We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Parador de Malaga Gibralfaro
Ranked #15 of 88 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

It all depends what you want from your hard earned holiday. I want a fabulous view, a standard of accommodation at least as good as I have at home or better and a choice of great places to eat locally.
This parador (I have stayed at others in the past and they never disappoint) does it all for me.
Highlights for me are: breakfast on the balcony; watching the sun go down on the terrace sipping local wine surrounded by large family groups enjoying the start of the weekend; (very) early morning coffee and pastries supplied by night staff while waiting for our 5am taxi.
It is a bit formal (dinner in the restaurant doesn't appeal to me with all the choice there is in the town) but staff are accommodating.
Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weebitoffog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    318
    117
    45
    18
See reviews for
119
467
15
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

As soon as you arrive at this hotel, you cannot help but be blown away by the view, which is totally amazing. Our bedroom was a standard room and perfectly adequate, well appointed with a balcony and uninterrupted views over the city and harbour down below. The restaurant served a lovely meal, with plenty of choice from a buffet for starters and desserts, and menu selection for the main course, cooked to order. Again, the view from the restaurant terrace, both at breakfast time and at night, draws your gaze back again and again. The staff were most obliging and couldn't fault them. There is a small but nice swimming pool area on the top deck, and the bar terrace is delightful.
Admittedly it is a bit of a hike up from the city below, especially in hot weather, and a taxi is necessary for this. You are cut off a little from the city below, but only by a very short taxi ride. The jet set location definitely compensates for this. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Check you have a room with uninterrupted view. Some rooms may have trees causing obstruction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Elizabeth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Great location, though taxis are necessary to get to the centre (to the Cathedral costs 6 Euro, the train station around 8). There is a local bus service but not a frequent one.
Good menus with 3 courses for 33Euro, or a la carte.Rooms are large and spotlessly clean. Staff are friendly helpful and efficient.
The location is superb in terms of views over the city.All round a great experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hughoneill1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whissendine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Our first stay at a Parador. We expected 4 Star but didn't get it. The location overlooking Malaga is stunning but its a long way from the town centre. You can walk down to the town in 15 mins but the path, although well maintained is treacherous slate, highly polished by many feet. Anything more glamorous than trainers will have you on your backside. There is a bus stop close by with a 30min frequency. Taxi rides are 7-8 euros one way. The parador itself just about justifies 4 star as the building is clean and well maintained, the rooms are nice, modern and up to contemporary standards. The offer of dinner outside on the terrace was atractive but the menu was not, although the view is the best in Malaga.
So why is this just not a good hotel. The staff.
I have never met such an insouciant, arrogant or indifferent bunch. Everything seems too much trouble. We waited over an hour for lunch only to be told the waiter had gone off duty without placing our order. Likewise reception seemed to feel we were spoiling their day when we asked a question.
What this place needs is a good manager. Maybe the excellent waiter who runs breakfast would be a good choice, the only genuine hard working staff member there. Nothing was too much trouble for him.
I would advise a trip up to the mirador next to the parador on the tourist bus and maybe get a coffee, but next time in Malaga we'll stay in a hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dr_John_Poyser_4952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

A lovely hotel, sitauated as most say well away from the madding crowd in an incredible location. From the pool we had a bird's-eye view into the bull ring, and could clearly hear the olé, olé and accompanying brass band from our room. The view is of the old town, Med and coastline stretching away; but also of the Port, an active container port and bulk (cement) distribution industrial hub. It's thus not all flowers and tress, but towers and cranes. It does make for an active scene, but maybe not to everyone's postcard dreams.

On the only downside, it is a bit of a hike up, and the 35bus which connects is very infrequent and stops in the early evening. One to remmeber, particularly upon arriving in Malaga without a car (as we did). Flag a taxi - don't climb the hill in the heat! Once you're down in the town, the tendancy will be to stay there - there's no popping back for a quick lie down!

Overall though, a lovely place. The staff are great and the atmosphere very relaxed and not too formal.

Room Tip: Higher up the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DublinDerry_steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

Our last night after 3 weeks in Spain was spent here as we had visited for a drink on a previous visit and admired the views.
Our room was huge and in an attractive way, od fashioned. There was a little terrace looking out through the trees to Malaga and the harbour.
We had dinner outside on the Summer Terrace, and as it was a weekend they had a live duo singing some tasteful background songs.
All in all a great way to spend our last night in Spain.
Stay he if you want a bit of old fashioned charm and a view to envy.
Not cheap but worth splashing out on.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stewartscotland1151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We stayed on the 8th and 9th August 2013 and were immediately discouraged by the fact that although we had requested, on our reservation, the highest room available for the view we were allocated a room in the basement (which is called floor 1 but is a floor below reception level). We looked out directly into a walkway and trees despite having paid for a sea view. The refrigerator in the room was also broken which meant no cold water or drinks (it was 42 degrees) and a lady came to look at it and confirmed that, yes it was broken, and that was that. The hotel was allegedly full which I can't possibly believe as there was no one there and we were told we couldn't be moved! It had not started well.

Apart from the female receptionist who checked us in and the guy doing breakfast the attitude of the staff was somewhere between indifferent and hostile. They simply didn't seem to care what the guests thought. At checkout when I advised the staff memberf of our problems and views I was met with a shrug; that sums this place up, a shrug of indifference.

On the practicalities, the setting is beautiful for the view but isolated for town and taxis charged us between €8 and €14 per trip eah way. The room was very very basic except for a slightly re-vamped bathroom and rather than being old splendour (which I thought was the idea of the Parador) was more like old second hand shop, complete with a slight air of must. The carpets were ripped in places and the plaster falling off the walls on floor one with damp. (An attempt was made to hide this with the random placing of furniture). The pool is small and looks dirty and is broken up in places and is completely unmanned. We had the pool bombing children in common with another reviewer, whose parents were the only people on the very small deck to apparently avoid a soaking of their book with each unnoticed lunge! You have to report to reception for towels (sign and get your docket!!) and also go to the bar for water etc. Breakfast was a further disappointment, was limited and of very poor quality.

Overall this hotel has essentially nothing to recommend it. Take the 2 hour segway tour with Tim and he will bring you here en route to savour the view; you will have saved yourself a good few hundred euro and some grotty accommodation and lack lustre (at very best) service.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else?
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KJ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Barcelo Malaga
#3 of 88 in Malaga
2,915 reviews
Centro
Hotel Molina Lario
Hotel Molina Lario
#4 of 88 in Malaga
1,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 88 in Malaga
440 reviews
Room Mate Larios
#2 of 88 in Malaga
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Malaga Gibralfaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Malaga Gibralfaro

Property: Parador de Malaga Gibralfaro
Address: Avenida Canovas del Castillo s/n, 29016 Malaga, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Malaga Gibralfaro 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Parador de Malaga Gibralfaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Malaga Gibralfaro Hotel Malaga
Parador De Malaga Gibralfaro málaga
Parador Malaga
Parador De Malaga Gibralfaro Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing