We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot to stay before flying home!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tryp Malaga Guadalmar Hotel
Ranked #32 of 88 Hotels in Malaga
GreenLeadersSilver level
new york
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great spot to stay before flying home!”
Reviewed 27 September 2010

We had a great stay on our last night of our vacation before flying home. Very close to the hotel but remote enough to enjoy the beach, outdoor pool and dinner on the beach. Good price and nice service! I would return!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgeek3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    551
    240
    106
    67
See reviews for
352
545
44
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2010

Me, my husband and 3 year old son stayed here for 3 days and 2 nights after a disastrous trip to Corfu where it rained non-stop, so we left Greece and went to Malaga. When we arrived no-one offered to help with the luggage and we thought it was just us but this was the norm as the only staff are behind the reception. The room overlooked the beach and had a bunk bed and 2 medium sized beds. The fridge didn't work but that was quickly repaired. We found it strange there was no iron but neither was there one in Corfu. You have to ask housekeeping to do the ironing which you obviously have to pay for. Breakfast and lunch is really, really good and reasonably priced. We wanted a late checkout and were only charged an extra 45 euros. There is a wonderful beach restaurant serving the best seafood we've ever tasted and you access it from the back gate of the hotel which leads on to the promenade. Will be paying this hotel another visit in May.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackjacklondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2010

We(2 adults and 2 children(aged 6 and 3) stayed at the Tryp Guadalmar in July 2010. Good hotel, decent sized family rooms, conveniently located just 10 minutes drive from the airport and literally on the beach. Pool area and grounds well maintained with plenty of beds / shade. Didn't go the the beach that often but again plenty of beds available and couple of beach side restaurants which were good value. There was a limited kids club in the hotel but we didn't use as it was primarily oriented towards Spansh kids. Majority of guests were Spanish families. Buffet Breakfast was good with buffet dinner in the evenng which we had on one occasion and was average. Had a car hired for the week and the hotel is convenient for visiting all resorts along the Costa de Sol. There appeared to be no issue with taxis as there was always availability at the hotel itself. The hotel is in a residential area so it's necessary to travel outside the immediate area for entertainment. Overall impression is of a good hotel, recommended and ideal for a quite relaxing break.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hennessy1403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2010

Stayed here the first night we were in Andalucia due to its closeness to the airport. This hotel is directly on the beach and was the only one we stayed at that had their pool open at the end of May. The room was spacious, however the beds were very hard. Found a beach restaurant just outside the hotel gates for dinner. We had a car so didnt worry about location to shopping. The receptionists spoke enough english to communicate. However, check out was a bit chaotic and service was very slow. I left something in the room and was able to retrieve it a week later, so am appreciative of housekeeping. The biggest downside was no free wireless. I would likely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NS66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
106 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2010

The hotel is very basic, but its location is great, next to a huge beach (one of the last areas of the Costa del Sol which has been kept somehow undeveloped) and very close to downtown Málaga and the airport (although it is not easy to find when you are coming from the airport"). The beach is so big that there is a "family" area (close to the hotel); a gay and nudist area (in the area just below the golf course); and a kytesurf area. In addition, parking for guests is free (this is really important, because in the area it can be difficult to find parking areas during summer time and weekends).

Rooms are big, all have sea views and have anything you would expect at the beach. However, there are some negative aspects: pool towels (you have to get up early to get one at the gym...if not, you will end up at the pool or the beach with one of your white bath towels"); dinner (run away from the hotel for dinner...it is extremely basic and with low quality food...have dinner somewhere else! on the other hand, breakfast is good, but the breakfast room get crowded and rowdy!); service at the restaurant (it could be so much better with just a little of effort!).

If you want to spend some days at the beach, close to the airport, at a good and basic hotel, this is your place!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanarioViajero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
1 review
Reviewed 8 June 2010

The hotel was very clean and well decorated. Our room was spacious and had a great view out to the ocean. The staff was very courteous and helpful. The only thing was that to get to town by taxi was a expensive. This hotel is very comfortable and had a good breakfast. I will return soon!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Surfmomie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East England
Level Contributor
67 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2010

This is a very smart hotel. Our room was very nice with a view over the sea front.
The public areas were attractive - and the breakfast was very good, with a choice of food for various diets, including vegetarian.
Staff were efficient and attentive.
The only drawback was the distance from Malaga city centre - a 7 or 8 minute taxi ride at a cost of 12 - 14 Euros and the taxi trip from the airport - about 5 minutes - costs 40 Euros, that's the minimum fee charged by vehicles at the airport.
The price for the hotel was 73 Euros for two including breakfast - booked through laterooms.com. That, I thought, was a good deal, but the four taxis we used cost 5 Euros more than that!!! Perhaps the hotel should be looking at ways to offer transport at a fair price?

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JM-IM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Barcelo Malaga
#3 of 88 in Malaga
2,917 reviews
Vincci Malaga
#11 of 88 in Malaga
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Ilunion Malaga
Ilunion Malaga
#8 of 88 in Malaga
437 reviews
Perchel
Salles Hotel Malaga Centro
Prolongación de la Alameda
Tryp Malaga Alameda Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp Malaga Guadalmar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Malaga Guadalmar Hotel

Property: Tryp Malaga Guadalmar Hotel
Address: Moby Dick, 2 | Urbanizacion Guadalmar, 29004 Malaga, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Malaga
#20 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tryp Malaga Guadalmar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tryp Guadalmar hotel is placed right alongside of the beach, facing the sea. Just ideal for combining business and leisure. Only 2 km from the Plaza Mayor with its leisure activities, 3 km from the airport of Málaga (Pablo Picasso) and 6 km from Malaga away. Close to various golf courses as well as the Malaga & Torremolinos Convention Centre. Furthermore, the hotel is the perfect starting point for getting to know Granada, Seville, Cadiz and Cardoba ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Melia, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Tryp Malaga Guadalmar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Guadalmar Hotel Malaga
Tryp Hotel Guadalmar
Tryp Hotel málaga
Tryp Malaga Guadalmar Hotel Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing