We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like the curate's egg - good in parts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Suites Malaga Centro
Ranked #13 of 88 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
UK
Level Contributor
114 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Like the curate's egg - good in parts”
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We stayed in the Suite Novotel, Malaga Centro for single nights at the start and end of a seven day tour of Andalucia. The rooms were quite spacious, well appointed and comfortable. There was no view from either room we took. Coffee-making and limited microwave self-catering facilities were available.
The hotel is reasonably well located for visiting central Malaga, providing ready access to most main sights as well as the shopping and restaurant areas.
The most disappointing aspect of the hotel is the dining and refreshment amenities. The bar is basically an extension of the reception desk and, when we were there, ran out of stocks of white wine after a few glasses had been served.
Breakfast (the only meal served) was provided from a novel set of colour-coded serving cubicles. An interesting concept, offering a rather limited range of food, which only worked if there were few diners. If more than three or four people want breakfast, congestion soon arises as people have to open and close doors to access the food. In my view not a success in practice.
No cooked breakfast is available.
Hotel staff are very good - they need to be - as they multi-task as receptionists, check-out clerks and bartender / breakfast waiters. They were friendly, helpful and all spoke very good English

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be of uniform quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    588
    727
    155
    34
    13
See reviews for
410
752
76
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Stayed at Suite Novotel Malaga for four nights in late October. Perfect location across from the Malaga Centro Train Station. Room was very clean, quiet and more spacious than a typical hotel room. The town center is a short walk away. Malaga is a fantastic city!

Room Tip: Internet Wifi did not work perfectly in our room on the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daveyCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Just got back from a six night stay at the hotel and cannot rate it high enough. Perfect location to explore the city, clean, modern and the breakfast was great. Just remember one thing, there are smoking and non-smoking rooms. We ended up in a smoking room and we dont smoke but they soon changed our room when we went to reception. All the staff were very helpful and English was spoken by all the reception staff.
We hired a car from the airport (Sixt were great) but the signs were difficult to follow so would recommend it is worth hiring a sat-nav if you dont know the city. Too many roadworks associated with the new metro being built!

Room Tip: Remember to ask for either a smoking or non-smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

My stay in Malaga was pleasant and comfortable. Getting to the hotel from the airport by way of their metro system was easy, just head towards "Malaga Centro" and the hotel is just a leisurely 5-7 minute walk away. Knowing where the station was was helpful, because if you wanted to explore the city of Malaga, the red hop on-hop off tourbuses stopped nearby that station. Or if you wanted to walk, the conveniences of shops and restaurants were all nearby; the farmer's market, the main street (Calle Larios), etc. If you decided to relax, the beaches were all within distance as well.

From the hubbub of the city's activities, it was a nice contrast to return to the quiet location, comfort and cleanliness of the hotel. Much like the other reviews, the bathroom was luxurious. The water pressure was good and the air conditioning worked extremely well. Wi-fi access was decent - just be sure to request for it at the front desk. The kitchenette was fantastic, yet unobtrusive. Also, the quality of service the staff provided was incredibly efficient and kind, which truly added to the charm of the hotel.

The only request I'd make is to have an additional blanket in the bed to enhance the coziness of the room.

Otherwise, my stay in this particular hotel was surprisingly good and I would recommend it to anyone visiting.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rose2nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West England
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Landing in Malaga after 9pm, we decided to overnight in the town rather than collecting and driving the rental car when we were tired. Taxi to and from the hotel was convenient, the suite was spotlessly clean and modern and the location was perfect for local bars and restaurants. We were sorry to be staying for only one night. In fact, with the £417 Avis rental cars tricked us into paying (they implied we were signing for car keys but in fact, the form in Spanish was for extra unnecessary insurance), we could have afforded at least another five days. Would come back here at the drop of a hat but won't use Avis ever again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catfish-angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We stayed at the Suite Novotel for three nights, getting one night free in a deal. (Think we paid about £140 in total). For the price, it was absolutely excellent. Comfy bed, room cleaned and fresh towels every day, clean, minimalist decor, excellent free entertainment box - i.e. TV and wide selection of free films to watch. Loved the kitchenette too, even more so when our cleaner spotted we were tea drinkers and replaced our mouse-sized espresso cups with larger cardboard cups! We were worried we might be too far away from the city centre, as the last time we stayed we were slap bang in the heart of the city. However, it is literally a ten minute away, and even closer to get to the nearby, fantastic covered market (Atarazanas) where you can stock up on lovely cheeses, breads, nuts and fruits for a delicious picnic lunch! I love Malaga, and this is the second time I've visited in two years, but it's such a great place to holiday and the Suite Novotel is a great place to stay. Highly recommended. One point deducted because they have weird hessian type wallpaper on the floor (take slippers) and the layout of the room is clever, but a Feng Shui guru's nightmare. The staff are also very helpful and welcoming.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerrybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
98 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

The location was perfect - 10 minutes walk to the city centre but also just around corner from a Corte Ingles, 5 minutes from a metro station and near a pick-up point for an excursion to Granada. The staff were very helpful (especially a woman named Caroline). The layout of the room -- which was mini-suite -- was a bit odd but we soon got used to it. It was modern and clean. We were staying for a long enough period to make use of the free Smartcar which was useful one day. It was very good value for money. The only thing that irritated me was that to get wifi you have to log in with a code every time you turn on your ipad or other device.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merchant-fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Barcelo Malaga
#3 of 88 in Malaga
2,907 reviews
Perchel
Ibis Malaga Centro Ciudad
Mariposa Hotel Malaga
#12 of 88 in Malaga
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perchel
Salles Hotel Malaga Centro
Room Mate Larios
#2 of 88 in Malaga
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Suites Malaga Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Suites Malaga Centro

Property: Novotel Suites Malaga Centro
Address: Calle San Jacinto 7, 29007 Malaga, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga > Perchel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Malaga
#8 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
#8 Business Hotel in Malaga
#12 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Suites Malaga Centro 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Suites Malaga Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suite Novotel Malaga Centro Hotel Malaga
Novotel Suites Malaga Centro Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing