We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad ” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tryp Malaga Alameda Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tryp Malaga Alameda Hotel
Ranked #21 of 90 Hotels in Malaga
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not bad ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 4 nights at the end of last year on a spur of the moment holiday with a friend (he was in a different hotel).

When I arrived the room they allocated me hadn't been cleaned, but they were very efficient at finding me a new room straight away. The reception staff were helpful, and we're happy to help me find out information I needed, but not as helpful as they could have been (as I felt the reception staff in my mates hotel A LOT more helpful)

The view I had of a multi storey car park was terrible!

The room itself was very spacious with a comfy bed and had a decent sized, mainly granite bathroom. The only fault I could really find with the room, which saw REALLY annoying, was that whenever you turned off the big lamp in the corner it would cut the power to the plug sockets in the room. I ended up having to leave the bathroom light on and my phone on charge in there overnight. There was air conditioning, but even on full blast you would have been better off blowing on yourself!

All in all, not a bad hotel, but I definitely don't think it warrants the 4* it currently has. I've stayed in better 3* B&B's if I'm honest.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    380
    168
    26
    9
See reviews for
106
351
45
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

We stayed at the Tryp for 5 nights at the end of February on a British Airways package which made our stay at this 4 star hotel highly affordable. This package also included breakfast and I can only say - do not miss it. It's been years since I have had such a fantastic hotel breakfast, away from Scandinavia and Eastern Europe. It is highly varied, beautifully presented and you can eat as much as you like and it will keep you going for hours. Service was exemplary and always done with a wide smile. We were initially given a very large twin room although we had booked a double. So another room was offered which was too warm for us - south facing with only warm air coming from the A/C. No problem. After one night we were given yet another large double room on the north side which turned out perfect. It faced the main road, but you could not hear a thing through two layers of double glazing. Never once were we treated like a nuisance. Rooms were spotless, beds wide and comfortable and there was lots of space for two people to sit and relax. Ample storage space too and good sized bathrooms. We would like to thank one reception staff member in particular - a lovely young woman called Lupe who was most accomodating and helpful. The hotel is only five minutes from the Coach and Rail Stations and the walk into the old centre and towards the harbour took us no more than 20 minutes. Local buses stopped outside the hotel. In all - a lovely hotel in good location. As usual, you get better value if you do not stay bang in the centre of things. Thanks, Tryp Alameda, for a great stay.

Room Tip: South facing rooms overlooking car park are probably warmer. Too warm for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhotographerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier T, Director General at Tryp Malaga Alameda Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your excellent rating.

we hope you visit us again soon.

Best Regards.

Javier Tenza
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

We picked this hotel because of its proximity to the railway and bus stations, and we were pleased we did. The staff were very friendly and helpful and spoke excellent English. The rooms are well furnished, with plenty of wardrobe space. The bathrooms are large and have all the necessary toiletries and large towels, unlike most continental hotels. The beds were a standard double, but very comfortable. The breakfasts were really good and plentiful with lots of choice. Our first room was at the back of the hotel, but it got too warm for us, and we had to open the window overnight. I asked what the problem was and was told the air conditioning doesn't cool in their winter, it only has warm and warmer! We were then moved to a room in the front of the hotel, which didn't get as much sun in the day and was absolutely fine. With the window closed we weren't disturbed by any noise from either the road out front or the car park behind. The hotel is part of the Larios Shopping Centre, which has lots of shops and fast food outlets. I would recommend the Block House restaurant, it's a little more expensive than the fast food outlets, but has excellent steaks and service. If you include all the timed road crossings there is a 10-15 minute walk to the bus and train stations. We went on the fast train to Cordoba, but booked two trips via the hotel to Gibraltar and Granada as the train or bus times weren't as convenient. These trips were with Julia travel, and, despite the bad reviews I've read about them, we were happy with the trips. Both trip pick ups were at 8.00 am and the pick up is a 10 minute walk if, again, you allow for the timed crossings. We timed a 30 minute walk into Malaga old town, but we're not fast walkers. There is also a no. 14 bus which stops near the front of the hotel, if you don't want to walk. We took the city bus tour from the station on our first day in Malaga, and it's well worth the 18 euro fare, if only for the trip up to the Moorish castle on the top of the hill overlooking Malaga. We got off there and had a look around, saving us a long climb if we had done it on foot. We booked the hotel via Melia Rewards, but the expected 10 euro spend per day didn't materialise. Although we had the receipt from Melia, we should apparently have had the offer in writing, so perhaps we didn't qualify, as we had booked it via an introductory joining offer. Not that there was much to spend it on anyway, as the mini bar fridge had very little in it. The fridge was useful though to put our purchases in from the supermarket in the shopping centre.

Room Tip: If you like a cool bedroom ask for a room at the front, alternatively, if you like it hot, ask for o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynneYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier T, Gerente at Tryp Malaga Alameda Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear traveller,

Thank you very much for your excellent opinion .

I appreciate your comments and I will share with all the staff.

Don't forget to contact us in advance and we will try to give you one of our Premiun rooms and you can try them in your future visit to Málaga.

Thank you and regards,


Javier Tenza
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

I have stayed here several times along the years when going to Malaga.

The staff is very friendly, location is good in the same building with Larios shopping centre, rooms are okay.

Nothing to complain and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vilsku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier T, Gerente at Tryp Malaga Alameda Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear client,

It is a good new to know that you feel confortable between us.
Please contact us again in your future stay to offer you a Premiun room.

Thank you very much for your comments.

Warmest regards,

Javier Tenza
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

It wasn't 5 star hotel but the service was excellent! The staff were very friendly and very helpful. Every time we ask for help they delivered it with a big smile. There was one time we lost the key for our lock so we had to find a way to break the lock. When we asked for help, the housekeeper brought every tool they had and when we finally broke the lock she was very happy for us and didn't ask for any tip when she left. (We had to ran off to catch her to give her the tip as without her help we wouldn't have our passports or money!) The location was excellent for us as it is in the mall so very convenient and it only takes 15mins to the city centre. Breakfast is reasonable but the menu didn't change for our 5 days stay. The room itself isn't anything special though.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chloe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier T, Gerente at Tryp Malaga Alameda Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear client,

These comments encourage us to continue carrying out our daily work. I wil share your opinion with all our staff.

We hope to visit us again soon and thank you very much.

Warmest regards,

Javier Tenza
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Have stayed here twice now on holiday. Very convenient for transport, shops in Malaga and walking distance to main town. Breakfast is lovely with a good selection of items for everyone. Rooms comfortable. Will consider staying again on our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
Thank kazj1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier T, Gerente at Tryp Malaga Alameda Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your opinion.

We love to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and city and please do not hesitate to come back in a near future.

Regards,

Javier Tenza
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel as part of a cruise package and only stayed 2 days. It was in a good situation connected to a large shopping mall. Staff very friendly and efficient. We arrives about 6pm, no hot drinks or food available till breakfast time. We had to go to shopping centre to get hot drinks. Had a buffet breakfast which at 7.50 euros was excellent , plenty of choice The hot water was tepid for tea at breakfast but this is of course a british thing and we were in spain so you just have to go with the flow. I would have liked a balcony but not sure if there were any, would have happily paid more for this. Just a short trip to the cruise port, 10 euros in a taxi. All in all good value hotel and spotless.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
Thank LorraineScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier T, Gerente at Tryp Malaga Alameda Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear client,

Thank you very much for your comments and I will transmit your words to my staff.

In other occassion, advise us if you are coming very early in order to prepare some hot drinks for you at arrival.

Kind regards and see you soon.

Javier Tenza
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Perchel
Novotel Suites Malaga Centro
Barcelo Malaga
#3 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,715 reviews
Centro
Eurostars Astoria
Eurostars Astoria
#26 of 90 in Malaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vincci Malaga
#14 of 90 in Malaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
Centro
Ilunion Malaga
Ilunion Malaga
#9 of 90 in Malaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Mariposa Hotel Malaga
#12 of 90 in Malaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp Malaga Alameda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Malaga Alameda Hotel

Property: Tryp Malaga Alameda Hotel
Address: Avenida Aurora 25 | Centro Comercial Larios, 29002 Malaga, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga > Prolongación de la Alameda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Malaga
#16 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
#22 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tryp Malaga Alameda Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 1999, the Tryp Alameda hotel is strategically located close to the harbor, the historical city center and the commercial & business district of Malaga. Next to the bus and AVE station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Melia, Lastminute, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and LoveHolidays so you can book your Tryp Malaga Alameda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Alameda Hotel Malaga
Tryp Hotel Alameda
Tryp Hotel málaga
Tryp Malaga Alameda Hotel Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing