We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location and rooms; but an awful check-in experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Suites Malaga Centro
Ranked #12 of 88 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
“Good location and rooms; but an awful check-in experience”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

From the airport, you can easily take the train to Malago Central (a 12 minute journey, trains every 20 minutes, Euros 1.75 single fare), then exit the station at the front via the escalator, take the underpass and the Suite Novotel is diagonally to your left (less than 5 minutes walk from the station). If driving, aim for El Corte Ingles and then “feel” your way to the hotel – there are a lot of roadworks. There is on street parking if you are able to drive around for a while (particularly along the old river banks to the north), otherwise underground parking is Euros 13.

The hotel rooms are as good as all the other reviews say: spacious, very quiet, tastefully presented, comfortable; TV channels include BBC1, BBC2 and BBC News for Brits. However, there is no face flannel, or international electric socket, the daily service is patchy (eg sometimes no tea/coffee/milk replenishment - and you only realise the shampoo/soap dispenser is empty and hasn’t been topped up when already wet under the shower), plus on some days doesn't happen until around 3 pm; the room is also a bit “fussy” with lots of net curtains and innumerable light switches.

On arrival, my check-in experience was unpleasant, with the receptionist insistent that breakfast wasnt’ included in the rate, despite the booking confirmation clearly showing it was. After lengthy debate, the receptionist agreed that one breakfast was included, with the breakfast for the other person being referred to the manager. The following day, however, they agreed that breakfast had indeed been paid for, for both. A very unfriendly welcome - to arrive at a hotel and be told “not possible” at least half a dozen times – made this the worst hotel check-in experience I have had for several years.

Breakfast itself includes a coffee machine and fresh orange juice, some cold platters such as processed ham and turkey, plus tuna (drowning in oil) and a fatty iberico ham, cheese, yoghurt; fruit (oranges, apples or bananas on most days, kiwi, dried apricots/prunes); plus one cereal selection and the usual toast and jams. The hotel might consider offering some eggs, which could be hardboiled, as a nice/easy addition to the offering to give something hot; the disposable plastic plates and cutlery on offer also made it feel rather functional/environmentally unfriendly. But the food was topped up on a regular basis which was good.

There is a very small gym with cardio equipment only. There is a small pantry area where you can purchase drinks/snacks.

The two hotel lifts to the rooms are not “synced” so you need to call both of them.

The hotel location is excellent, being 5 minutes walk to the centre of the old town, 5 to 10 minutes to the museums, 10 minutes to the port. There is a supermarket in the basement level of El Corte Ingles, another supermarket around 5 minutes walk away, or the markets with a superb selection of fruit, vegetables, fish, nuts, etc, also less than 5 minutes away (mornings only).

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Airlineconsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUITENOVOTEL, Director de Recepción at Novotel Suites Malaga Centro, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Suite Novotel Malaga Centro. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Suite Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please be assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    579
    716
    152
    34
    13
See reviews for
403
741
75
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
86 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

I am pretty experienced with most hotels belonging to the Accor group but this was my first stay in Suite Novotel. immediately upon entering, the non standard shape of the room got my attention. The room has a contemporary design with bright colours and looks very spacious. Sitting and sleeping areas can be separated by a curtain. Suite Novotel offers free internet and music and video on demand. There is a large bathroom with a bath and a rainshower. Everything is designed to make you feel comfortable. Snacks and drinks to take along to your room are available in the lobby at normal prices. Breakfast was simple but fresh but I was dissapointed that it was served on disposable plates and glasses. Hotel is located near the station and the city center. Frontdesk staff friendly and helpful. A good first experience in Suite Novotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DTH70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUITENOVOTEL, Director de Recepción at Novotel Suites Malaga Centro, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Good afternoon,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Suite Novotel Malaga Centro. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
145 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I stayed two separate nights at Suite Novotel in January, and I had two very different experiences.

The room was very spacious, but during my first stay it was neither very clean nor well maintained. And the temperature was somewhat around 30 degrees. It was absolutely horrible. The temperature outside was 18 degrees and the window was only possible to open 10 cm, so I put the air-condition on and went to bed. It was impossible to sleep, and the temperature just seemed to get worse. In the end, after several hours, I gave up and opened the window. It barely helped, and I did not sleep much at all. To top it off, carpet was dusty, stained and looked dirty – and one of the sinks did not work properly.

A week later my stay was very different. My room was the “same”, but clean, well maintained and with a normal temperature. I could enjoy the free movie channel, the great little kitchenette and the large bathtub and shower. The room was somewhat “weird”; with an almost open solution to the bathroom, and a separate toilet on the other side of the room. I did not get the carpet either – it seemed impossible to keep it (looking) clean. But the bed was comfortable, Internet fast and it was a quiet location.

I had breakfast included in the price, but you could also buy it for around €10. Why someone would do that is beyond me. The breakfast was what you would expect at a good hostel. Bread, ham, tuna, cheese, yoghurt, fruit and cereal. No warm dishes, and you ate from a plastic plate. They had a coffee machine, but the coffee was barely lukewarm… You will be much better off buying breakfast at one of the many restaurants/bars nearby, or by going to El Corte Inglés. It is only a stone throw away, and has their own supermercado (with a great wine selection as well).
The receptionists were all friendly, and seemed to speak English fairly well. There was a small “shop” in the lobby, where you could buy water, snacks, microwave dishes etc. Again; El Corte Inglés is nearby, and you can easily save some bucks (and get a wider selection).
The hotel is only a short 10 minutes’ walk from the underground train station “Málaga Centro Alameda”, 15-20 minutes from the main train and bus station (where you will also find a large shopping centre nearby) in the city and 10 minutes from the main shopping streets (Calle Larios and Calle Nueva).

Due to the relatively high price of this hotel (you can easily find much cheaper!), I do not think I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay away from from 209...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheSuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUITENOVOTEL, Director de Recepción at Novotel Suites Malaga Centro, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Suite Novotel Malaga Centro. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Suite Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please be assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

It was my first every stay at Suite Novotel. My experience related to room was very great here. However the hotel misses on most of the services. It is another self service hotel but unlike others it had good breakfast, and very closely located near the best shopping street in malaga. The hotel staff was very polite and helped us made our stay better at malaga. Ideal for making malaga the base to visit marbella.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pankaj K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUITENOVOTEL, Director de Recepción at Novotel Suites Malaga Centro, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Good afternoon,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Suite Novotel Malaga Centro.

We are always interested in receiving comments and sharing them with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Very convenient for families with kids. Centrally located and very close to Malaga old town. On the downside, the very average quality of the materials used might not resist very long to intense usage....

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Gwen_StCloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUITENOVOTEL, Director de Recepción at Novotel Suites Malaga Centro, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Good afternoon,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Suite Novotel Malaga Centro.

We are always interested in receiving comments and sharing them with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N. Ireland
Level Contributor
115 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Rooms very well designed and large with good sized sitting area.. Spotlessly clean as is all the hotel – very modern and new.

Bathroom very large walk in powerful shower and large bath – great selection of toiletries including bath bomb. Room very quiet – didn't realise that there were quite a lot of people staying until breakfast.

Fridge, microwave and sink cleverly hidden behing a sliding door as part of the wardrobe which has cupbord to hide away suit cases. Plenty of space for clothes.

Reception staff brilliant – asked for cups and wine glasses and they were delivered to the room - as those provided were plastic.

Excellent location – could walk to old city in minutes.

Breakfast was continental with a wide selection of cold cuts and cheeses – cereals – fresh fruit – yoghurts – we loved it. We stayed for 5 days in a deal for B&B and were extremely happy.

It would have been excellent but for plastic/cardboard plates for breakfast and furniture in room was not overly comfotable – bed hard and became a problem after a few days.

Even so we would definltely stay again.

Room Tip: We had room 310 which was away from the elevator at the end of the corridor and it was so quiet that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N_IrelandMarmalade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUITENOVOTEL, Director de Recepción at Novotel Suites Malaga Centro, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Good afternoon,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Suite Novotel Malaga Centro. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Barcelo Malaga
#2 of 88 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,859 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 88 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Room Mate Larios
#3 of 88 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mariposa Hotel Malaga
#11 of 88 in Malaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Centro
Hotel Molina Lario
Hotel Molina Lario
#4 of 88 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Suites Malaga Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Suites Malaga Centro

Property: Novotel Suites Malaga Centro
Address: Calle San Jacinto 7, 29007 Malaga, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga > Perchel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Malaga
#8 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
#8 Business Hotel in Malaga
#12 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Suites Malaga Centro 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Suites Malaga Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suite Novotel Malaga Centro Hotel Malaga
Novotel Suites Malaga Centro Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing