We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Apartamentos Coronado
Ranked #27 of 147 Speciality Lodging in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with a couple friends for 5 nights in September. We had no trouble finding the location, and found the local area easy to navigate. The apartment was clean however the facilities were not great. The shower had no hot water at any time which was a big issue, especially with three people trying to shower daily. The kitchen was nothing more than a stovetop and a microwave - we had to buy our own frying pan!!! The staff were not helpful apart from replacing our towels when we asked, they couldn't even provide us with directions to a local supermarket. All in all, it was ok as we are pretty self sufficient and only wanted somewhere clean to sleep, but if I were to come back to Malaga I'd probably stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Igloo44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasadelasMercedes, Revenue Manager at Apartamentos Coronado, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Igloo44,

We are really sorry that you didn´t enjoy your stay with us completely.

We already fixed the heating for hot water on your room which I gues was apartment number 5.

Regarding the kitchen, unfortunately we do not agree with your opinion. Our kitchens are fully equiped with:

•Fridge
•Ceramic hob
•Microwave
•Hood
•Toaster
•Coffee machine
•Juicer
•Plates and Cutlery

Regarding supermarket probably you asked our Housekeeping ladies who do not speak english and could not help you. But in reception we are completely helpful with everything you require.

Hopefully you may visit us back soon and enjoy much more.


Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    29
    11
    4
    8
See reviews for
26
21
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
yalova
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2013

the apartment is very clean and well decorated.the stuff is very helpful.thanks to Alicia who helped us a lot.the bad thing for apartment is it is very difficult to find.there should be good map to show this place

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sukranYalova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
apartamentoscoronado, Revenue Manager at Apartamentos Coronado, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Google Translation
Hola Harika,

Muchas gracias por tus comentarios.

Nos complace mucho saber que te gustaron nuestros apartamentos y el trato de Alicia. Para nosotros la limpieza y el trato con el cliente son imprescindibles.

Esperamos volver a veros pronto,

Saludos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

the room was very nice and all appliances looked very new.the staff were also very helpfull,a must do is to print off your confirmation email from the coronado as it has the directions to the rooms.the apartments are very hard to find if you did not have the walking directions on the email
.before booking i would ask if the building work next door is finished.we got early rises every day as the building work starts at 8am prompt and goes on all day.there are derelict buildings next door that are getting renovated.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
apartamentoscoronado, Revenue Manager at Apartamentos Coronado, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Dear David,

We appreciate your kind words, and are very happy that you liked that much our apartments.

Of course we are in a narrow Street on city centre, and it maight be a Little bit confusing. That´s the reason we always recommend you to bring our indications with you :-)

Afortunately, Hammam building already finished! They´ve built a beautiful Hamman that you can enjoy at your next visit!

Thank you for taking time to send your opinion to tripavisor.

Hopefully we see you back son!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We rang Alicia from the hotel so she was there to meet us ( took about 30 mins from airport ).
I had rung from England to check this was the right thing to do - having read some of the reviews.

Spent 4 nights - didn't cook -just used the coffee machine ( there was no kettle ).
The place had good wifi but no English speaking TV - which surprised us as it had advertised as having satellite, and I thought that meant US or UK TV.

Pleasant to stay in - very central with lots of bars close by. I liked the fact that it seemed "local and not touristy. Was quiet - but I imagine it could be noisy in the summer. Felt it was clean etc and altho we didn't see any of the owners / reception for our stay, I felt they would have been easy to get hold of on the phone.
As usual, there were not enough hooks on doors / walls and no towel rail !!

I would stay again ! BUt - the1 room apartment would definetly not been right for more - despite a sofa bed as the toilet and shower were off the one proper bedroom.
Comfortable bed and lots of towels / soap / shampoo etc

Room Tip: A kettle and English TV would have given it 5 stars ! Don't economise on space - go for people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rowanother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
apartamentoscoronado, Revenue Manager at Apartamentos Coronado, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear Rowanother,

First of all we apologyse for the delay in our answer.

We really appreciate your words and we are happy to hear you liked our apartments.

Regarding Satellite TV, we do have it available in Duplex Apartments. Hopefully we will install it soon in the rest of apartments.

In summer, normally is also a quiet area due to we are in this tiny Street! We are lucky!

We take note of you advice regarding towel hooks.

Hopefully we meet yo back soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2012

The room was updated and clean with ample space. The problems; we arrived late but emailed from the plane to let them know of our arrival. Once we found it, we could not get hold of anyone to let us in and stood outside in the dark alley for 30 minutes for someone to answer the phone number left on the door. We stayed for two nights, on the second night we assisted another family who also was locked out and could not get in! Also, the shower's water will not make it through one shower...which means the other three members of my family had to wait to shower or shower in the cold. The wi-fi does not work at all!!! We were a group if three families, and none if us could get it to work. On the second night, a man stood outside our window and banged on the bars and screamed and yelled... The bars kept us protected, but the window locks were broken(apt1) and the alley noises kept us up! Overall, this is probably one of my worst experiences ever in Europe---and I am a seasoned traveler spending over 9 years visiting around Europe. I would not recommend staying here.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
apartamentoscoronado, Gerente at Apartamentos Coronado, responded to this review, 2 January 2013
We regret any inconvenience this may have happened that are unusual customer in our establishment and do not respond to the reality of it. It is unusual noise outside but apparently taht night someone, who was drunk out of the street, caused it. However what we can say that the doors and the windows of the apartments are completely safe and although there was a faulty handle not affect the safety of property. As for waiting at check-in we ask all our customers to supply us in 30 minutes before the time of arrival since our reception is shared with another property nearby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

The very good thing about this apartment hotel it's its location in the historic center. But I would not recommend it for a family : my children had to share a sofa bed, which was not comfortable. The apartment was very humid. Some suspect stains on our head bed... Our apartment was near the entrance which is quiet noisy.
The price seems to us way too high for the type of room. Despite the welcoming staff, there were also some problems with the billing, that unfortunately gave us a feeling of defiance.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
apartamentoscoronado, Revenue Manager at Apartamentos Coronado, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear Lucie,

First of all we apologyse for the delay in our answer.

We are really sorry that you didn´t enjoy your stay with us.

We will immediately make changes to change our sofa beds into more comfortable ones.

Regarding humidity, unfortunately we do not agree with that, as it is a new construction and high quality building where we have not found this problem at any moment.

As you know we are located at the city centre, but in a narrow and quiet Street. In your case, you occupied a basement apartament and unfortunately someone disturbed you, which is not usual in the area.

We really think we have very competitive rates regarding the quality of our offer.

We do really apologyse about the error in you invoice, but as we obviously solved it, it wouldn´t cause a bad review, as it is a human error that may happend anyone.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sotogrande, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

We stayed here one night only when stopping in Malaga to pick friends up. Impressed by the apartments, they were very swish and stylish with funky set-ups and good furniture. It was actually a shame that we were only here for one night and we would think about staying here longer if we were to go back to Malaga. For me its a good area with lots of bars within walking distance but bear this in mind when considering booking it as it would be noisy for some (not me - I prefer to sleep through it all :) If I had a criticism it was that the beds were a touch soft.

Receptionist very friendly (thanks for working through my bad Spanish) and very communicative, dealing with our turning up late. Easy in and easy out. Would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justarover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
apartamentoscoronado, Revenue Manager at Apartamentos Coronado, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear Justarover,

First of all we apologyse for the delay in our answer.

We are so happy to read all this good experience in our apartment.

Hopefully you may visit us back soon and enjoy much more.

We see you in your next stay,

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Centro
Apartamentos San Pablo
Apartamentos San Pablo
#32 of 147 in Malaga
97 reviews
Centro
Life Apartments Alemeda Colon
Pinar Apartments
#11 of 147 in Malaga
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Debambu
Debambu
#2 of 147 in Malaga
248 reviews
Centro
Picasso Suites Malaga
Picasso Suites Malaga
#9 of 147 in Malaga
98 reviews
Centro
Dulces Dreams Boutique Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Coronado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Coronado

Property: Apartamentos Coronado
Address: Calle Coronado 2 | Calle Coronado 2, 29008 Malaga, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga > Centro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 147 Speciality Lodging in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartamentos Coronado 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious modern design in perfect harmony with traditional architecture. Coronado Apartments are located in the historical center of Malaga, next to the future Thyssen Museum and Plaza de la Constitucion, only five minutes walking distance from the main places of interest in the city like Picasso Museum, The Cathedral, The Alcazaba, etc. Coronado Apartments offer five one-bedroom apartments for up to four people and two studios for 1 or 2 persons. All perfectly equipped with modern furtniture and appliances. Check-in, check-out and daily cleaning services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Apartamentos Coronado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Coronado Malaga, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing