We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Parador de Malaga Gibralfaro
Ranked #16 of 87 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2010

The hotel was magnificent. A HIDDEN GEM. I surprised my husband on his birthday as we were stopping in Malaga on the way home to US from our honeymoon. He was thrilled. The hotel rests on the top of a mountain adjacent to the fort/castle.

We ended up spending the whole day at the hotel (and visited the castle-- also breathtaking views). It was peaceful and romantic. Overlooked entire city of Malaga and Mediterranean Sea.

Service at check - in could not have been better. The lady who checked us in was extremely kind and helpful.

We went to dinner (I didn't think we could based on another review of no late night food-WRONG-- dinner begins at 8:30 and goes late into the evening). We stayed on a Saturday night and the restaurant obviously is a hot spot as there were a lot of diners late into the evening. You can sit outside at night overlooking the ocean/city by candlelight and eat dinner. They had live music. The food was very good. We especially enjoyed lunch at the cafeteria on the main floor. We sat outside and had a cheese plate and wine.... be aware-- the portions are HUGE. (not expected for a European meal) We dined at the restaurant in the evening. The food was very good. We eat out A LOT especially in NYC and our tastes are pretty discriminating. I won't say superior but the view made it all worth it and the food was very good--- I ordered the pork with roasted peppers and pate- delicious!!! celery and pumpkin soup- not recommended, shells with fish - delicious.. fried squids- fine (my husband ordered them and wished htat he hadn't--too heavy) Dessert- flan with mango DELICIOUS. We did not stay for buffet breakfast however I did look at it and was disappointed we did not stay- it looked very nice with lots of native foods. NOTE: Tip is included in bill.

Air conditioner - worked great- a plus for Europe and the rooms had quaint balconies with breathtaking views. Bathroom- modern and VERY nice. Flat screen tv. Large room. Very clean.

I couldn't have chosen a better hotel for the evening. We tend to book only higher end hotels and this fit the bill. THE ONLY ISSUE was the bed. There were two single beds (on wheels) that were pushed together. ( I think this is pretty common in Europe) My husband and I couldn't really get comfortable as the beds were not attached and would separate in the middle- we ended up falling asleep on our "separate" sides. It is possible that they may have Queen or King Beds...STILL I would have gone back to this hotel in a heartbeat. It really is a hidden gem. So nice we did not want to leave and tour the city.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kristinhalliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (865)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

366 - 372 of 865 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2010

This was the final hotel we stayed in on our tour of Andalucia. We were looking forward to a 'bit of luxury' however there really is nothing AT ALL special about this Parador and we stayed in far cheaper & far better hotels during our trip! Firstly the parador is 'sold' on its location high up on the hill overlooking Malaga - yes the view is good but they don't mention the very steep and long path into town or to the beach which in the heat is not very pleasant. I assume they think all their guest will drive. If you are not staying in the hotel you can still walk up the path to see the view. Our arrival at the very tired looking and decorated hotel was not greeted with a smile and we were basically just given our keys and told where are room was - no 'welcome to Malaga' or information on the city etc. Room was standard, roomy but nothing special at all. Pool small and dirty - paving slabs cracked and dangeorous - I fell through one so be careful! We tried to eat at the restaurant one night and there is very little consideration given to residents - the public seemed to get more attention - so we ate in town. SAll staff seemed to have an attitude and not willing at all to help. I woun't stay in a Parador again - find a Room Mate Hotel instead!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sotontravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2010

First time at a Parador, and we just loved it. Beautiful grounds and view of the port.

Reception staff was helpful. Room was nice, spacious and clean. Bathroom was modern and nice. We had a balcony with a little table and chairs, and although we were on the lowest level, it had a very pleasant view. Had a good dinner and breakfast on the restaurant's terrace.

Only negative was an extremely slow wait staff in the outside bar area. After a half hour (no exageration) still didn't get our second glass of wine. Wouldn't have cared so much, as the setting was so pretty, but we had a dinner reservation so had to go in the bar to cancel the order and pay the tab for the first glass. The people sitting next to us had to do the same.

Other than that, it was a great stay.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nancyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2010

The Paradors tend to get a bad press with regard to their staff.The Gibralfaro stands this perception on its head. We were there at a particularly stressful time, during the volvanic ash disruption, and the staff simply could not have been more helpful and more sympathetic to the plight of their guests -acting as unofficial travel agents for many! Every request wasmet with a 'can do' attitude. It was outstanding service. I would certainly return to enjoy this parador in a happier context. Our room was pleasant - a side view of the port but with a pretty balcony. Some of the soft furnishings and surfaces were a little tired throughout - but this did not strike me as unacceptable in a period building. We didn't dine here, but the breakfasts were right up to the usual high parador standard.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ireland_member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2010

We stayed at the Parador for 2 nights during a 2.5 week tour of Spain. We chose to stop by Malaga for two reasons - to be able to stay at a Parador and to relax a little during our trip. The hotel is located on a hill above Malaga, with a great view of the city. It is possible to walk to the city, although it is a bit of a hike, especially going up. The rooms were large; the furnishings were nothing overly special but were nice and comfortable. The restaurant was good. although one meal was definitely better than the other.
We stayed there using the young person's package (for people between 20 and 35) which made the hotel a really great deal.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TNEG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2010

This parador has a wonderful location on the top of the hill overlooking Malaga and out to sea. But the accommodation is well-worn and crying out for refurbishment. The rugs are old and look dirty and the walls scuffed. The whole place is crying out for refurbishment. The staff seem tired as well. Dinner was the most horrible experience: I ordered pork 'chateaubriand' from the set menu but it was so tough I found it impossible to cut. I complained and was given sea-bass instead but this was wet and cold and inedible.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank devonshireantiques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2009

We stayed at this hotel early december for four nights assuming that a Parador hotel means classis quality in a building with some historical reference. Unfortunateny neither of these were present.
The staff wasn't really interested, badly dressed and not really helpful. Our car had been broken into in town and all the help we got was a phonecall to the rental company in order to pass the phone on to me to sort things out myself.
The rooms were ok, apart from our shower that switched from hot to cold every few seconds.
Diner was bad, definitely not to be recommended.
When we arrived at breakfast at 10:00am there was hardly anything left although it is served until 11:00am.
In a part of the restaurant smoking is permitted as well as in all of the bar.
There is no WIFI in the rooms forcing me to walk with my laptop to the reception in order to get connection with the real world.
Parking space is ok unless you arrive at sunset when a large minority of Malaga comes to have a drink on the terrace using all available parking spaces.
The historical value of the building itself is a mystery to me. Only its location next to the castle with a nice view gives it some historical reference.
There is an outside swimming pool available but not heated and with water of less than 18°c ......
We paid way too much for a mediocre hotel with a bad service
In many countries this hotel would struggle to get Three stars.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Barcelo Malaga
#3 of 87 in Malaga
3,323 reviews
Room Mate Larios
#5 of 87 in Malaga
1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 87 in Malaga
596 reviews
Centro
Hotel Molina Lario
Hotel Molina Lario
#4 of 87 in Malaga
1,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Malaga Gibralfaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Malaga Gibralfaro

Address: Castillo de Gibralfaro, s/n, 29016 Malaga, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
Price Range: £92 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Malaga Gibralfaro 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by pines, the Parador de Málaga Gibralfaro stands atop Mount Gibralfaro opposite the Alcazaba (Citadel), with views of the bay and city of Malaga from a unique perspective. The common areas, guest rooms and rooftop swimming pool offer beautiful views of the town and sea. Here you will enjoy traditional Andalusian culinary offerings, including exquisite Málaga-style fried fish. In Málaga, you won't want to miss the Pablo Ruíz Picasso Foundation Birthplace Museum, where you will discover more than 230 works by the painter. The hotel, built out of stone next to Gibralfaro Castle, is the ideal location for visiting the city and enjoying sports such as golf and tennis at the nearby Parador del Golf. Málaga and its surrounding area are filled with light and beauty, offering the perfect vantage point overlooking the Mediterranean, a wonderful experience in which warm temperatures and the joy of Andalusia are assured. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Parador de Malaga Gibralfaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Malaga Gibralfaro Hotel Malaga
Parador De Malaga Gibralfaro málaga
Parador Malaga
Parador De Malaga Gibralfaro Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing