We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little things let it down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Suites Malaga Centro
Ranked #14 of 90 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Little things let it down”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2012

Going by the description and photos on Accor's Website, the Suite Novotel should have been fantastic and I was really looking forward to my stay. What I found however, was that it was pretty good, but nowhere near as good as I had hoped, let down by several small niggly things.

The first thing was that although I requested a non-smoking room, it smelt slightly strange, possibly as if someone had been smoking in there previously. Then I noticed that a plastic bag had been tied around the smoke detector to cover it!, probably by a smoker who didn't want the alarm to go off?

The bed was comfortable and I slept well, but the duvet cover had some small holes in it: they were quite obvious and it would have impossible for a chambermaid to have failed to notice this - Novotel really should have discarded this cover and not permitted its use.

Thirdly, the small 'kitchenette' consisting of a microwave oven, fridge, sink and kettle, had no crockery or cutlery- this wasn't a major problem for me as I didn't cook there, but in case I had wanted to, it would have been nice if they were provided.

The bath tub also had a niggly fault: the plug was not watertight and slowly drained water, meaning it took a long time to fill and then, while in the bath, I had to keep topping up the water as it slowly drained away on its own accord.

However, the shower was great: it was an enormous walk-in shower cubicle with a proper door, not a cheap curtain; it had a hand-held shower head, plus a giant overhead fixed one, both providing an invigorating strong flow of piping hot water... except for Sunday morning when the water temperature was noticeably less hot- maybe Novotel switch off the heat on weekend mornings? I don't know. Anyway, it was still OK.

The entertainment Suitebox was slightly disappointing: although there was a very good selection of films, the music selection was very limited, and the TV channel selection was nothing out of the ordinary. Also, I was expecting to have Internet access via the screen and a keyboard, but the Suitebox didn't provide Internet access at all; instead there was just free wi-fi in the room.

I didn't make use of the gym facilities, or use the hotel Smart car, so I can't really comment on these other than they sound promising.

The hotel's location is excellent: the Centro Alameda terminus of the coastal/commuter rail line is just five minutes walk away, with the airport four stops and eleven minutes away- trains are every 20 minutes and were very punctual, and the ticket machines had an English option. The main Maria Zambrano rail station and bus station, with links further afield to Seville, Ronda and Nerja etc is about 12 minutes walk away, or one stop on the commuter rail line. For local buses, the main bus terminus at Alameda Principal is about eight minutes walk away. In terms of Malaga's tourist sites, waterfront, parks, restuarants, market and shopping etc, all are within easy walking distance.

So the acid test is would I stay here again? Well, it was clean and modern, good value and a great location; I may have just been unlucky with the small faults in my room so, on balance, I think I probably would give it a second chance...

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jezster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    564
    699
    150
    33
    13
See reviews for
397
723
71
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
83 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

We spent two nights recently in the Suite Novotel Malaga Centro.
The hotel has an underground public parking attached with direct access to the lobby, and usual city daily rates.
WiFi is free and working well in the rooms.
The rooms are ok size for two people, will all the standard amenities. Could have used a bit more coat hangers, and the windows could only be opened a tiny bit, otherwise all was fine.
The city center of Malaga is within walking distance, maybe 15 minutes, crossing one of the nearby bridges.
Staff at reception helpful and friendly, hassle free check-in and check-out, and no need to book breakfast, as there are many nicer opportunities in the city.
Would use this hotel again for a basis in Malaga.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoGameSL_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

Booked into this hotel for 1 night before catching a flight home. It would have probably been OK had they been bothered to make an effort in planning for their annual scheduled water maintenance. No drinking water for 2 days and and no hot water for 1 day.
No advance warning at all when booking. Reception staff didn't apologise or indeed care. The hotel could have spent 60 cents and put a couple of 2 litre water bottles in the occupied rooms as you couldn't even wash a piece of fruit without having to go and purchase mineral water. Terribly inconvenient for guests. The sink in the bathroom was also blocked but by this time we were trying to avoid contact with the front desk at all costs ;-)
Nice of them to supply a kettle and microwave but no crockery or cutlery just a couple of plastic cups made items of limited use.
However the room was clean and spacious if having somewhat of an odd lay out. It did have a good selection of free films too. It is also near a very big supermarket under Cortes Ingles and the train station.
Also it seems one should have have been offered a coffee to go on check out but we never were and didn't again want to ask. This hotel needs to deal with their bad customer service, if you can avoid the yearly water service and not ask anything of the staff then the hotel is clean, convenient and has mostly everything required for a stopover.

Room Tip: Find out of they have any scheduled water issues before booking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gimboeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chalais, France
Level Contributor
194 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

It was unfortunate that my stay occurred two days after the Hotel had been subject to terrible flooding caused by torrential rain .
The whole underground car park and reception area were affected.
But credit to the staff who by the time I arrived the hotel was almost back to normal with the exception of the car park which still had water and mud residue.
The rooms are medium sized but decorated beautifully in a nice
Contemporary scheme. Good wifi (free)and excellent free tv with English channels and approx 100 films on demand in a language if your choice.

Breakfast is continental buffet, served help yourself from chilled cabinets.

All in all a nice hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

This hotel is in a very good location, just ten minutes or so into city centre. Our suite was excellent. Plenty of space, comfortable bed and first class bath and shower. Slept very well, good window glazing and our suite was at the rear of the building. Would have liked sky tv.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cigarmuncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012

I stayed at this brilliant hotel for the 3rd time during the half-term week even though we hadn't intended to. We had booked a holiday rental apartment which turned out to be a disaster so when we looked for alternative accommodation for me my husband and 2 teenagers, I came straight here to ask if they had any availabilities. Luckily we manage to get the last 2 rooms and were able to enjoy Malaga thoroughly from then on. The staff at the hotel are all very nice and helpful, and the rooms are a delight. The children did not want to leave their room... The breakfast is also excellent value when staying with children as they do not pay for it. My whole family is now fan of this place, both for the quality of service and accommodation and for the location. It is 5mn walk to main train station (and huge shopping centre) and more to the point 5 mn to Malaga old town and it's array of chops, restaurant and bars. Can't wait to return.

Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nathalie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fitzroy, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights (last night was 5/11/2012). Was allocated a room on the first floor. It was quite dark as it faced another building. It was immediately apparent that the airconditioning was not working and neither was the fridge. We were moved to a room on the 4th floor which was much brighter but again the airconditioning did not work and the fridge barely functioned.

Despite complaints to management about the airconditioning on multiple occasions, nothing was done. I strongly suspect that the whole airconditioning system for the hotel was in fact turned off to save money as that was also the case at a hotel we stayed in in Seville but at least it was turned on after a couple of complaints were made.

It was hot and stuffy in the room and the only relief came from opening the windows but that meant you had all the noise from the street and as there was a car park opposite the room, the car park attendants kept whistling loudly to attract each others attention.

In addition, there was a terrible chemical smell throughout the hotel that was nauseating.

The bed was the very worst I have ever slept on. Like sleeping on a slab of stone.

On the positive side, the rooms were well designed and decorated and movies were free.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arkay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Barcelo Malaga
#2 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,790 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Room Mate Larios
#4 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mariposa Hotel Malaga
#10 of 90 in Malaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Centro
Hotel Molina Lario
Hotel Molina Lario
#3 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Suites Malaga Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Suites Malaga Centro

Property: Novotel Suites Malaga Centro
Address: Calle San Jacinto 7, 29007 Malaga, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga > Perchel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Malaga
#8 Business Hotel in Malaga
#8 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
#14 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Suites Malaga Centro 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Suites Malaga Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suite Novotel Malaga Centro Hotel Malaga
Novotel Suites Malaga Centro Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing