We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of some work”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa de las Mercedes
Ranked #5 of 38 Malaga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Third stay here, and I would return, but it needs some work to justify my previous higher ratings. Staff great as usual, and location excellent especially for holy week. Room 1 shower missing tiles, no plug in sink and skirting board needs repair.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaMer2, Receptionist at Casa de las Mercedes, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear David,

Thank you very much for your nice reviews. You are right, some areas of our hotel needed to be restored and this is what we are doing these last weeks. We are happy you have come to visit us several times and really hope to see you again very soon.

Thank you again, your reviews help us to improve!

Best regards,

Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2014

This is a charming hotel, conveniently situated in the very heart of old town Malaga, with a very welcoming atmosphere and a team of exceptionally helpful staff, especially Laura. Our room was small but comfortable, the shower was super-efficient, the breakfast was ok especially the fresh orange juice (although we would have loved some fresh bread and some fruit ) and the tiled patio was a lovely place to sit in the evening sunshine.

Room Tip: Try and get Number 6 with the balcony as some others are internal and not suitable for the claustrop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juliette N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaMer2, Receptionist/Bookings Agent at Casa de las Mercedes, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Dear Juliette,

Thank you VERY much for your lovely reviews! We are really happy that you have enjoyed your stay at our Hotel.

We would love to see you again soon.

Thank you, again!

Best regards,

Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Our recent stay in Malaga was our 4th visit to the city and marked a second stay at Casa de las Mercedes. Indeed, we enjoyed our first stay in this hostel so much we went back. The positives of this hostel are clear: the hospitality of Laura is amazing. She really goes out of her way to make your stay as perfect as possible. She is basically the reason we'd go back to the hostel on our next visit to the city. Saying that, the location of this place is also really good. Don't be put off by the narrow and rather dirty street in which the hostel is located. The area is great, very close to the Cervantes theatre with lovely restaurants terraces in the square, a 2min walk from the beautiful Plaza Merced with the Picasso house of birth and even more bars and restaurants, a 1 min walk from the best tapas you have ever eaten (not cheap but really worth it) check out El Tapeo de Cervantes (in Calle de Cárcer; the street across from the theatre). The hostel is also kept very clean - the rooms, reception annex breakfast area and little garden are spotless. We had stayed in a large room on the 1st floor before where both the room and bathroom were spacious and had now booked a smaller (cheaper) room on the ground floor. The room is small but has adequate space to put your things (assuming you're staying in Malaga for a month ;-)). The bathroom however is tiny. We didn't mind a bit as the shower worked a treat and all facilities present were clean and operational - if you like large bathrooms with lots of space, then you shouldn't book here. Or get the upstairs large room and pay more. We'll be going back for sure - thanks for everything, Laura!

Room Tip: Room 4 is large (2 twin beds) with large bathroom; room 3 is small (1 twin bed) with tiny bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chantal v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaMer2, Receptionist at Casa de las Mercedes, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Chantal,

THANK YOU SO MUCH for your wonderful words! we really appreciate that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

It's our pleasure to help you and every client of us to make their stay as pleasant as possible, and to achieve it is our great satisfaction.

We really hope you to come back to our Hotel and see you around again. :)

Best regards,

Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

The house and the rooms have a lovely Spanish atmosphere; our room was small but very pretty. The location on a pedestrian street means that it's fairly quiet, but yet it is so close to everything - the location couldn't be better! The staff is really friendly and speak good English. All in all a lovely stay and would definitely consider Casa de las Mercedes again on the next visit to Malaga.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HannaHs48800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaMer2, Recepción at Casa de las Mercedes, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Dear Hanna,

We are really greatful for your nice comments about our House.

It is wonderful that you have had a pleasant stay with us. Our clients' satisfaction is our main goal, and we work hard every day to achieve it.

Thank you again for helping us to be better!

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank Kaisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CasaMer2, Reception at Casa de las Mercedes, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 14 December 2013

The hotel is located in a quiet pedestrian lane. It feels more like a guest house. The location is very central, with all the main attractions within walking distance.
We arrived in the middle of the night and had a very hard time finding it within this maze of one-way streets and unfortunately without a decent map nor a navigation system. But the very friendly staff on the phone spoke very good English and helped us finding the parking lot. By the way, the parking fee is not included and considerable (15 Euros per day).
We had a three-bed room on the ground floor, facing the inner court. So it was pretty much dark all the time, since you can choose between daylight or privacy. But if you are gone most of the time, this is not such a big issue.
The bathroom could need a refurbishment.
The available breakfast we never had, since there are so many other choices around, where you can sit in the sun while having it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkusG1032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaMer2, Revenue Manager at Casa de las Mercedes, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear Markus,

First of all we apologyse for the delay in our answer.

We are so happy to read all this good experience in our hotel.

Hopefully you may visit us back soon and enjoy much more.

We see you in your next stay and thanks for your kind words! (We take note of your bathroom advise!)

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

In a nice quiet lane behind a big wooden door, this feels like you are sharing a private home. The location is very handy, with the main attractions all within easy walking distance.

We are in a three bed, funny internal room where you either have to choose light and air or privacy and darkness as otherwise people walking to their room along the passage can see you on or in bed. Even so it has a lovely atmosphere with its high open rafters and tiled surrounds. There is airconditioning if you have to shut the doors.

For breakfast there is a selection of sliced meats and cheese, cereal - though no muesli, rolls and toast plus juice and coffee.

Room Tip: Be aware of the limitations of this three bed room. The other rooms look fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niall H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaMer2, Revenue Manager at Casa de las Mercedes, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear Niall H,

We are so happy to read all this good experience in our Hotel. And we loved to read you were happy with our Staff and Breakfast, which are 2 of our high points!

Hopefully you may visit us back soon and enjoy much more.

We see you in your next stay and thanks for your kind words!

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Barcelo Malaga
#3 of 89 in Malaga
3,234 reviews
Perchel
Ibis Malaga Centro Ciudad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Room Mate Larios
#4 of 89 in Malaga
1,129 reviews
Hotel Zenit Malaga
#27 of 89 in Malaga
475 reviews
Centro
Hotel Molina Lario
Hotel Molina Lario
#5 of 89 in Malaga
1,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de las Mercedes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de las Mercedes

Address: Calle Hinestrosa 18, 29012 Malaga, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Malaga
Price Range: £53 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa de las Mercedes 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The decor of the rooms as the rest of the house is especially careful and elegant, emulating the original construction of the building and personalizing each one with different wallpaper, paint, curtains and design headboards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Casa de las Mercedes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Las Mercedes Hotel Malaga
Casa De Las Mercedes Malaga, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing