel. So having had that dinner, it was amazing first impression of the place.
The hotel itself was amazing , typical Spanish hotel, with a gorgeous courtyard and the rooms were superb... We had a beautiful big room with a lovely bathroom. We didn't have any window (apart from the internal window), but it didn't bother us much as the decor and the hotel itself were amazing. Some other rooms do have windows, so if you need one, better ask for it. The location was wonderful as Picasso's house was very close and a walking distance everywhere in town. Breakfast was superb with some fresh pastries and a good choice for everyone... very tasty!
I also need to say that the staff was extremely nice and helpful and they always offered help to us with anything we needed for example with car hire. We have chosen a local company and the car was cheap, so it wasn't the best one, but we didn't want anything expensive and we were happy with it. Truly Spanish welcome, so we felt like at home!
On Sunday we spent the whole day exploring Malaga on the bikes with Malaga Bike Tours by Kay Farrell, which was great way to see the city in one day. It was truly amazing experience and would recommend anyone to do it, even to those who are not strong bikers. I also recommend trying for breakfast chocolata con chiurros which is very nice and typical breakfast of Malaga. We also went to see a local market.
On Monday we hired a car and went to Granada and spent the whole day there, which was also a truly amazing day and visiting Alhambra is a must! We were lucky to be present during some local celebrations so we could see many Spanish men on their horses and ladies dressed in Flamenco dresses and at night they were all dancing so we could get to know real Spain and its genuine tradition as this was something we were looking for on this trip.
I cannot more recommend this hotel and looking at it again, I feel we might be soon coming back to Malaga and if we do, we will definitely come back to this hotel without looking at any other options.

Room Tip: If you need a room with a window, ask for one when booking. We had an internal one with an internal...
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joanna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasadelasMercedes, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Casa de las Mercedes, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2012

To be honest, your review has left us without words, thank you very much indeed. There‘s no doubt you had a great time here. We are pleased to hear about it and we will love to welcome you anytime. Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Second visit to Malaga and second time at this simple hotel. Efficient staff and clean light rooms. No facilities apart from simple breakfast, but very easy to get into and around town from here. Advance request for a specific room and extra pillows was noted and met.

When here - bus or taxi to fish restaurants on beach at El Pallo; train to Benalmedena and up cablecar for 1300hrs falcon display; bus to Nerja for Donkey Sanctuary and beach. Bar in Calle Cancer (first on right after leaving Madre de Dios) and Cafe Madrid, all worthwhile.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CASAMER2, Propietario at Casa de las Mercedes, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2012

Dear Guests,we sincerily apreciate your opinion .Thank you for choosing us for your stay in Málaga.We are looking forward to having you with us once again soon.Kind regards, Ignacio Benítez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

My husband and I stayed here for only one night. The place is nice and quiet, located in a small street outside the noisy. People at the reception are really friendly and try to help you in any way. The breakfast is small but good (the mini-croissants are delicious).
Our room was big with high ceiling, clean and fully equipped, but it was a little dark since all the windows were on the main alley except for one on the main stairs. We could not keep the windows open (at least the ones in the alley) otherwise everybody would have seen us in the room. Moreover, in our bathroom one water tap handle was missing. To be honest just small details, but I think that few improvements could make this place really awesome. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morgante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CASAMER2, Propietario at Casa de las Mercedes, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2012

Dear Guests,
I woud like to thank you for your opinion and the advices that you provide us.We are working every day trying to improve service in our house and to make our guests stays better.
Hope to see again. Kind regards- Manager -Ignacio Benitez.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Tucked in a small alley, this B&B is strategically located in the arts and cultural heart of Malaga; few metres away from Teatro Cervantes and Picasso Museum. The property has a few but very lovely rooms and a beautiful courtyard to boast. Our room was small but very clean, fully equipped with modern faciltiies and free wifi. Only small problem is that we can hear voices echoed from the reception area as our room was the first. Breakfast is nice and simple and staff are helpful and friendly. During our stay in March, we were the only guests and there was hardly any other tourists around.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ida M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CASAMER2, Gerente at Casa de las Mercedes, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2012

Thank you for your kind opinion, we are really pleased to know it and we sincerely believe that it will improve our service. Receive a cordial greeting, Ignacio Benitez .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We only stayed for one night in may,but what a charming little gem, it is in a quiet spot,round the corner from some nice bars etc etc,Malaga is a lovely city with some lovely buildings and fine parks. :O)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redroseWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CASAMER2, Propietario at Casa de las Mercedes, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2012

We really appreciate your opinion and we are glad to know that you enjoy your stay in our hotel. Hope to see again soon. Manager -Ignacio Benitez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Perchel
Ibis Malaga Centro Ciudad
Room Mate Larios
#3 of 89 in Malaga
1,096 reviews
Hotel Del Pintor
#12 of 89 in Malaga
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 89 in Malaga
519 reviews
Barcelo Malaga
#4 of 89 in Malaga
3,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de las Mercedes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de las Mercedes

Address: Calle Hinestrosa 18, 29012 Malaga, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Malaga
Price Range: £53 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa de las Mercedes 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The decor of the rooms as the rest of the house is especially careful and elegant, emulating the original construction of the building and personalizing each one with different wallpaper, paint, curtains and design headboards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Casa de las Mercedes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Las Mercedes Hotel Malaga
Casa De Las Mercedes Malaga, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing