We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed my stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tryp Malaga Guadalmar Hotel
Ranked #33 of 87 Hotels in Malaga
GreenLeadersSilver level
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Enjoyed my stay here”
Reviewed 3 May 2009

i stayed here for 4 nights, a mix of business and pleasure. Hotel is less than 10 mins in a taxi from the hotel. It will cost you 20 euros which is a rip off but that's the minimum charge. The lobby is lovely and spacious and I found the check in easy. The comments about poor customer service i found to be very wide of the mark as on the couple of occasions i had to ask for some advice i found everyone on reception to be most helpful. The rooms were spacious and had facilities expected from a 4* hotel. the grounds are lovely and well kept and I enjoyed relaxing in the sunshine on the loungers most days! didn't try the pool but saw others use it. The view from my room was splendid (i was looking east towards malaga) I wAs not bothered at all with aircraft noise but the flight path was on the other side of the hotel......but be aware as Malaga airport is a busy place there are flights every 2 minutes!!!! There is a local bus (number 10) which departs from outside the hotel going to malaga and takes about 40 minutes, it costs 1 euro10 oneway. There is also a massive shopping complex going the other way on the bus called plaza major.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fussyfiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    327
    556
    247
    106
    69
See reviews for
362
553
45
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cork ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2009

Described on the booking engine we used as 4 star hotel, this was big disappointment because of the food. Breakfast was good, but the lunch menu and dinner menu were the same and totally unimaginative. Grilled chicken, steak or swordfish was the main choice for a full meal (not counting fast food such as toasted sandwiches, pizza etc), none of which were served with any nice garnish ....sauce....or flavour! A restaurant across the road - no more than a beach side shack - had tempted us for lunch and we kicked ourselves for not going there instead - it can't have been worse.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDMpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
1 review
Reviewed 3 March 2009

We stayed for four nights in this hotel and experienced a total lack of interest from staff to make our stay a pleasant one.They appeared to completely ignore the fact that they had guests staying in the hotel. The main restaurant was only open for breakfast with a few tables set up in the bar area during the evening. There was a very limited menu and consequently they had run out of some items when we ate in the bar area on the first evening.
This hotel is situated in a residential area which only has one bar,one Spanish and one Italian restaurant within walking distance. As the hotel was fairly full during our four day stay the two local restaurants did seem to struggle with guests trying to eat in their establishments in the evenings.
I can thoroughly recommend the Frascati Pizzeria-Cafeteria whose staff went out of their way to make us welcome.Try the home made tiramisu it was fantastic.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Malaga hotels

Hertfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2009

Stayed here 2 nights when flight to UK was cancelled due to heavy snow in UK. First impressions very good. Reception rooms, and bedroom were spacious and well furnished. Price was reasonable and breakfast, which was included, was good.

Internet access costs 3 euros for one hour and is NOT linked to a printer! (?). Reception staff disinterested, and unable to offer a solution. Reception staff also advised us that there was no cash machine, or facilities for obtaining cash in the hotel. The young man advised us that the nearest cash machine was a 10 euro taxi ride away. We just had enough money for the taxi, went to the machine, and took a taxi back to the hotel. Found two bars nearby, and ate and drank there. People we met said that hotel drinks were very expensive, and that they should have told us about the cash machine a few streets away!

Area is residential only, with some very large houses in own grounds, and populated almost exclusively by Spanish residents.

Hotel had no information leaflets, brochures, or folders, not even of the hotel itself. Staff did not seem able, or willing, to advise on what to do, or where to go, or how to get there.

Would only use this hotel for one night as a convenience for the airport, but yes, taxis for the 5 minute drive to the airport ARE a rip-off.

  • Liked — Spacious, nicely furnished, 5 minutes drive from Malaga airport.
  • Disliked — Hardly any facilities in the area, staff polite but disinterested, no information on anything.
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LarnaHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moron de la Frontera
1 review
Reviewed 2 February 2009

Trying to escape the rain and gloom of winter weather, we booked an overnight stay at the Tryp Guadlamar in Malaga. The beach was sunny and bright and we had a lovely room, even though it was supposed to be a full ocean view, and was not. We arrived and enjoyed the most of the first day walking on the beach. We stopped by the bar and asked for drinks that were quite possibly the worst mixed drinks we had ever tasted. Our dinner there later on, was a redeeming factor, however since it was quite good. Visiting in the off-season, there were very few guests in the hotel and we were beginning to enjoy the visit but had a few bad things happen. For one, the television in the room had a list of channels that you could get in English, however, the remote control did not have any menu or info buttons. Upon asking at the front desk, a young man came to the room and informed us that the television in our room was "not equipped to get the English channels". So we opted for hot baths and to go to bed early. That was relaxing until around 1:00am, when the hotel checked in a busload of tourists who were quite boisterous! Even though there were virtually 95% or better of the rooms vacant, they chose to put these people into the rooms on either side of our own room. They were very loud, yelling to each other down the hallways, scraping furniture around in the rooms, loud laughter and music, making it impossible to sleep. I called the front desk to complain and ask if they could do something and was very rudely told, "They have just checked in, they will settle down in a while. Don't worry about it. I will send someone up later to check on them." None of which ever happened. The tourists apparantly just needed a place to party until their bus left the following morning and we were left to suffer a sleepless night while they yelled and talked the night away. The following morning they apparantly left. We decided to check out early and go home, not as rested as we had hoped to be. When we started downstairs, the power went off in the hotel. We got to the front desk to check out and the clerk said that all of the computers were down and wanted to know if we were in a hurry, that we should stay until the power came back on... which could have taken all day...we did not want to stay longer. When I asked if we could fill out a comment card and told him about the bad experience from the previous night, he said that the cards were in the rooms, but we did not have one, as I had looked for one. He said he didn't have a comment card to give me. I felt that although he was very polite, that he was not interested in whether we had an enjoyable stay or not. Overall, I would have to say that I wish we had just gone down to the beach for the day and came on home instead of staying over at the hotel. I think they need to do a better job of training their front desk personnel in placing guests in the rooms to accommodate their guests who are trying to enjoy a peaceful visit. Not everyone at the beach is there to party!! I cannot say that I would recommend this particular hotel to anyone.

  • Liked — Large beautiful room
  • Disliked — Personnel not trained well, and not interested in assisting guests with problems
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelinSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2008

We stayed here for two nights in October. The hotel was above average- it was clean and it was comfortable. it was not very busy however and many things were closed during the day. The beach that it is on is not very nice and the hotel is difficult to get to (15euro cab from downtown, or 45 minute bus). The bus station is however right outside the hotel wheich made it way more accessible.
As there was little-nothing to do in Guadalmar I'd have to recommend you don't stay here unless you have a car.

  • Liked — the view from our room
  • Disliked — it's proximity to other things
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jac2028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 September 2008

My fiance and I chose this hotel due to a combination of the facilities and vicinity to beach and airport... we stayed 5 nights early September 2008.

Overall, the hotel was excellent, beautiful and large lobby, cool air conditioning, large room. Superb breakfast which we got included in our room price making it even better value - excellent choice of pastries, breads, meats, cheeses, fruit, cereals yogurt etc plus espresso coffee and several fruit juices. Fantastic!

Great room/cleaning service with big fluffy towels.

Great hotel outdoor pool with loads of loungers. We did go at a quieter time of year so it was ideal as we never had to fight for a space. Literally on the beach front. Offered free tennis courts (also a gym but we didnt use it). 2 great cheap restaurants right on the beach and also a hotel restaurant (that we didnt go to so cant comment). A small supermarket within 2 min walk for all the other things you need.

10 min bus ride from Plaza Mayor - huge foodhall/restaurants/mall area. Decathlon also near by.

40 min on the bus (for only 1 euro) to Malaga - though due to road works I think this would usually only take 20 min. They are currently buidling a Metro in Malaga.

Malaga is a beautiful city with amazing views/history and great shopping as well as restaurants.

Very friendly hotel cleaning staff

We were overall very impressed with our stay.

The only niggles were (for us):

- slightly firm beds - though we did get two beds!
- room had no tea/coffee making facilities (though thats prob an american/british thing)
- air con quite noisy (but such a lifesaver for sleeping at night)
- reception staff not overly friendly and lacked information about local services like the bus timetable, what to do etc. On the other hand, the other staff (breakfast and cleaners) were lovely.
- taxis to/from airport a RIP OFF! We got charged 18 Euro on the way to the hotel and 14 Euro on the way back - its only a 5 min journey!!
- there is supposedly a bus service to the airport but it does not go straight to the airport. the bus service was a bit odd (could be due to road works) and the bus stop for Plaza Mayor was right by the motorway! It would be good, when they finish the road works off
- distance to Malaga city - you could take a taxi in about 20 min but we were trying to stay in a budget and bus took 40 minutes... however the hotel is nice enough to spend all day there, as we did on several days.

We would rec you consider hiring a car (but dont park in the hotel carpark cos it costed 14 Euro per day!).

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — lack of helpful information/maps/pamphlets from hotel staff/lobby
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank vero99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Barcelo Malaga
#3 of 87 in Malaga
2,955 reviews
Vincci Malaga
#9 of 87 in Malaga
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Ilunion Malaga
Ilunion Malaga
#8 of 87 in Malaga
451 reviews
Perchel
Salles Hotel Malaga Centro
Parador de Malaga Golf
#19 of 87 in Malaga
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp Malaga Guadalmar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Malaga Guadalmar Hotel

Property: Tryp Malaga Guadalmar Hotel
Address: Moby Dick, 2 | Urbanizacion Guadalmar, 29004 Malaga, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Malaga
#20 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tryp Malaga Guadalmar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tryp Guadalmar hotel is placed right alongside of the beach, facing the sea. Just ideal for combining business and leisure. Only 2 km from the Plaza Mayor with its leisure activities, 3 km from the airport of Málaga (Pablo Picasso) and 6 km from Malaga away. Close to various golf courses as well as the Malaga & Torremolinos Convention Centre. Furthermore, the hotel is the perfect starting point for getting to know Granada, Seville, Cadiz and Cardoba ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Melia, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tryp Malaga Guadalmar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Guadalmar Hotel Malaga
Tryp Hotel Guadalmar
Tryp Hotel málaga
Tryp Malaga Guadalmar Hotel Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing