We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view from the top of the Giralfaro”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Parador de Malaga Gibralfaro
Ranked #17 of 87 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Orinda, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful view from the top of the Giralfaro”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We spent two wonderful nights at the Parador de Malaga Giralfaro. We had a view of the Malaga Harbor far below. When we met our Spanish friends we walked down a wonderful stair case to the city below.
The room was very comfortable with a breakfast buffet included in the hotel charge and a very delicious breakfast it was.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the harbor are very pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greeegor1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    324
    119
    45
    20
See reviews for
122
476
15
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gower, Wales
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Stayed here for one night in December before flying home after visiting Gibraltar for a friends wedding.
Although we have flown into Malaga numerous times, we have never visited the city itself. This time we decided to stay one night so that we can see Malaga itself.
We chose the Parador and we were not disappointed with our choice of accommodation. The hotel is lovely with a nice bedroom and bathroom. Best part is the view, it is magnificent.
We walked down a very steep path to the old town and was pleasantly surprised to find Malaga so nice. Lots of bars and restaurants, lively tapas bars, very upmarket shops. All in all a nice place to walk around. We caught a taxi back to the hotel, the steep walk down meant a very steep walk back uphill!
After arriving back to the hotel, we decided to stay and have food at the hotel's restaurant. A big mistake, we should have had a taxi back to the old town. Food choice was limited, not nicely cooked and overall a big disappointment. We are not fussy eaters, but it's very rare for us to leave food behind which we did.
I would stay at this Parador again, but eat down town.
Malaga is nice in December if you want to see some Christmas lights. Plenty in the town.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lighthouse2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

This is the 3rd Parador we have stayed in this year and as usual it lived up to our expectations. Great views over the city of Malaga, but only to be expected as it's perched at one of the highest points (not for the faint hearted if you are not up for a walk!). Staff, rooms, food all excellent.
Worth renting a car if you are staying longer than a few nights as the bus service is not that frequent.
Great value for money, would recommend without hesitation.

Room Tip: All rooms have a balcony overlooking the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brumas_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Nice Parador adjacent to Gibralfaro complex. Spacious, clean rooms, all with balcony and great views overlooking Malaga city and harbor. Friendly staff. During the day, you can walk to the centre in 20 minutes or so but we did not regret having rented a car from the airport just for the weekend. Restaurant a bit formal but the cafeteria is fine for afternoon tea, etc.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MrTrovador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stayed one night at the parador is located on a hill overlooking Malaga and the harbour.
The room was big, Clean, comfortable with a balcony you could sit on and
watch the sun going down. Very good breakfast. You could hear traffic from the road below.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingrid49_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

It all depends what you want from your hard earned holiday. I want a fabulous view, a standard of accommodation at least as good as I have at home or better and a choice of great places to eat locally.
This parador (I have stayed at others in the past and they never disappoint) does it all for me.
Highlights for me are: breakfast on the balcony; watching the sun go down on the terrace sipping local wine surrounded by large family groups enjoying the start of the weekend; (very) early morning coffee and pastries supplied by night staff while waiting for our 5am taxi.
It is a bit formal (dinner in the restaurant doesn't appeal to me with all the choice there is in the town) but staff are accommodating.
Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weebitoffog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

As soon as you arrive at this hotel, you cannot help but be blown away by the view, which is totally amazing. Our bedroom was a standard room and perfectly adequate, well appointed with a balcony and uninterrupted views over the city and harbour down below. The restaurant served a lovely meal, with plenty of choice from a buffet for starters and desserts, and menu selection for the main course, cooked to order. Again, the view from the restaurant terrace, both at breakfast time and at night, draws your gaze back again and again. The staff were most obliging and couldn't fault them. There is a small but nice swimming pool area on the top deck, and the bar terrace is delightful.
Admittedly it is a bit of a hike up from the city below, especially in hot weather, and a taxi is necessary for this. You are cut off a little from the city below, but only by a very short taxi ride. The jet set location definitely compensates for this. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Check you have a room with uninterrupted view. Some rooms may have trees causing obstruction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Elizabeth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Barcelo Malaga
#3 of 87 in Malaga
2,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Molina Lario
Hotel Molina Lario
#4 of 87 in Malaga
1,882 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 87 in Malaga
467 reviews
Room Mate Larios
#2 of 87 in Malaga
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Malaga Gibralfaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Malaga Gibralfaro

Property: Parador de Malaga Gibralfaro
Address: Avenida Canovas del Castillo s/n, 29016 Malaga, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Malaga Gibralfaro 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Parador de Malaga Gibralfaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Malaga Gibralfaro Hotel Malaga
Parador De Malaga Gibralfaro málaga
Parador Malaga
Parador De Malaga Gibralfaro Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing