We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Parador de Malaga Gibralfaro
Ranked #17 of 88 Hotels in Malaga
Lymington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We had high expectations as this was our first Parador experience. Initial impressions: fabulous views over city and harbour; warm welcome, friendly staff. However the building (exterior and interior) is nothing special - none of the historic interest and charm we'd been expecting. The decor in public areas and in our room was downmarket and shabby. The room was comfortable, but gave onto a service access passage, so we had trolleys and delivery noises in the evening and again in the early hours. Dinner: food was good, service prompt and courteous. We would agree with Seashore reviewer: stay downtown, and just come up here for a drink and the view.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    308
    117
    45
    18
See reviews for
117
457
15
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

I travelled end April to South of Spain, Malaga for our honeymoon. My husband booked Parador. It is undoubtedly the best location in spain. Tourist buses make a stop to the hotel to show tourist the view from here. It is right next to the only historic monument in Malaga - Castle of Gibralfaro!!

Room Tip: >> Take a room on the 3rd floor. Only because since there are so many tourist that come to see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ruchi_chopra_foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
134 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

The view from this hotel was fabulous. The hotel rooms were comfortable. They had great food and everyone was pleasant. What a relaxing place to stay! We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor but we still had a view. I would imagine higher floors would have an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

My husband and I were really looking forward to our 2 night stay here as had never stayed in a Spanish Parador before. On arrival, the location is stunning, amazing views across Malaga town and the harbour and the building from the outside and reception has charm, check in was smooth and very friendly receptionist. We were given a room on the top floor which I was most excited about as had read they were the best, however on entering the room it was extremely disappointing, very very dark and dingy and the interior very shabby and dated and lots of holes in the bedsheets! It was also very dusty and I actually found it harder to breath.
If you stay here you'll need earplugs to block out the noise from neighbouring flushing of toilets in the night,so loud...the plumbing needs seriously looking into.
We'd booked a full board package as the reviews we read regarding the restaurant were good. Well what can I say...AWFUL. The food was very poor, flavourless, probably the worst meal I have eaten in a long time, my main course was cold and when asked it took them 15 mins to heat it up by then my husbands main course was stone cold, and no apology! we even saw one of the waiters emptying the uneaten bread from various tables back into the baskets ready to hand to the next table!! it was so bad both my husband and I opted to take the hit and head into town the second evening, we ended up having a fabulous meal in the new harbour area, definitely an area to check out.
This hotel is a 3 star at best and very expensive for what it is. My advice...stay in an alternative hotel in town and just head here for an afternoon drink to admire the views.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seashore987654321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wishaw, Scotland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

I am a fan of the Spanish Paradors, and this one lived up to my expectations.

The view from the parador, and all of the rooms, is stunning, but the downside of this is that it is situated high on a hill on the outskirts of town, so you have to be fit or prepared to pay about 8-10 euros per trip by taxi to get to and from the town centre.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaygeemack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, England
Level Contributor
248 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

This was the 3rd of our stays in Paradors this trip, the other ones being Arcos & Ronda. Whilst they were steaped in history this one from the outside looked more modern. Although the inside was a similar style to the Ronda one. We chose this one due to the views over the bay which were magnificant and we were not disappointed, particularly at night time. One particular view is the bull ring and when we arrived many of the matadors etc. were practicing which we clearly saw from the terrace.

The restaurant is positioned on the second floor and took full advantage of the view. We had evening meals in each of the 3 paradors and the menu here was the best of them all. Good choice of breakfast as well.

There is nothing around the parador in terms of restaurants and things to do and it is too far to walk down to the harbour and town of Malaga. So be prepared to use your car or a taxi to get down to the "sights".

Worth a trip is the new harbour immediately below the parador where there are some fantastic restaurants with good views of the boats etc.

Room Tip: Be prepared to prebook tables by window for evening meals as they are extremely popular with guests...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJBMTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sipoo, Finland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We arrived from Granada, already spoiled with beautiful views from Alhambra. This place is placed above the city of Malaga, about 100 m above, and the harbor area is just below you. We asked for a superior room, from where the view from the balcony (embedded in the roof) over the harbor is spectacular - especially to see the vessels coming in and cruise boats leaving. The kitchen has on the list "local, hearty stuff" menues, especially the stew with sea food and rice we liked very much. Most of the white wine is local, the red is from the North, and the cava naturally from the Northeast.

Perhaps the hotel staff was a bit slow during check-in, but they were very helpful in finding one of our bags which we forgot taking with us at another Parador hotel, in Ronda - which gave reason to go back to this remarkable place!

Room Tip: Ask for a superior rooms. It costs a bit more, but it is worth it. I think they are on the 4th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miehinkisaari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Centro
Hotel Molina Lario
Hotel Molina Lario
#4 of 88 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,844 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 88 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Barcelo Malaga
#3 of 88 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Room Mate Larios
#2 of 88 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Malaga Gibralfaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Malaga Gibralfaro

Property: Parador de Malaga Gibralfaro
Address: Avenida Canovas del Castillo s/n, 29016 Malaga, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Malaga Gibralfaro 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Parador de Malaga Gibralfaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Malaga Gibralfaro Hotel Malaga
Parador De Malaga Gibralfaro málaga
Parador Malaga
Parador De Malaga Gibralfaro Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing