We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location - a short walk to old city and shops”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
AC Hotel Malaga Palacio
Ranked #8 of 90 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great Location - a short walk to old city and shops”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Very centrally location - wall to main sights great restaurants and shops nearby.....The staff are not always as friendly as one can hope for when you arrive at the hotel.

I stayed there as I wanted a pool, a little disappointed very very small - but it does the trick in the heat

Its a pretty good hotel = nothing to rave home about

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AC_MAP, Gerente at AC Hotel Malaga Palacio, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Dear guest,

Firstly, thanks a lot for taking your time writing your opinion about our property.
We are pleased you have enjoyed our central location and the amazing views our clients can find in AC Hotel Malaga Palacio. We are really sorry related you comments of the staff. If you could pleased remember the name of the person served you, we will be pleased in remind him or her our standard levels of quality and service.
We are really sorry about your expectations related our roof swimming pool. AC Malaga Palacio Hotel offer or clients an amazing roof with views to the harbour and our wellkown swimming pool but it is true, there is not an olympic swiming pool due its placement on our roof on a city center building.
Thanks a lot for all your comments that make us improve every day.
We are looking forward to hearing from you in the future.
Thanks and regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,014 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    799
    864
    242
    57
    52
See reviews for
271
948
83
298
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Location - Good location in centre of Malaga close to shopping and old town area. Close to bus stop for Airport express bus, 5 mins walk to local train station that connects Malaga to Fuengirola, 15 min walk to main railway and bus stations, these can be accessed via. local train line one stop along.
Reception/Check in - 6 steep stairs at entry, but the man on the door did offer to carry case up these stairs, probably in response to previous review. The reception area is small in proportion to the hotel and when we arrived one person was giving a media interview 6 young people were waiting at the top of the stairs 2 couples were checking in and it was bordering on the chaotic, would not like to see it when it is busy. The rest of the ground floor, lounge library was spacious.
There are 3 main lifts and a further one in a side room/area not sure where that one goes, the main lifts are small and you would be lucky to fit 3 in with luggage. They also seemed to be stuck on the top floor, which I brought to the attention of the reception one evening without any real resolution. I am of the opinion are for some reason at least one lift was being held on the top floor almost permanently. Anyway I do not like having to wait 5 mins for a lift and having it stop every floor as the other lifts are not effectively in use.
Room - we had a standard double with balcony on 3rd floor, room was nice as was bathroom boutique style, the bed was comfortable and the mini bar was complimentary. The balcony was a reasonable size, but no seats on it. I was expecting some road noise, but it was more than that the traffic noise, horns people shouting was very loud, and at 6.30am on our final morning I could hear the noise of the horses shoes pulling one of the carriages that take tourists around Malaga, clearly getting best position for the main day of Easter celebrations. If you can hear that the double glazing is clearly inadequate.
Other facilities - fitness room on 3rd floor reasonable, has some machines, loose dumbells and extra water in fridge when training. roof terrace has cafe/bar some seats and a small plunge pool, but has excellent views of Malaga.
Breakfast - average, reasonable selection, not many cereals couldnt see any dried fruit and the coffee was poor, which is unforgivable as Malaga is a excellent place for coffee, this breakfast actually was not as good as the small 20 room hotel we had just stayed at in Nerja.
Not entirely sure I would recommend this hotel, needs to sort out a few issues.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Superb12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AC_MAP, Gerente at AC Hotel Malaga Palacio, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Dear guest,

Thanks a lot for taking your time in comment your stay with us. We are really sorry about your feeling relating our staff. We offer our clients bellboys to help them with the bags and cars.
Related the elevators, we are pleased to inform you we offer 4 elevators, 3 of them at the hall and the third one near the reception desk. This last one shows that this elevator goes from third floor till thirteenth. When the elevators stop on a floor is due somebody has called them.
Related to the furnitures on the balcony, we are pleased to inform you we offer our clients room with extra charge with furnitures on the terraze.
In the other hand, your stay coincided with our Holy Week and this is a special period of fair and special events in Malaga. This is the reason these extra noises that normally are not taking place.
Our clients can find in the gym some machines such us bikes, elliptical bikes, ...and there is a free minibar with water and fruit.
Our breakfast buffet offers 5 different types of cereals, 3 types of prepared fruit and different seasonal fruit. We have also different types of coffee. We also offer Nespresso Cafe Machine and american coffee pots. We have also Expresso coffee under request.
We will be pleased in having you again in the hotel
Thanks and regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northeast
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

Very attractive and comfortable hotel in great location on the edge of the old city centre where you can walk to Picasso Museum, etc. Nice views of Med. Sea. The only drawbacks were that the wifi did not work at all and apparently is not free in the rooms anyway, which it is advertised as being. I also thought they should have coffee or tea complimentary in the rooms which most hotels at this level provide.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zarin22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AC_MAP, Gerente at AC Hotel Malaga Palacio, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Dear guests,

Firstly, thanks for your lovely words related our central situation. We are really sorry about the Internet problems. Ac Hotel Malaga Palacio offers free internet conexion for guests on the library and internet conexion in rooms. We are always pleased, in case of Internet error or failure, in offering our computers to your use for example to print boarding pass...
Related to the coffea and tea facilities in the rooms we are pleased to inform you the hotel has these facilities in our special Junior suites and suites.
We are looking forward to seeing you again in the hotel.
Thanks and regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
184 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

We arrived late in town during Holy Week (without a reservation) and were forced to book a room in this expensive hotel. Despite the high cost (200 euros), it proved to be a wonderful experience. Rooms were extremely nice with great views of either the cathedral or the coast (comment about the lack of furniture from other reviewer is quite true). But the highlight, by far, was the rooftop pool and patio with absolutely stunning views of the town, coast, and countryside.

Room Tip: Decide if you'd like a view of the cathedral or the coast. Both were noisy because of the Holy W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AC_MAP, Gerente at AC Hotel Malaga Palacio, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Dear guest,

Firstly thanks a lot for your words. We are proud of them. We are pleased to inform you that your stay coincided with our High Season, Holy Week. This is the reason of the different rate. Those rates are not higher than years before, and also for clients who stay with us some days we offered different promotions to get a better rate. For next time, please, call us in advance and we will be able of offering differents rates and promotions. We always offer our best rates!.
We are looking forward to seeing you again with us.
Thanks and regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed here recently for a few days. The hotel is very nice and in a great location. The only disappointment which lets the hotel down is the lack of table and chairs for the balcony of rooms. Most tourists like to sit on their balcony either first thing in the morning or at some other time. There are no furniture on all the balconies, and it appears that quite a few guests have commented on this, but the manager has not taken not of. Would not come back to this hotel for this reason.

Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Binky01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AC_MAP, Gerente at AC Hotel Malaga Palacio, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Dear guest,

Firstly, thanks a lot for sharing with us your feelings related our porperty. We are pleased to inform you that our clients can find comfortable furniture on the balconies of the superior views with sea view, on the special junior suites and our suites.
This type of attentions as furnitures on the terrace are a added value for our clients.
Please note that for your future stay with us we will be pleased in offering you one of these types of rooms to make your stay with us more comfortable.
Thanks and regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skanderborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

We only stayed one night. The hotel isn’t new but well-maintained. The location is excellent near the cathedral in the city center and from our room a lovely harbor view. From the airport you can take bus line A to a bus stop right outside the hotel. The room had a balcony, a spacious double bed, Wi-Fi, free minibar and a big well-equipped bathroom. Coffee/tea facilities and a safe-box in the room would be a good improvement.
Don’t choose the hotel for the breakfast. It’s of average quality and overpriced.
The staff is helpful and speaks fluently English.
The breakfast, missing coffee/tea facilities and safe-box in the room is why I end on 4 stars instead of 5.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TEKnudsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AC_MAP, Gerente at AC Hotel Malaga Palacio, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Dear guests,

Thanks a lot for your lovely words related our property. We are pleased to inform you that our clients can find terrace furnitures in superior rooms with sea views, and in our special junior suites and suites. Our hotel has been frequently refurbished so all our furnitures and environments are according to the AC by Marriott Standards of quality.
Our breakfast offers coffee makers, for tea, different types of coffee ...or our clients can be served by our staff. Also our special Junior suites and suites offer /tea and coffee facilities.
All our clients can request a safety box at the reception desk. Our safety boxes are placed on a 24 hours securised by CCTV room for security reasons.
AC Hotel Málaga Palacio is a 4 star hotel and we carry all the 4 star hotel standards out.
We will be pleased in having you again with us.
Thanks and regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

This hotel was located right next to the Cathedral and all the tourist sights and public transport links. There was a rooftop bar with great views and a swimming pool which unfortunately sounds better and looks better in the photos than in person! It wasn't private enough and so we didn't use it during our stay. The room was average. It was clean enough but the pictures on the wall were torn and faded and had no association with the city. Perhaps a Picasso print would have been more appropriate. I would however recommend for the location alone.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ParmaViolet01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AC_MAP, Gerente at AC Hotel Malaga Palacio, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Dear guests,

Thanks a lot for show your feelings related our hotel that make us improve eveyday.
We are pleased to inform you that as you mentioned, our roof is highly visited by hotel clients because of the high quality level of our restaurant Atico and the amazing views from the roof to the Malaga Harbour.
Related the cleanliness in rooms, we want to inform you that the hotel follows the high standard levels of quality imposed by AC by Marriott.
We would be pleased in having Picasso´s pictures on the room walls but there are special royalties that make it impossible.
We will take into account all your comments to become better everyday.
We are pleased in having you again in the hotel.
Thanks and regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Centro
Hotel Molina Lario
Hotel Molina Lario
#3 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,813 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Barcelo Malaga
#2 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Room Mate Larios
#4 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel Malaga Palacio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Malaga Palacio

Property: AC Hotel Malaga Palacio
Address: Calle Cortina del Muelle 1, 29015 Malaga, Spain (Formerly AC Hotel Malaga Palacio by Marriott)
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Malaga
#8 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
#11 Family Hotel in Malaga
#15 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Malaga Palacio 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Hotel Residencia in city center, overlooking harbor; near Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Marriott, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your AC Hotel Malaga Palacio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Hotels málaga
Ac Hotel málaga
AC Hotel Malaga Palacio Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing