We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The view is all!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Parador de Malaga Gibralfaro
Ranked #16 of 87 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

As is mentioned by many, the views are wonderful, especially in the evening when the lights come on.we spent a balmy February even on sitting on the balcony of our large room enjoying the warmth and the view .
The walk down is fine, although I do acknowledge that it would be slippery in the wet, but it is well maintain and takes you down through beautiful gardens.

We had no problems with staff, and enjoyed a delicious soup in the cafe - an answer for those who complain about the formality of the restaurant. As with all paradores you take your choice!
Our room was large with a huge bed and aforementioned balcony. Having stayed in a substandard hotel in Malaga before, I would say its position out of town is a distinct advantage!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank addis22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (872)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 872 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

If it's a view you are after this is a great place but that's it. After 4 days in Granada at the Hospes Palacio de los Patos luxury hotel, this was like arriving at a B&B. There is a bar but no one to serve you. The staff are indifferent to guests. The rooms are basic, The mini bar non-existent, 1 beer and no wine. When we tried to order a drink after 11pm we were referred to our Mini Bar! Yes the empty one. This was our first Parador and I would not be running back to them.

Room Tip: You need a room on floor 2 or above to enjoy the view which is spectacular but that's about it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Duffer33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Fabulous view of Malaga harbour, city and the bull ring.
We had a comfortable room with balcony, with breakfast buffet included. Unlike another review, we had a first class dinner in the restaurant, the waiter was very helpful and recommended a local wine.
This is not your average hotel...it is something a little special, and would suit someone booking a Malaga short break.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westmanbrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We spent two wonderful nights at the Parador de Malaga Giralfaro. We had a view of the Malaga Harbor far below. When we met our Spanish friends we walked down a wonderful stair case to the city below.
The room was very comfortable with a breakfast buffet included in the hotel charge and a very delicious breakfast it was.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the harbor are very pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank greeegor1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Stayed here for one night in December before flying home after visiting Gibraltar for a friends wedding.
Although we have flown into Malaga numerous times, we have never visited the city itself. This time we decided to stay one night so that we can see Malaga itself.
We chose the Parador and we were not disappointed with our choice of accommodation. The hotel is lovely with a nice bedroom and bathroom. Best part is the view, it is magnificent.
We walked down a very steep path to the old town and was pleasantly surprised to find Malaga so nice. Lots of bars and restaurants, lively tapas bars, very upmarket shops. All in all a nice place to walk around. We caught a taxi back to the hotel, the steep walk down meant a very steep walk back uphill!
After arriving back to the hotel, we decided to stay and have food at the hotel's restaurant. A big mistake, we should have had a taxi back to the old town. Food choice was limited, not nicely cooked and overall a big disappointment. We are not fussy eaters, but it's very rare for us to leave food behind which we did.
I would stay at this Parador again, but eat down town.
Malaga is nice in December if you want to see some Christmas lights. Plenty in the town.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lighthouse2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

This is the 3rd Parador we have stayed in this year and as usual it lived up to our expectations. Great views over the city of Malaga, but only to be expected as it's perched at one of the highest points (not for the faint hearted if you are not up for a walk!). Staff, rooms, food all excellent.
Worth renting a car if you are staying longer than a few nights as the bus service is not that frequent.
Great value for money, would recommend without hesitation.

Room Tip: All rooms have a balcony overlooking the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brumas_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Nice Parador adjacent to Gibralfaro complex. Spacious, clean rooms, all with balcony and great views overlooking Malaga city and harbor. Friendly staff. During the day, you can walk to the centre in 20 minutes or so but we did not regret having rented a car from the airport just for the weekend. Restaurant a bit formal but the cafeteria is fine for afternoon tea, etc.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank MrTrovador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Barcelo Malaga
#3 of 87 in Malaga
3,354 reviews
Room Mate Larios
#5 of 87 in Malaga
1,160 reviews
Centro
Hotel Molina Lario
Hotel Molina Lario
#4 of 87 in Malaga
2,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 87 in Malaga
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Malaga Gibralfaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Malaga Gibralfaro

Address: Castillo de Gibralfaro, s/n, 29016 Malaga, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
Price Range: £119 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Malaga Gibralfaro 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by pines, the Parador de Málaga Gibralfaro stands atop Mount Gibralfaro opposite the Alcazaba (Citadel), with views of the bay and city of Malaga from a unique perspective. The common areas, guest rooms and rooftop swimming pool offer beautiful views of the town and sea. Here you will enjoy traditional Andalusian culinary offerings, including exquisite Málaga-style fried fish. In Málaga, you won't want to miss the Pablo Ruíz Picasso Foundation Birthplace Museum, where you will discover more than 230 works by the painter. The hotel, built out of stone next to Gibralfaro Castle, is the ideal location for visiting the city and enjoying sports such as golf and tennis at the nearby Parador del Golf. Málaga and its surrounding area are filled with light and beauty, offering the perfect vantage point overlooking the Mediterranean, a wonderful experience in which warm temperatures and the joy of Andalusia are assured. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Parador de Malaga Gibralfaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Malaga Gibralfaro Hotel Malaga
Parador De Malaga Gibralfaro málaga
Parador Malaga
Parador De Malaga Gibralfaro Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing