We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good quick stop hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa de las Mercedes
Ranked #5 of 38 Malaga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2013

we liked this wee hotel, no pool or terrace but full of character, really helpful staff and great location. Our room was internal so there was no window. We didn't mind this for only one night but if you want sunshine and poolside this is not for you.

Room Tip: ask whether there is a window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaMer2, Revenue Manager at Casa de las Mercedes, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Dear Helen R,

First of all we apologyse for the delay in our answer.

We are so happy to read all this good experience in our Hotel.

Hopefully you may visit us back soon and enjoy much more.

We see you in your next stay and thanks for your kind words!

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2013

We deserted our lofty, isolated, hilltop casa in Polopos after six days of chill winds, some rain and a little weak-ish sunshine, determined to give ourselves one day of warmth and human company in a cosmopolitan environment before heading back to chillier, almost as isolated Norfolk. My wife got her daughter to book us somewhere in central Malaga via booking.com and we were off!

The mostly trusty satnav got us pretty close to the hotel and by sheer chance we whizzed into a small multi-storey car park that turned out to have an arrangement with the very same hotel, so we were able to dump the wheels and walk for just a couple of minutes to the hotel in a pedestrianised street.

First impressions were very good - lovely old building with mirador balconies, small central courtyard open to the sky, lavishly tiled walls etc, but our self-congratulations on finding the place and it being very acceptable were dashed when the receptionist couldn't find our booking and eventually dug out a form with dates some five weeks in the future! And needless to say the hotel was fully booked for the night of our arrival. Fortunately, however, there was a suite available for a mere €30 more (on top of the €60 we had expected) but being unsure if we would find anything else and knowing the car was parked on sufferance because of the aforementioned special relationship, we decided to bite the bullet and take the suite.

Well, it was certainly impressive - vast space of an anteroom, sitting room with two single beds and dramatically high ceiling, a room off with a double bed and then.... the most miniscule bathroom you could imagine - I kid you not. Two people would be pushed to be in it at the same time, unless they were in the double width shower together - nice idea. But for a suite, you expect space all round - and a bidet and maybe a bath as well? You couldn't sit on the loo without banging your knee on the waste bin and there was literally nowhere else to put it, except out in the anteroom. Also, rather puzzlingly, there was a door to an office off the ante-room, with a glass-panelled door covered with a net curtain. If you were wandering around the room unclothed with the light on, I am pretty sure anyone in the office would have had an unrestricted view of your naked bod. Weird.

Anyway, we thought: what the hell, it's just one night and the rest of it's pretty impressive. Although bear in mind that we needed to leave before 08:00 and breakfast (such as it is) isn't served until 08:30. No problem-o, said the receptionist, we will make up a picnic you can take with you to the airport. Having glimpsed what was on offer for the very dull-looking stay-in breakfast fare on the table by the far wall of the reception/dining room, we thought we would be getting the better end of the deal. Huh!

We went out for a very enjoyable cafe lunch on the Plaza de la Merced and it was deliciously sunny and warm, like a good English summer's day, at last! My €1.50 Nicaraguan straw hat was needed at last! The beer was deliciously refreshing, the food was ok-to-good and the people-watching was great. Then back to the hotel (more of a B&B, really, let's be honest, and more Bed than Breakfast, too) for a siesta before heading out to do the tourist walk around the town, which was enjoyable but wearing. Back to the hotel before heading out for supper at bar El Pimpi, which we'd spotted on our walk - review to follow.

Up early on departure day, we showered to discover that the impressive-looking but only one inch deep shower tray had a blocked waste pipe, so water was soon lapping over the edge onto the floor. Mierde! Our 'picnic' never materialised and when we exited at 07:45 the reception area, where the dining tables are also located, was dark and deserted, so there was nothing for it but to head off to collect the car.

We didn't come to Spain to watch TV, but since our room was well-appointed and had a massive flat-screen and since we'd spend the best part of a week without news, I switched it and its associated set-top box on, only to discover that practically every channel was German. Only when I turned off the set-top box and tried the TV's own tuner did I discover all the Spanish channels, but no trace of BBC Worldwide and only something called Euronews in English which kept dropping out, presumably because it was coming from the edge of the satellite's footprint. We gathered that Margaret Thatcher had just died, but it was too frustrating to watch, so off it went.

The rooms in the suite had aircon, but you had to ask at reception for the remote control (why?). The double bed was firm, but less so than the awful bed in our rented casa in Polopos, although don't expect cloud-like comfort.

So, there you have Casa de las Mercedes.

On the door of the hotel as you leave you see a big sticker asking you to share your opinion of the place on TripAdvisor. Well, they asked for it.

Room Tip: Don't bother with the suite, it ain't worth the premium; can't comment on the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaMer2, Revenue Manager at Casa de las Mercedes, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Dear Peter G,

First of all we apologyse for the delay in our answer.

We are really sorry that you didn´t enjoy your stay with us.

As you know, our Hotel is an old house from Malaga adapted into a hospitality in the baroque classic style and our Bathrooms are the biggest posible, but we do not agree that you can´t even sit on the toilet.

The office on your suite, is an office part of the Suite where none can go inside due to the entrance door is inside of the suite.

Regarding the Picnic, we really apologyse for the inconvenience, probably it was due to a misunderstanding that is unpardonable.

We hope you accept our excuses.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the family suite of this hotel for one night on a visit to the costa del sol. The accommodation was spacious and comfortable and the continental breakfast was very good with a variety of fruits, breads, croissants, cake, and cheese and hams with coffee. The staff were friendly and most helpful and spoke English.the shopping district of Malaga was just a street away and the tourist and cultural attractions werne all within the same area. I would most certainly recommend this hotel to those who like to have a cultural experience as opposed to one offered by a hotel chain.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marieCork_ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaMer2, Revenue Manager at Casa de las Mercedes, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Dear marieCork_ireland,

First of all we apologyse for the delay in our answer.

We are so happy to read all this good experience in our Hotel. And we loved to read you were happy with our Staff and Breakfast, which are 2 of our high points!

Hopefully you may visit us back soon and enjoy much more.

We see you in your next stay and thanks for your kind words!

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Even though it's located directly into the center of the city,the only advantage of it,and was easy to find,the disadvantages were more..as..utterly discomfort bed,little space to move and store your luggage,disgusting odors coming from everywhere,and definately not worth the price..forgot to mention the average breakfast,and the cuteness of interiors.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarthakiR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaMer2, Revenue Manager at Casa de las Mercedes, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Dear MarthakiR,

First of all we apologyse for the delay in our answer.

We are really sorry that you didn´t enjoy your stay with us.

As you know, our Hotel is an old house from Malaga adapted into a hospitality in the baroque classic style and our Rooms are the biggest posible, but we do not agree that you can´t even leave your luggage or that rooms are not cute o comfortable enough as of course they are!

Regarding our Breakfast, as we are a small hotel and do not have industry kitchens, we serve the best breakfast possible: Milk, coffee, fresh orange juice, different types of bread and cereals, cheese, ham, olive oil, biscuits, fresh croissants, yogurt, fresh fruit...

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013 via mobile

A lovely small hotel set in a quiet street. It is in the heart of the city and has a charming courtyard The staff are friendly and welcoming and the breakfast is as expected. They were happy to provide an extra towel.

The room I had was not ideal. Wifi reception was either very slow or usually not present. The safe deposit box did not work. The drying machine outside the window was set to come on at 12.30 in the morning and would repeat every hour or so. I had soap and shampoo for two days after that it never got replenished.

I would stay here again if the wifi was working in the room and away from the dryer.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hywel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaMer2, Revenu Manager at Casa de las Mercedes, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Dear Hywel H,

First of all we apologyse for the delay in our answer.

We are really sorry that you didn´t enjoy your stay with us completely.

We are so happy to read all this good experience in our Hotel. And we loved to read you were happy with our Staff and Breakfast, which are 2 of our high points!

We are sorry about the wifi reception and the deposit box didn´t work. By the moment everything is working perfectly. But regarding soap and shampoo we do replace it everyday when cleaning.

We would be really happy to receive you once more and try to make your stay the happiest.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Stayed here one night when the hotel a few doors down could not have us as he had problems with a leaking soil pipe. It's in a good location, on a passageway in old Malaga near all the historic areas and we could park in the local multistorey carpark round the corner for an extra 15 Euros for 24 hours.

Receptionist was unfriendly, seemed uninterested in us and enjoyed smoking right by the front door which doesn't look nice nor professional. This was despite us being able to speak near-fluent Spanish.

The room, however, was tiny. Now, we're Brits, so we're not demanding of room space unlike our cousins from the US (!) and we like being out as much as possible...but you could barely walk around the double bed. There was only enough room to have the suitcase on the floor behind the door. Our room was on the ground floor at the end of the corridor on the left side.

The TV did not work as the satellite box only let us watch 2 channels. The other channels were scrambled.

We'd also been told that we'd have a double bed, but it was 2 single beds pushed together. A pretty sad way of ending an otherwise lovely 1 week stay in Andalucia.

The receptionist kindly switched on the wall heater when we arrived as it was cool and felt damp and infrequently used. However, we could not control it at 4am when the room was roasting hot and had to fight to pull out the plug from behind the wardrobe! The bedroom was generally quiet but on the friday night there were really loud bass sounds from a nearby club or venue making the windows rattle, luckily this finished before midnight.

The bathroom (shower room) was a reasonable size but old hairs were still visible on the tiled walls and floors - not a nice sight.

We had to leave at 0730 the next morning so we didn't have a chance to see anyone to tell them what a disappointing stay we'd had. Bizarrely perhaps, there was a sign on the back of the main door requesting that guests write Tripadvisor reviews. I cannot believe their naiivety and total lack of insight, that they actually want people to moan about this place. I'm generally very positive and generous with my reviews, but this place is outrageous.

Positive: good location, 24h car park nearby for an extra 15 Euros.
Negative: room was unfeasibly small, non-functioning TV, receptionist unfriendly. Cannot believe we paid 65 Euros for this dump, no breakfast, broken TV, plus another 15 Euros to park the car. What a rip-off....avoid at all costs.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonito74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasadelasMercedes, Director General at Casa de las Mercedes, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2012

First of all we are very sorry that you were not pleased with your stay at our hotel although we are really surprised comparing the opinions of our clients in general either in trip advisor, booking.com or other distribution channels.
It is true that our double rooms are quite small due to the fact that the construction of the building dates back to the 18th century and is classified as an historical monument what makes it impossible to change the seize of the rooms and make them bigger. We hope you understand that our hotel is not a conventional hotel which was built and designed as a hotel with specific seizes of the rooms but it is more a special project and our clients like the originality of it. Nevertheless, we like to mention that the triple rooms have a normal standard seize as in any other hotel and the seize of the suite goes beyond of the expectations of any client who stayed with us.
Referring to your comment that the bathroom was not cleaned well we have to disagree in this point yet cleanness is one of our priorities, as well as the friendly service to our guests.
Breakfast is always included in our hotel, it is not an optional choice but in your case as you were sent from another hotel which does not include breakfast you already booked their rate + conditions. Anyway, we think 65 EUR is not a reasonable price for a double room in the center of Málaga. If our clients have to leave early, before breakfast time we normally give them a breakfast to go on their way.
The parking does not belong to us, it is just a service which we offer to our clients and with 15 EUR we are 7-8 EUR cheaper than the normal price of the public parking in the center of Málaga.
As we are a really small hotel and a family business our opening hours cannot be 24hours but in fact they are 16 hours (from 08:00 – 24:00h).
For your next visit to Málaga we recommend you to book in a modern, big and conventional hotel of the city, there are lots of them and it might be more of your style.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

What a gem...was relunctant to write a review as we want to keep this property a secret.
We received a warm and friendly welcome (even at midnight!)
The room we stayed in was simply magnificent.
Breakfast was more than adequate.
Location is central but enough to be off the beaten track so a good night sleep is guaranteed.
Can't wait to return! We fell in love with Malaga with a lot of help from this great property.

Room Tip: Book the suite, it will take your breath away.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adrianbennett2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasadelasMercedes, Director General at Casa de las Mercedes, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2012

Dear clients, thank you so much for this excellent opinion, we are very pleased that you felt so at home at Casa de las Mercedes and that you also appreciate its qualities like the location, atmosphere and its service. It is a real pleasure for us to accommodate such positive guests as you are. We hope to see you soon again!
Kind regards,
Ignacio Benítez. Owner and Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Perchel
Ibis Malaga Centro Ciudad
Barcelo Malaga
#4 of 89 in Malaga
3,168 reviews
Room Mate Larios
#3 of 89 in Malaga
1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Del Pintor
#13 of 89 in Malaga
651 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 89 in Malaga
538 reviews
Centro
Hotel Molina Lario
Hotel Molina Lario
#5 of 89 in Malaga
1,956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de las Mercedes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de las Mercedes

Address: Calle Hinestrosa 18, 29012 Malaga, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Malaga
Price Range: £53 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa de las Mercedes 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The decor of the rooms as the rest of the house is especially careful and elegant, emulating the original construction of the building and personalizing each one with different wallpaper, paint, curtains and design headboards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Casa de las Mercedes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Las Mercedes Hotel Malaga
Casa De Las Mercedes Malaga, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing