We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best but not bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Oasis Backpackers' Hostel Malaga
Ranked #23 of 144 Speciality Lodging in Malaga
Perugia, Umbria, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not the best but not bad”
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Like the lady below said, they do switch beds on you without notice but the staff is actually really nice! They didn't have any maps when we went but definitely take the walking tour with the Canadian girl, I'm so sad I don't remember her name. She's very informative and gives great tips on places to eat/go. Malaga isn't that bad to get around so you don't need a bus route to get anywhere unless you want to go to the beach. The breakfast was a lot less than I was expecting. I'd stay here again, easy to meet people.

Room Tip: The beds were super cumfy but only downside is there's only one bathroom in the six bed doorms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LLuna22_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    90
    36
    18
    26
See reviews for
9
18
130
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ypsilanti, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

This was by far the worst hostel i´ve ever stayed at. Upon arriving, (around 15:45) i was asked told i´d have to wait to check in because the receptionist´s shift was ending in 15 minutes and she didn´t want to do any more check ins, so while i waited i watched her stand around. The e-mail i received mentioned a promotion where if you like their page on facebook, you´d get a free drink or a room upgrade. When I asked, they looked at me like i was from Mars and said oh yeah, that´s old. We should really take that off the e-mail. You think? The hostel was loud. Someone was snoring like a freight train. When I got back at night, SOMEONE WAS SLEEPING IN MY BED!!!!! (apparently very typical of this hostel). The staff was everything but helpful! Very rude, and didn´t even know bus info!

Room Tip: don´t book with this hostel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelcrazy612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa0001, General Manager at Oasis Backpackers' Hostel Malaga, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Hi there

thanks for letting us know you opinion. We like to be proud of our staff members and they are carefully selected, so we’ll take your comments very much into consideration as we try to fix these problems. Things like this should never happen, and we'll do our best to make sure that this remains an isolated incident.
Thank you again for letting us know and if you ever dare to stay with us again, we would like to invite you.

Thanks again, your Oasis Staff Malaga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
39 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

I was traveling in a group of 4 and we booked a private, 4 person room. It was HUGE! The place seemed new, clean and the facilities were nice. The breakfast was about what you can expect from a hostel - toast & cereal. The location of the hostel was perfect, and the rooftop terrace was an added bonus! I would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NancySP_611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorhead, Minnesota
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

I had a heck of a time finding the place...but I should have followed the directions better! :) Once I arrived, Juan took glorious care of me. I was so ridiculously late it almost wasn't worth going to sleep...but alas, necessary. I was only here for a few hours but it was an excellent few hours. :)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maltoosius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Very nice facilities and location. Great pancho tour free walking tour too, our guide was very knowledgeable and it enriched our experience of Malaga.

Room Tip: These rooms are huge, comfortable mattress, balcony, nice decor, and in room bathroom. Top notch ind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katherine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tromsø, Norway
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

The Oasis hostel is located right next to the main shopping street in Malaga, fairly close to the beach and attractions. The hostel seems very new, and each room has a private bathroom (this can get rather dirty though..) We had to wait in line for more than an hour to check in, which gave us a bad first impression, but after that the staff was very helpful and made you feel very welcome. It's easy to get to know people as the hostel has several hang out areas, and arranges several events throughout the week. Theres also a super nice roof terrace with bar on top of the hostel. All in all the oasis is a nice, average plus hostel, and i would probably stay there again if in malaga.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonjeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferrara, Emilia-Romagna, Italy
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Unfortunately I was only stopping over in Malaga for the day and caching a flight the next morning, but I wish that I could've stayed longer now. I arriver way earlier than check in time but there was no problem with leaving my case in their secure cupboard and I was able to make myself a cup of tea and chill out in the comfy common area.
One of the best parts about staying at the Oasis Hostel was that they are affiliated with Pancho walking tours, who offer free guided tours of the city. Michael our guide was very informative and witty and gave us a great overview o the city's culture and history. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
It's in a great location around the corner from some great bars and the main tourist/shopping area. Although I did have a bit of difficulty finding it when I first arrived, I did however manage to find it easily coming to and from different parts of the city
I was only expecting to get a couple of hours sleep (since I was catching an early morning flight) so I didn't mind the interruptions of drunken latecomers arriving in the room - it comes with the territory of sharing a room. But the beds were extremely comfy and clean so i can't complain.
I would definitely return to this hostel and malaga sometime in the near future! THANKS!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BethanMcCann10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Room Mate Larios
#3 of 88 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barcelo Malaga
#2 of 88 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,852 reviews
Centro
Alcazaba Premium Hostel
Alcazaba Premium Hostel
#6 of 144 in Malaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oasis Backpackers' Hostel Malaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oasis Backpackers' Hostel Malaga

Property: Oasis Backpackers' Hostel Malaga
Address: Calle San Telmo 14, 29008 Malaga, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 144 Speciality Lodging in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Oasis Backpackers' Hostel Malaga 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the most "party" hostel in Malaga. We have a saying at Oasis Backpacker's Hostel in Malaga, " If you can't meet anyone here, you can't meet anyone anywhere!" or maybe that was "Why do my socks smell like tequila?" Either way, cheap drinks, two bars, and endless activities keep travellers mingling all night long. In Malaga we want everyone to join in the fun. Whether we're spending the day basking in the warm Andalusian sun at one of Malaga's many beaches (yes even in the winter), sipping cocktails while looking out over the skyline on our rooftop bar or stumbling through the historic center after one of our famous nights out, you will be welcomed into the family...Oasis Style! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Oasis Backpackers' Hostel Malaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oasis Backpackers' Hostel Malaga Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing