We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value hotel 15 minutes walk to town centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tryp Malaga Alameda Hotel
Ranked #21 of 90 Hotels in Malaga
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
278 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“Great value hotel 15 minutes walk to town centre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

We have used this modern hotel twice now.It is great value and if you are a MAS member you get a great breakfast at 50% off at just under 7 euro. The rooms are large with a table and teo easy chairs.If you are in town in the evening go to the roof top bar in Room Mate Larios at the top of the main shopping street.The alcazar & cathedral make a spectacular backdrop.The only negative to the Tryp is there is no pool, but this makes it great value for a long weekend.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IJDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    387
    170
    26
    9
See reviews for
110
355
46
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

We stayed at this Hotel only one night after arriving late from the Airport. It took us a while to find the hotel as we were in a car and there are lots of road works going on and one way roads. We parked in the main road which was free as long as we left before 9am. If you were staying, you would have to park in the Shopping mall parking and pay 5 euro's until 10am. Not sure what you do after that.
The staff were friendly and gave us great advice on where to eat so late at night.
The hotel room was sufficient, large bed which was fantastic. Ask for more pillows if you like a fuller pillow as the pillows were not great.
We had noisy neighbours which woke me up..can't blame that on the hotel, but maybe that could be due to thin walls, I am not sure.
The reason for choosing this hotel was the reviews on the breakfast, and we were not dissapointed. It was simple but delicious and felt it was definately worth the money we spent.

Room Tip: Ask for non smoking room if you are a Non smoker as they have Non-smoking floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Putney_Liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

Great hotel, clean rooms, friendly staff, right in the center of Malaga. Breakfast is simple but nice. Although near a busy street the windows are double glazed so no noise at night. The staff were helpful at all times. I will certainly use this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DennisGibraltar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

POSITIVES
Reception was very friendly and accomodating.

Relatively close to airport. I think it cost around 22 EUROS from Malaga airport. We walked out of the airport at 11PM and was checked into the hotel by 11:30 PM.

Absolutely loved the breakfast. It was simple food but tasty. We didn't try the room service though because it was fairly expensive.

Location was ideal. Easy walking distance to the tourist attractions by foot. Bus station and train station within walking distance. Next to a few convenience stores and next to a shopping mall.

Furnishings were simple and very cosy but were a little aged. The room required a bit more cleaning and dusting but I guess I like my rooms super clean.

Bathroom was functional but most importantly CLEAN!

In room safe was a good thing. TV was flat panel but small.

NEGATIVES
Rooms were a little on the small side but didn't spend too much time in them except for sleeping.

Walls were a little on the thin side but it didn't disturb us too much.

They stuck two single beds together to form a large bed. The "bump" in the middle of the bed was annoying. However the beds were firm and comfortable.

I can't remember if WIFI was available.

The bath tub was extremely small. Thank goodness I didn't attempt to take a bath. The water pressure for the shower was wonderful though.

CONCLUSION
It was my first time at this hotel. I would recommend this place to my friends and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

This was our first visit to Malaga so we had no idea what to expect. We were there as a couple to experience Malaga and do the tourism thing. We choose Tryp Alameda due to the promising reviews on Trip Advisor and upgraded to a Premium Room which I would recommend due to the little difference in cost. The rooms were spotless and very spacious and the bathrooms immaculate. The housekeeping staff were extremely thorough and the hotel staff very pleasant and helpful to us - particularly as we cannot speak Spanish!

Breakfast was included in the price every morning and I would recommend taking this - a huge selection of hot and cold options are available every morning and are regularly replenished over the hours so the same food is not lying out all morning.

The only criticism I would make is that there is no outdoor area in the hotel (no balconies or terrace) to sit out and enjoy the sunshine, and there is nowhere relaxing in the immediate area to sit out and enjoy the sun due to the high buildings, heavy traffic and roadworks. There is a gym and a bar within the hotel, although these never seemed to be staffed.

In my opinion, due to the ammenities the hotel does/does not have this hotel is far more suited to business trips and short stays, rather than a vacation to Malaga. The surrounding area is quite office/residential based although there is an absolutely fantastic shopping centre attached to the hotel which a few hours could be spent in (it is all indoors however!). If you enjoy shopping, you'll love Malaga. A huge 7 story department store (El Corte Inglis) is also only a 5 min walk away.

Location-wise, the hotel is a short 10 minute walk to the main Tourist Centre (which is well worth a visit and where we spent most of our time) and a taxi is only 6 Euros each way. Although we felt safe walking this way, it wasn't very pretty and due to the roadworks was dusty. The hotel is also by a taxi rank, and very near the bus station and rail station.

Overall the hotel was fault-less; personally however we feel we should have been based nearer the tourist centre. However in my opinion our lack of knowledge before we visited Malaga was at fault here rather than the hotel!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Premium Room - the difference in cost is not much per night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Broons B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ayrshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

Hotel was good, just a little out of the old town, a lot of busy main roads to cross. No tea/coffee facilities in room, which was a bit o a let down considering it was 4*. Smashing clean big bathroom, with soap, shower gel and hairdryer. Malaga old town was good during the day and totally buzzing at night, full of tappas bars and resturants. Not over priced as youd expect from a big city. had great w/end. Reception guy very helpful with bus and train info.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank calvinn17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

Stayed here in June when my holiday insurance company put me here due to my Mum being in the nearby hospital. Overall I was happy with my stay. Room was large, clean and kept cool with the air conditioning. They had put me in a smoking room on a smoking floor, but honestly I would never have known had they not told me.
Location was great with a large shopping centre minutes away. Pizza takeaway shop opposite hotel which you can order from your room for delivery. Taxi rank practically outside and an Internet cafe about 3 minutes walk away. Did not have breakfast or any meals in the hotel so cannot comment on them.
Overall a nice clean hotel in a good location. Would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JofromWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Perchel
Novotel Suites Malaga Centro
Barcelo Malaga
#2 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,797 reviews
Centro
Eurostars Astoria
Eurostars Astoria
#31 of 90 in Malaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mariposa Hotel Malaga
#11 of 90 in Malaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Centro
Ilunion Malaga
Ilunion Malaga
#9 of 90 in Malaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Vincci Malaga
#10 of 90 in Malaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp Malaga Alameda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Malaga Alameda Hotel

Property: Tryp Malaga Alameda Hotel
Address: Avenida Aurora 25 | Centro Comercial Larios, 29002 Malaga, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga > Prolongación de la Alameda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Malaga
#16 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
#22 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tryp Malaga Alameda Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 1999, the Tryp Alameda hotel is strategically located close to the harbor, the historical city center and the commercial & business district of Malaga. Next to the bus and AVE station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Melia, Lastminute, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tryp Malaga Alameda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Alameda Hotel Malaga
Tryp Hotel Alameda
Tryp Hotel málaga
Tryp Malaga Alameda Hotel Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing