We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Parador de Malaga Gibralfaro
Ranked #16 of 88 Hotels in Malaga
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
538 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“As good as ever”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This is one of the relatively newer Paradors and never fails to meet expectations, provided you know what to expect. The two downsides are, firstly, that it is unlikely you will find a parking place near Reception and, secondly you must not expect fast bar service, wherever you decide to sit.
That said, the rooms are excellent, all overlooking Malaga and it's harbour. Each room has a small balcony, air conditioning and a well equipped bathroom.
The restaurant and it's terrace also overlooks the City and harbour. Dinner was probably the best we have had in a Parador: starters of six different tapas (sardines on toast, Iberian ham on toast, cold soup, fried fish, etc) followed by ( for my wife) chickpea stew with clams and ( for me) steak. The Rioja was good as was the chocolate fondant for pudding.
The views around the Parador are great, from the north looking down onto the Bullring to the west via the TownHall, Cathedral and Gibralfaro Castle.
The staff are very good in the restaurant, OK at Reception and overworked in the bar. This is not an inexpensive place to stay, expect to pay approx 200 euros for half board for two per day.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mgsnorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParadordeGibralfaro, Director General at Parador de Malaga Gibralfaro, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you very much. Parking is limited and all of us want to park next to the reception! but not possible. In any case, does not take you more than two minutes the farthest parking place.
Thank you for your opinion about the restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    308
    117
    45
    18
See reviews for
117
457
15
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haugesund, Norway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The hotel is beautiful, set in a very nice scenery overlooking Malaga. Unfortunatly the all the staff doesent take their job very seriously.
The reception was cold and unfriendly. Furthermore when the rooftop pool was closed, there was no excuse, just a fake smile.
The dinner in the evening, on the terrace overlooking Malaga , was great with great staff.
Overall a OK stay that cold have been much better if the reception staff had put in some effort making is feel welcome.

Room Tip: Get as high as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terje M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParadordeGibralfaro, Director General at Parador de Malaga Gibralfaro, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thanks for your comments. We regret that stay was not entirely satisfactory. We welcome your comments for improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel has old Spanish style. It is old fashioned in its appearance but is charming, and still has all the amenities you could need.
It is secluded, so perfect for relaxing couples. Malaga's old town is only 15minutes walk down country path, or 7€ in a taxi.
Pool is small and not many sun loungers but that's perfect for the relaxed feel.
Phenomenal food on offer, dinner is a treat and though expensive, it isn't much different to the prices of restaurants in the town so well worth trying a few nights.
Amazing trip.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna2946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParadordeGibralfaro, Director General at Parador de Malaga Gibralfaro, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thanks a lot for your opinion. hope see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, UT
Level Contributor
96 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We have stayed at this parador twice and love the opportunity to be OVER Malaga, but not necessarily IN it. It is easy to catch a bus to the city and back, which I would recommend rather than driving. (The first time we visited we ended up hiring a taxi to drive to the parador ahead of us because we gave up trying to find the road up!) The walk up to the fortress is interesting and climbing to the top affords an even more spectacular view than that from the parador. The pool, though not large, is pleasant enough. The rooms are clean, but our bathroom was in need of renovation. The bed was comfortable and the room fairly large. The staff were not overly friendly or helpful but were willing to facilitate the printing of our boarding passes.
The restaurant is very popular and reservations are advised. Be sure to ask for a table on the balcony if that is where you'd like to sit. A table with a view will not necessarily be on the exterior. There was an excellent flamenco guitarist on Thursday, so I was glad to be inside that night. The 30 euro parador dinner menu is a good value, but the quality of entrees especially is inconsistent. One night my husband and I both ordered veal. Mine was thin and overdone, his was just perfect. Generally the other plates and appetizer are well-executed, so starvation is not a problem.
We enjoyed our second stay at this parador and have already recommended to several friends.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view and are probably fairly similar to each other. The restaurant is at one end an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahMacDillon_2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParadordeGibralfaro, Director General at Parador de Malaga Gibralfaro, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thanks a lot for your opinion. hope see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This was a gorgeous Parador overlooking Malaga, the bullfighting ring, and the harbor from a hilltop wonderland. The rooms are great. The walk down into the city by the fortress is magical. We would definitley stay here again. We can recommend the restaurant for views and seafood, but the pasta and duck were awful.

Room Tip: Request a view of the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SVerbsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParadordeGibralfaro, Director General at Parador de Malaga Gibralfaro, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
We have received your congratulations. We want to thank you for your kind words, which will help us to keep on working eagerly and dedicatedly. We will check the pasta dishes and duck. Thanks a lot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed for 2 nights at the Parador after a tour of Andalucia the hotel was very nice with wonderful views of Malaga , the staff were the most sullen we had encountered, we have stayed at several paradors in Spain but the staff at Gibralfaro were by far the most miserable

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil_JPontefract
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParadordeGibralfaro, Director General at Parador de Malaga Gibralfaro, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear guest, the staff of Parador Málaga Gibralfaro has received your complaints. First of all, we want to thank you for your comments, they are very useful for keeping on improving day by day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peekskill, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Yes, the view is amazing. And the beds are so uncomfortable you won't sleep. And there are no non-smoking rooms, so you won't breathe, either. And the walk down to Malaga is long and tiring. Come up for a meal and enjoy the view, but stay somewhere else.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PeekskillMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParadordeGibralfaro, Director General at Parador de Malaga Gibralfaro, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
First of all, we want to thank you for your comments, they are very useful for keeping on improving our hotel quality service. We have NO smoking rooms. Maybe there was no available at the time or there was an error. We will try to find out what could happen. Thanks a lot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Centro
Hotel Molina Lario
Hotel Molina Lario
#4 of 88 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,844 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 88 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Barcelo Malaga
#2 of 88 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Room Mate Larios
#3 of 88 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Malaga Gibralfaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Malaga Gibralfaro

Property: Parador de Malaga Gibralfaro
Address: Avenida Canovas del Castillo s/n, 29016 Malaga, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Malaga Gibralfaro 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Parador de Malaga Gibralfaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Malaga Gibralfaro Hotel Malaga
Parador De Malaga Gibralfaro málaga
Parador Malaga
Parador De Malaga Gibralfaro Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing