We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great all round Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tryp Malaga Guadalmar Hotel
Ranked #31 of 88 Hotels in Malaga
GreenLeadersSilver level
Edenbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great all round Hotel”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Check in slow and receptionist OK however once checked in
I found the room and facilities very well maintained and clean,
well equipped bathroom and bedroom with good aircon and views of the beach.
I was on an all inclusive deal and for someone that travels 3-4 times a year I found
the restaurant service and food selection was one of the best I've seen in 4* European hotels.
The pool area was busy during the weekend with local Spanish visitors and the sunbeds were scarce however its better during the week and not overcrowded.
Pool bar was very welcome!
There was activity around the pool area during the day but no pressure to join in, music was at a comfortable level too
There is a gate to the beach and promenade however there is some building work being carried out just outside the gate which at times became noisy but not all of the time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angeldebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier T, Gerente at Tryp Malaga Guadalmar Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear guest,

I want to thank you for having chosen Tryp Guadalmar for your stay in our city.

I appreciate your consideration in sending us your personal comments.

Here is looking forward to having you as our guest again and to offer you our hospitality.


Javier Tenza
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    542
    232
    105
    65
See reviews for
345
535
42
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malaga
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

No info when checking in. No roomservice. Not allowed to take breakfast upp to the room....cheap....should have been at most a 3star hotel. To expensive for the standard you get........................

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
4 Thank Xerxes Fardid F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier T, Gerente at Tryp Malaga Guadalmar Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Google Translation
Estimado cliente,

Lamentamos no haber conseguido satisfacer sus necesidades y agradecemos su comentario que personallmente estudiaré y transmitiré a nuestro departamento de Guest Experience y poder ofrecer nuestro mejor servicio en próximas estancias.

Saludos cordiales,

Javier Tenza
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Malaga hotels

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
129 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Our family of five with three young children (ages 9, 7, 4) traveled to Spain to spend 6 days in Andalucia. We wanted a beach and a pool for the kids and were able to enjoy both of these at Tryp Guadalmar. The rooms were comfortable but not fancy. The rooms have tile floors, decent air conditioning and nice shelves in the closet to store clothes. There are no clocks in the room, and we only found one outlet to charge our devices. There is free wifi in the hotel, but when you turn a device off, you have to re-log in each time.

When we first arrived, we did not have adjoining rooms, despite our request. The hotel staff worked hard to help us out. We had two separate rooms for one night and then the next night were in the adjoining rooms we requested. The staff handled it great.

The breakfast buffet was satisfying with a good selection of Spanish breakfast items (cheeses, bread with olive oil, cheeses and ham!). We skipped lunch and dinner at the hotel, finding it less than exciting, really more of a repeat of breakfast. But there were plenty of local restaurants that served excellent alternatives!

The beach is pebbly, but at low tide the boys didn't mind at all. We rented beach chairs the last two days there and were really comfortable. My boys loved the warm pool but I enjoyed doing laps in the slightly cooler outdoor pool. Be aware there will be topless women sunbathing on the beach! This is still the Costa del Sol and my American boys were a little surprised at first. At this hotel, you have to put a deposit down on towels and don't forget to shower before you get into the pool. It's the standard in Europe. You should also bring swim caps unless you want to buy them there.

The hotel doesn't have an ATM and there isn't one in the neighborhood. We didn't learn the ride the buses but there was a stop right outside the hotel. We found some lovely places to eat within walking distance (Tick Tack, El Rincon, and Chiringuito on the beach). We rented a car and found driving around the South of Spain to be really easy and friendly. Be careful walking around the sidewalks, people don't scoop their pets' poop.

Try to learn a little Spanish before you go, it will make things easier. The hotel staff speaks some English but it's better to meet them halfway.

Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor facing the ocean. It was very nice! We were on the second floor for one nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

we stayed for 14 days and found all the staff very helpful there were always plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas at the pool area the beach is just out of the gate the breakfast offered a wide variety and covered most tastes the dinner also had a choice for everyone and the hot food was cooked while you waited if you asked there was a French tour operator on site organising games { which we found quite entertaining to watch) there is a bus outside the hotel into Malaga which is cheap and frequent overall we found the hotel to be very good for the price

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
2 Thank Michael John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier T, Gerente at Tryp Malaga Guadalmar Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear traveller,

Thank you very much for your comments.

Here is looking foward to having you as our guest again and to offer you our hospitality.

Javier Tenza
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We booked this hotel as a relaxing last night place for our trip. It has the potential - great swimming pools and easy access to two nearby beaches (walking distance). The ground floor of the hotel looks amazing - clean, sleek, modern. Unfortunately, the rooms are very dated, with floor mounted air-cons that just aren't efficient or powerful enought to work. The decor is 70s-esque, the mini-bars unstocked and the room service non-existent. The food is mass-produced and supermarket bought and we were surprised to see so many French package holiday tourists there. The food was not great at all, but the little cafe on the beach in front of the hotel is reasonably priced and makes very tasty seafood. Unfortunately, the gate that allows you access from the hotel grounds to the beach closes completely at 10pm, making you walk all the way around the hotel to gain access again. This is despite the gate having an access code keypad that you would think would enable it to be accessible at all hours. Stay here if you want everything done for you and don't want to see Spain proper. Don't if you're more adventurous.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerCD1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier T, Gerente at Tryp Malaga Guadalmar Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear traveller,

Every comment we receive is invaluable for us and my staff works daily for our passionate clients. We are sorry that your perception has been different this time and I would invite you to visit us again and contact with me in a near future.

Warmest regards,

Javier Tenza
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Have stayed here on many occasions whilst flying in and out of Malaga. On each occasion the hotel has spent money on providing upgraded services which is great to see. The rooms are fine, the hotel is always spotless and the breakfast options are really good. First class swimming pool and right next to the beach. The Sevando chiringuito right outside the back door serves amazing fish and they are building a brand new state of the art next door. Finally so close to the airport which is so handy.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier T, Gerente at Tryp Malaga Guadalmar Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all I want to thank you for having chosen Tryp Guadalmar for your stay in our city.

I appreciate your comments which are invaluable help in order to achieve a higher satisfaction level for all our guests.

Here is looking forward to having you as our guest again and to offer you our hospitality.


Javier Tenza
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalkeith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We booked this hotel last year and we were taken by the reviews of past guests and the pictures of the hotel. The hotel we can't fault, it's beautiful, amazing grounds, lovely rooms, well kept and great room service. We did think we were in France rather than Spain as the entertainment was geared towards the French, nobody else got a look in. This leads me on to the restaurant. When we we arrived and went down for our first breakfast, we thought yes, this is great, full on selection of continental and cooked, bread's, etc. Came to evening, hot plated were cold, we complained, took away our plates, but nothing was done with the food still sitting on the buffet, We were half board, ended up going out for dinner to either Malaga or Torremolinos, very disappointed, as we were so looking forward to our trip. The couple of times we ate in the the restaurant in the evening when the food was cold, we did complain, but it fell on deaf ears, it was like they knew it was happening, we would go up to the grill were the chefs were cooking, and if they already had cooked meats and they were sitting waiting they would expect you take them rather than wait on the fresher more hotter food being prepared to be eaten first rather than taking the colder food lying for god knows how long. Anyway, even after complaining that the food was cold, the staff were really not that bothered and this highlighted that this is probably a factor that has been brought up in the past but nothing has been done to address it. When we checked out on the morning of our departure, we thought, OK, this will be the time we can state our opinion, but no, we were only advised our invoice was clear and that was that, nothing was asked as to whether we had a good stay or anything. so. after a good long blow hard blast of steam, nice hotel, comfortable rooms, fabulous, location on the beach, very quiet, and if you want to be French and not Spanish, then this is the hotel for you, food is dire to say the least, sorry guy's, you have let me down

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cha-Cha-G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Barcelo Malaga
#2 of 88 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,858 reviews
Vincci Malaga
#10 of 88 in Malaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Malaga Hotel Picasso
#23 of 88 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Ilunion Malaga
Ilunion Malaga
#8 of 88 in Malaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Prolongación de la Alameda
Tryp Malaga Alameda Hotel
Perchel
Salles Hotel Malaga Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp Malaga Guadalmar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Malaga Guadalmar Hotel

Property: Tryp Malaga Guadalmar Hotel
Address: Moby Dick, 2 | Urbanizacion Guadalmar, 29004 Malaga, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Malaga
#20 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tryp Malaga Guadalmar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tryp Guadalmar hotel is placed right alongside of the beach, facing the sea. Just ideal for combining business and leisure. Only 2 km from the Plaza Mayor with its leisure activities, 3 km from the airport of Málaga (Pablo Picasso) and 6 km from Malaga away. Close to various golf courses as well as the Malaga & Torremolinos Convention Centre. Furthermore, the hotel is the perfect starting point for getting to know Granada, Seville, Cadiz and Cardoba ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Priceline, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Melia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tryp Malaga Guadalmar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Guadalmar Hotel Malaga
Tryp Hotel Guadalmar
Tryp Hotel málaga
Tryp Malaga Guadalmar Hotel Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing