We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother, better options elsewhere”
Review of Cafe Bar Cheers - CLOSED

Cafe Bar Cheers
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Centro
Sheffield
Level Contributor
290 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Don't bother, better options elsewhere”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Don’t bother going here.

As the name suggests it’s a tourist trap restaurant / bar in front of the Cathedral.

It’s a simple café/snack bar, not a restaurant.

Though its location is good, and it was generally always busy, the service was very slow, the food of average quality and the prices high for this type of food.

As we’d just arrived in Malaga and were staying nearby at the AC Palacio, we went in one of the first places we stumbled across as we were thirsty and hungry.

There are so many bars and restaurants in this area of Malaga, you can find much better options, even for a lunch time snack.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank liveyourlifebefree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    60
    42
    24
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Stopped for the view, impressed by Cheers!”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I was not going to write a review and admit that we went to an American restaurant in Spain but the place was a pleasant surprise. The location and patio are great and in a quiet plaza facing the cathedral. We decided we wanted to sit and have a drink, facing this beautiful grand, old architecture. We ordered the fruit platter and champagne combo. The fruit was very fresh and the champagne was cold and delicious on this hot day. The server was prompt, friendly and attentive. I would return! Dare I say! ;)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Davidoftoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saddleworth
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“cheers bar”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Had a cold beer here in the square looking at the cathedral, unlike the others bars where u get olives or nibbles they give u big tubs of popcorn so each time u order a drink a tub of popcorn appears

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank julietu_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lockerbie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Not bad but not great”
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

We had just arrived in malaga and wanted a light bite and drink and this place seemed to do just that. Right next to the cathedral so the perfect place to take in the surroundings. We ordered a platter to share and it was ok but nothing special. Not too different to a platter youd get in the uk at say tgi fridays. It did tick the boxes of what we were looking for but we didnt go back. Just ok. Took us a while to get served too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pam190777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“OK”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Basic american style bar food- though what we had was enjoyable. The service is slow and the staff not particularly helpful. The location is great, sitting eating while looking at malaga cathedral is very nice.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Bar Cheers also viewed

 
Malaga, Costa del Sol
Malaga, Costa del Sol
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing