We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for Malaga”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
AC Hotel Malaga Palacio
Ranked #15 of 89 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Excellent location, next to Malaga's cathedral and in the historic centre. Close to the beach too (15 minutes' walk). We stayed in a junior suite (room 1009) which was spacious (separate living and vedroom) and had excellent harbour and sea views. Free minibar. Wifi was free in junior suite (not in regular rooms) but did not work on iPad and iPhone (did work on PC). A big downside was that the airco was not powerfull enough to keep the rooms cold at night. Combined with uncomfortable cushions, this led to a few sleepless hours. Breakfast was fine, nice selection with delicious fresh OJ. The rooftop bar (also accessible to non-guests) has good food and drinks. A sundowner is recommended: the views of the cathedral, sea and mountain scape are very impressive and probably the best in Malaga.

Room Tip: The higher the better given that busy street in front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nucool24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AC_MAP, Gerente at AC Hotel Malaga Palacio, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2012

Dear guest,

We are pleased you have enjoyed your stay in AC Hotel Malaga Palacio. We inform you the conexion with Ipad / Ipod is available and in case you have any conexion problem the staff would be greatfull in help you.
Related the air conditioner has been checked by our maintenace department an it is working properly. In the other hand, our mattress and cushions are provided by our brand and they are highly known by high level of quality. We have also a cushions menu for clients under request.
We will be pleased in having you again in the hotel.
Thanks and regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

983 - 989 of 2,242 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2012

As a Marriott employee we stayed in the hotel for 7 nights. We know all Marriott brand standards, so we could compare AC to different Marriott chain hotels.
Perfect location, close to all main amenities, excellent rooftop pool with stunning view of the city, trendy bar at night.
Room was very modern, spacious and spotless clean with fully stocked mini bar- lovely touch. Very comfortable bed, bathroom was quite nice.
Nice restaurant, breakfast was very good, good range of breakfast options, there was lots of choice including Spanish tortilla.
Nice restaurant on the top floor.
Staff was nice, polite and very helpful.
Free internet in the library.
Fabulous place from the moment you walk throught the door.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SylwiaScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AC_MAP, Gerente at AC Hotel Malaga Palacio, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2012

Dear guest,

We are pleased you have enjoyed your stay with us and we will be pleased in having you again in the hotel.
Thanks and regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

I am giving the average rating to AC Malaga Palacio because some issues that I did not experience in an other hotel.
I stayed in from 8/21 to 8/25 - 2012....checking in was ok despite the attitude of the woman at from desk, when I asked if the room has a queen size bed and view as previouslly requested, she replied, "yes, yes queen bed, view, nothing wrong with the room it's perfect". I said "well I have to see the room first and then will say if it's perfect" (w/ smile, I was joking - all in spanish) her co-worker (male) said "what" then she said very serious "I am not laying to you, the room it's perfect" oooooh wow...WELCOME TO AC HOTELS IN MALAGA.
The room on the 4th floor was fine, confortable, clean, nice bathroom, furniture, flat tv etc....everything fine...despite the ugly color in one of the walls dark (gray-green), bad pictures frames (none art in it) on walls, very old dirty curtains in need of change or clean and last the glass door and window to the balcony NOT SOUND PROOF.......but I was ok w/ that.
My room, 4th floor above the shiping and reciving area during day and garbage collection at night was noisy.... (3 to 6) floors are none smoking, (7 to 10) smoking and above 10 ocean view suplement of 25 euros; so I stayed in my noisy room and I got used to it.

*The breakfast was very good, food selection and nice servise from wait-staff.
*The restaurant is very nice on the 15th floor, has a beautifull view of the city; food it's good and againg nice service from the wait-staff very nice!
*The bar at night, in the same area of the restaurant offer music and drinks in nice setting around the pool. and good service from wait-staff.
Don't get me wrong although I had issues w/ front desk and the room I got,.. this is a very nice hotel beautifull building w/ retro 50's 60's look decor in comun areas, nice lounge and excellent location.
I will recommended this hotel to any one and most like it I will return (because I have a Mirriott account)
But if you like great customers service for what you pay from begining to end there are other choices.

Pros...Location, facilities, pool, big rooms, very good brakfast, restaurant and good wait-staff
Cons....No safe in rooms, some rooms in need of nice decor, front-desk old-timers w/ attitudes,
disorganize check-out. no attendant at pool side

Room Tip: Higher floors less noise but more expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ARMNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AC_MAP, Gerente at AC Hotel Malaga Palacio, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2012

Thanks a lot for taking your time in sharing your experience with us.

We are really sorry for the inconvenience caused at the check in. Our hotel has a minimalist and functional decoration as all hotels in the chain AC by Marriott. Last reformation was in 2009 and we make differents improvements every year.

Concerning rooms, the hotel has rooms quieter in the other side of the building and we have smoking rooms in order to the Spanish Law.

Our aim is your satisfaction, so do not hesitate in coming back to the hotel and informing us about all your comments related our services and facilities that make us better everyday and give us the best oppotunity to be your reference hotel in Malaga.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

No other hotel in Malaga can beat the location of this hotel. It is located next to the cathedral and within walking distance to everything else interesting in Malaga (except the castle Gibralfaro).
The service was excellent, the rooms were spacious with free minibar which was great but unfortunately was not refilled daily during my whole week stay even though I only drank mineral water (drinking from tap is not advised in Spain).
I didn't try the restaurant (apart from decent breakfast) as I ended up eating out with colleagues every night (The chinese wok restaurant in the same building was quite good). Didn't try the pool either, so can't comment on it or the poolside bar.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melintir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AC_MAP, Gerente at AC Hotel Malaga Palacio, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2012

Firstly we want to thank you for your comments.

We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Please, our aim is your satisfaction, so do not hesitate in coming back to the hotel and informing us about all your comments related our services and facilities, that make us better everyday and give us the best opportunity to be your reference hotel in Malaga.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Great Hotel near the center of the city. Staff was very helpful yet overwhelmed by the amount of customers. It is non stop which should say something of it's reputation. Fully stocked mini fridge free with the room. Nice resturant on the top floor next to the pool. The view is quite nice. Very comfortable beds as Marriott is known for. Within walking distance of many great resturants and city sites.

Room Tip: There is noparking nearby, However the AC Marriott has a Valet service that charges a daily rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kbl797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AC_MAP, Gerente at AC Hotel Malaga Palacio, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2012

Dear guest,

We are pleased you have enjoyed your stay with us and we will be pleased in seeing you in the future again.
Thanks and regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Nice hotel just in the site of the cathedral. Nice room and bathroom, excellent breakfast. good view from the roof.
Not so great the pool on the roof and quite slow staff (it is frequent in Andalusia).

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pozzo82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AC_MAP, Gerente at AC Hotel Malaga Palacio, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2012

Dear guests,

We are pleased you have enjoyed your stay with us and we are really sorry about your feeling in the roof. We have a swimming pool area on the roof and a restaurant and bar area with part of our staff working in those points.
We will be pleased in having you again in the hotel.
Thanks and regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Good Points - great staff, very helpful, rooms were large, well equipped and clean. The rooftop bar is lovely, with great views over the city.

Bad Points - public areas were a bt whiffy, might have had blocked drains. Our room was next to the lift, which was very noisy. The gym is very small, and the equipment is shabby, the running machine was an accident waiting to happen! despite this, the basics (i.e. clean, comfortable room etc) were very good, hence the rating

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AC_MAP, Gerente at AC Hotel Malaga Palacio, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2012

Dear guest,

We are pleased about your comments. Related the elevators we inform you we have 4 elevators working 24 hours for guests and we would have been pleased if you had informed us about the problme in your bathroom to offer another room.
We will be pleased in having you again in the hotel
Thanks and regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Barcelo Malaga
#4 of 89 in Malaga
3,173 reviews
Room Mate Larios
#3 of 89 in Malaga
1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Molina Lario
Hotel Molina Lario
#5 of 89 in Malaga
1,958 reviews
Perchel
Salles Hotel Malaga Centro
Centro
Ilunion Malaga
Ilunion Malaga
#8 of 89 in Malaga
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel Malaga Palacio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Malaga Palacio

Address: Calle Cortina del Muelle 1, 29015 Malaga, Spain (Formerly AC Hotel Malaga Palacio by Marriott)
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Malaga
#11 Family Hotel in Malaga
#13 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
#15 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
Price Range: £85 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Malaga Palacio 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Hotel Residencia in city center, overlooking harbor; near Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your AC Hotel Malaga Palacio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Hotels málaga
Ac Hotel málaga
AC Hotel Malaga Palacio Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing