We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Going downhill”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Parador de Malaga Gibralfaro
Ranked #17 of 88 Hotels in Malaga
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Going downhill”
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Wanted our stay at this Parador to be something memorable alas for the wrong reasons. Arrived at lunchtime and our check in was interrupted by a huge bug crawling across the reception desk,my wife swore it was a cockroach,I didn't think so it didn't move fast enough! Anyway we were given our room when it was ready and this was the next scary moment. We hadn't been in the room for more than a minute when we became aware of a gurgling sloshing noise going on. You didn't have to be Sherlock Holmes to realise the room was directly under the rooftop swimming pool and there was no way that we could put up with that all night, so back to the reception who, credit where it's due, changed our room to the next available right away
The rooms are ok although I didn't sleep very well the 3 nights we stayed,the mattress not being the most comfortable we have ever laid on..
The pool area although compact is fine as is the guests lounge area.However the service from the bar staff was hit and miss and yes the views are fantastic but sometimes it feels you are sharing them with half of Malaga.
The restaurant was a highlight although the menu only changes on a weekly basis so after a few nights it was a struggle to find something different and the rush to bag a table on the terrace was a bore,Breakfasts were good if unspectacular.Just one more thing, it is it too much to ask for a kettle and tea and coffee in a room in this day and age? And sort the WIFI out too!

Room Tip: Stay well away from rooms 307-311 unless you are deaf or an amphibean
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parkavenuefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    308
    117
    45
    18
See reviews for
117
457
15
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Like most paradors, this doesn't have a great deal of character, but it's friendly, clean and comfortable and the location is magnificent, just below Malaga's monumental fort with a glorious view of the city. It's only half an hour from the airport, but felt like a real sanctuary (the flipside is that if you want to explore the city, you have to drive or take a bus down the steep hill). Our room was spacious, with a little balcony, and we enjoyed the swimming-pool on the roof. The food was good, though the interior of the restaurant is a bit corporate; if you eat there, make sure you a book a table on the balcony - unless there's a bullfight going on in the ring directly below, in which case you will be disturbed by cacophonous music and shouts of 'Olé!'

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OwlingWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Took friends from the UK to have an afternoon refreshment and take in the fantastic views of Malaga. Once again hugely disappointed with the hotel,after waiting 10 minutes we were approached by a surly grumpy waitress,we order a coffee,2 cokes and 2 orange juices.When refreshments arrived I decided to pay there and then,not well received but I was not perpared to waitveven longer for a bill,the total was a few cents under 20 € while a good cafe would charge appx 7-8 € ! What was distrubing was the poor condition of the glasses and crockery,both were badly marked with scratches and lack of glaze,they look unhygienic and quite franky the glasses are used in only back street bars, I expect to see professional commercial tableware in use,especially at 20 € a round. The customer is no longervking it seems and is treated with contempt.I will not return as this is the 3rd visit in as many years and it doesnot change.
In the newspapers you will hear hotels moaning about the lackof tourists and their spending power,they should look after the, in the first place !

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stephen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

The Parador is very well located with spendid vies of the city and port. Rooms are comfortable and quiet. The pool is very small but secluded. The restaurant is a disappointment-expensive, limited choices and mediocre service. Also at dinner there are likely to be many locals (including functions) with guests reduced to lookers-on.
The Parador is just below the castle where you can catch a "hop & stop" tour bus which is interesting and very handy. Malaga itself is now a clean and attractive city very well worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRM2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We stayed three nights towards the end of August and had the most wonderful experience. Our room was beautifully decorated, clean and extremely comfortable with the most fantastic views from the balcony out over the city of Malaga . Breakfasts were excellent, particularly taken on the terrace. The pool was very welcome especially given temperatures were in the mid-30Cs. Great location for a pool, on the roof with fantastic views. We have been numerous times before and will return

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeB1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
España
Level Contributor
98 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Access was not well signaled. Make sure you have a route map to access or a good and up-to-date car navigator.

Building, bed, service, souvenirs shop, cafeteria and breakfast were not outstanding: neither bad nor excellent.

But the location! What a vista on Greater Malaga Area seafront!
Try breakfast in the upper terrace, 3rd floor,
or a bath in the pool on top floor,
or dinner in the terraces outside, during night.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joaquin_Gomez_Moya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We stayed in this hotel for one night in July 2012. The location is great with beautiful views over Malaga.

However, I would recommend visiting the hotel for a drink on the terrace and to admire the views but staying (and eating) elsewhere.

We ate dinner on the terrace, which again, had lovely views, but the food was only ok, nothing special. The staff were a bit surly and seemed to resent the fact that guests in the hotel meant they had to work.

The bedroom was basic with very uncomfortable beds, neither my husband nor I got much sleep.

People rave about the Paradors but this certainly did not love up to the hype and I would not recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cat_laff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Centro
Hotel Molina Lario
Hotel Molina Lario
#4 of 88 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,844 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 88 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Barcelo Malaga
#3 of 88 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Room Mate Larios
#2 of 88 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Malaga Gibralfaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Malaga Gibralfaro

Property: Parador de Malaga Gibralfaro
Address: Avenida Canovas del Castillo s/n, 29016 Malaga, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Malaga Gibralfaro 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Parador de Malaga Gibralfaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Malaga Gibralfaro Hotel Malaga
Parador De Malaga Gibralfaro málaga
Parador Malaga
Parador De Malaga Gibralfaro Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing