We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best vegetarian food in Spain and so cheap”

Vegetarian El Calafate
Reserve with
Vegetarian El Calafate is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #69 of 2,112 Restaurants in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$14
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
mc cloed ganj,dharamsala
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best vegetarian food in Spain and so cheap”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

I have eaten at the el calafate twice now and I will be back next week again
As a veggie for 42 years I really appreciate well balanced fresh and interesting vegetarian food
And especially in Spain this is hard to find........I love the Porro a thick gazpacho to start,
the salads are unusual and have vibrant taste and even the pasta which I don't normally eat
Was delicious the staff are friendly fast and efficient.....my favourite restaurant isn Spain right
Now and opposite the great teteria de haren
4 stars for everything and always busy

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maggie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RestaElCalafate, Gerente at Vegetarian El Calafate, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Google Translation
Hola soy el nuevo gerente del restaurante y quería agradecer su opinión, nos es muy valiosa para seguir mejorando. esperamos verle pronto por aqui.

un saludo.
Jose Fiestas
Gerente
Vegetariano El Calafate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    290
    185
    53
    22
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“worth a visit even for non-vegetarians”
Reviewed 25 May 2013

We had looked this place up prior to our visit to Malaga, as we were bit concerned at not getting a good vegetarian/vegan meal in Spain. We were the first to eat at 8.30pm ( we knew the Spanish don't eat till late but we were starving!) The waiter was very helpful and between his basic English and our basic Spanish, he patiently described the 3 course meal for 9 Euros. The food was very tasty and a good selection we thought. To start we had the Ajo Blanco ( cold garlic and Almond soup, like a white gazpacho garnished with watermelon ) which my husbnad said was delicious! I had a lovely hearty lentil stew ( a big bowl for a first course!) Mains were ok but not amazing but I think I just chose badly as the creamy mushroom pasta was a bit heavy for me, but my husband enjoyed the seitan with onion sauce. I had a delicious chocolate mousse for pudding but the vegan choice for my husband was limited to fruit. We do realise though it is a vegetarian not vegan place, so it wasn't a huge deal. The bill was very reasonable at around 25 Euros including wine. The place started filling up around 10pm with a few regulars and locals by the sound of it. There were also a few tourists too. Quite busy for a Tuesday night, which is a good sign. The place had a nice relaxed bistro feel and I think even non-vegetarians would have a nice meal here. Also a change to the usual Spanish fare, if you want something a little different.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank headbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RestaElCalafate, Propietario at Vegetarian El Calafate, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Google Translation
Hola soy el nuevo gerente del restaurante y quería agradecer su opinión, nos es muy valiosa para seguir mejorando. esperamos verle pronto por aqui.

un saludo.
Jose Fiestas
Gerente
Vegetariano El Calafate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“The best vegetarian restaurant in Malaga”
Reviewed 15 April 2013 via mobile

The waiter was very friendly and helpful because our Spanish was terrible and he did his best to translate.
Lots of interesting artwork on the walls.
Food was very fresh and interesting, definitely not run of the mill stuff.
Particularly recommend the "crema de maiz y puerra" soup.
Much better than El Piano.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nashat75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RestaElCalafate, Propietario at Vegetarian El Calafate, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Google Translation
Hola soy el nuevo gerente del restaurante y quería agradecer su opinión, nos es muy valiosa para seguir mejorando. esperamos verle pronto por aqui.

un saludo.
Jose Fiestas
Gerente
Vegetariano El Calafate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“a delicious surprise!”
Reviewed 27 March 2013

After 10 days travelling around Andalucia finding limited and sometimes frustrating options for a vegan and an omnivore together we were delighted to find El Calafate, on a little pedestrian street near the cathedral in Malaga.
We managed to get a table just before they closed at 4pm on Monday and enjoyed a delicious 3 course meal with cerveza. The hosts were most welcoming and helpful in explaining the menu and vegan options. We enjoyed a tasty lentil dish, spinach & chick peas followed by fresh strawberries. Accompanying salad was equally delicious and very well-presented.
Atmosphere friendly, although it was quiet as nearly closing time and we just managed to squeeze in.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sarah m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RestaElCalafate, Propietario at Vegetarian El Calafate, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Google Translation
Hola soy el nuevo gerente del restaurante y quería agradecer su opinión, nos es muy valiosa para seguir mejorando. esperamos verle pronto por aqui.

un saludo.
Jose Fiestas
Gerente
Vegetariano El Calafate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit.”
Reviewed 23 March 2013 via mobile

Following a late arrival in Malaga, I went out in search of a meal and came upon El Calafate. Although it was nearly closing time, they were very welcoming and accommodating. I'm not a vegetarian, but I thoroughly enjoyed the spinach lasagna and the house red wine.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DKCoveny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RestaElCalafate, Gerente at Vegetarian El Calafate, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Google Translation
Hola soy el nuevo gerente del restaurante y quería agradecer su opinión, nos es muy valiosa para seguir mejorando. esperamos verle pronto por aqui.

un saludo.
Jose Fiestas
Gerente
Vegetariano El Calafate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vegetarian El Calafate also viewed

 
Malaga, Costa del Sol
Malaga, Costa del Sol
 
Malaga, Costa del Sol
Malaga, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Vegetarian El Calafate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing