We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Location - outrageously expensive breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
AC Hotel Malaga Palacio
Ranked #8 of 90 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location - outrageously expensive breakfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

I often travel through Malaga on the way to Nerja but this is the first time I have actually stayed in Malaga, I was very surprised how lovely it is.

The hotel has a great location, right beside the cathedral with many bars and shops very close by. I had a room on the 6th floor that overlooked the park and the port, pretty decent view.

Room was of a reasonable size with all of the usual amenities. I had a few issues with my room though, firstly the bed creaked loudly everytime I moved, the noise woke me up a couple of nights when I moved while asleep. There was a problem with my shower, it sprayed water all over the bathroom so the floor looked like there had been a flood! I reported it to reception on the first morning, it was looked at but not fixed. I reported it again on second morning and this time it was fixed but it really shouldn't have taken me reporting it twice. On my second day my room was not cleaned, I had been out all day and returned at around 5pm so plenty of time for the room to be cleaned.

I had breakfast on one morning, there was plenty of choice - but at 33 Euro way too expensive! It turned out to be a very expensive bowl of cereal, glass of orange juice and slice of toast. how the hotel can justify charging 33 Euro for breakfast is beyond me, I feel totally ripped off.

The roof top pool area is small with a few sun beds but offers fabulous views of Malaga.

I would stay in this hotel again but will definitely have breakfast outside of the hotel and save money!

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors are quieter, less street noise and one side of the hotel has views of the par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Engadine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AC_MAP, Gerente at AC Hotel Malaga Palacio, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Dear cliente,

We are pleased to inform you that there are differents types of rooms even 100mª rooms. Breakfast buffet is 15€10% tax not included, also you can order a continental brekfast, or even a cup or coffee and each kind of breakfast has a different rate.

We will be pleased in hearing from you soon
Thanks and regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,016 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    800
    865
    242
    57
    52
See reviews for
271
950
83
298
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

We spent two nights at this hotel in May 2013. The location for touring the center, restaurants, shopping, etc couldn't be better!

We also used the pool area which is nice but is not heated so it isn't that useable. But the deck is great and very peaceful. The restaurant on the 15th floor is nice as well and very reasonably priced.

The service overall was good for what you generally experience in many European hotels, but could be better. The room was clean, bathroom newish. Wifi was 12 Euros a day but it works in the room.

I think that the hotel could organize the service on the pool deck area much better, it was a frustrating experience for other guests as well. During the weekend it is very busy in the restaurant area with first communion parties, etc and they do not have a dedicated server checking on guests in the pool area. We felt weird having to go into the restaurant disturbing a party so we could order drinks. With unemployment in Spain what it is, I would think they could hire someone to just serve the outdoor hotel guests during the day on the weekend at least and make sure there are enough towels, etc - this would go a long way with satisfaction. It just seemed very disorganized and frustrating in the current set up. I would also recommend nice plastic glasses and plates that they use on the deck for day and night (we found bits of broken glass around the pool area).

Finally there was the most delightful man who took our luggage when we arrived and went out of his way to help us when we left, Amine. This man deserves a promotion, he is a shining star!

Room Tip: Upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank divachitown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AC_MAP, Gerente at AC Hotel Malaga Palacio, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Dear Sir,

We are writing in reply to your comments related our property. We are plased you have enjoyed your stay with us but we would like to make some additional comments. First of all, Internet in the hotel is free in all areas and rooms except standard rooms, that as you mentioned has an extra charge. Relating the Roof Restaurant is placed on a penthouse and is highly used by citadins, guests and foreigners. The pool size does not need any safeguard. In order to keep the client´s service all our staff working at the area is focused on clients needs so they can provide clients towels, hammocks, ant take your bar order. In order to keep the safety in the area in case the maximum capacity of people is reached, the entrance is closed and the new clients are diverted to the Bar AC on the first floor or our Restaurant on the second floor.
We will transfer your lovely comments to Amine, our colleague. He will be proud of them.
We are looking forward to hearing from you again
Thanks and regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mermaid Waters
Level Contributor
165 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

This hotel exceeded my expectations. We had a room on a high floor overlooking the port with a little balcony with seats and a table, and couldn't have been happier. The older lady who checked us in was very pleasant and helpful. Unfortunately there are stairs as you walk in from the street and go up to the lobby. Not helpful when you have luggage but there is a gentleman to help. Room was good, not huge but big enough with plenty of cupboard space. Bed was comfy and lovely and clean. Bathroom was good with nice towels. Breakfast was the usual continental but very adequate. If you want tea & coffee in the room they charge 11 euros per day - can you believe that? Really let the hotel down with that bit of nonsense. Fancy paying 11e per day - ridiculous! Hotel is in a nice position close to the old town and the waterfront. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again if ever in Malaga.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor facing the Port for really nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AC_MAP, Gerente at AC Hotel Malaga Palacio, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Thanks a lot for your lovely words related our property. We are pleased you have enjoyed your stay with us and we will pleased in having you again in the hotel and in Málaga.
Related the tea and coffee facilities, we inform you that we provide this service complimentary in superior rooms.
Thanks and regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

This is an extremely well located hotel and we had a superb room overlooking the old town and the cathedral. Ask for a room on the corner of the block .

The foyer is dated and worn. The rooms clean enough. No room safe is annoying in a hotel of this standard and cost. The staff were all very attentive.

The only free wifi is in the downstairs lounge area and the connection intermittent and weak..You can pay and get better. The difference between meanness and generosity is usually small. Lets hope the Marriott AC reconsider this policy.

This hotel however could not be better located for Malaga's key attractions which are certainly worth a visit.

We would return.

Room Tip: Go for high, 13 or 14 , and a corner overlooking the cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David60UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AC_MAP, Gerente at AC Hotel Malaga Palacio, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Dear clients,

We are pleased to inform you our hotel offers free security boxes in a secure room next to the reception desk. Related our furniture, and decoration, the hotel has been renovated a few months ago, but we are always working to keep updated our facilities. Cocnerning Internet connection, there is a free signal in lobby and roof restaurant, and all our superior rooms have complimentary access.
We will be pleased in having you again with us.
Thanks and regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times in the last ten years. I love its location close to Larios, the Alameda and the city center. I was recently there again, for a couple of nights. It has not changed much.

Pros: The location, the excellent service I got every morning in an overcrowded breakfast room, and the nice rooms with decent beds. i couldn't enjoy the views from the terrace this time. Good breakfast (f you don't mind paying for it).

Cons: You don't get internet access in your room. The signal is so weak that even with a last generation laptop it simply does not work. At the very least now you don't have to pay for it (you used, in the past). The hotel is starting to need some renovation, as rooms are starting to look old.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hank_Qu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AC_MAP, Gerente at AC Hotel Malaga Palacio, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Dear guests,

We are pleased to inform you that the hotel is remodelated yearly, and all the facilities updated. Also, there is free internet connection in the public areas of the hotel and in all our superior rooms.
We will be pleased in having you again with us
Thanks and regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skerries, Ireland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

Malaga is frequently passed by as visitors head for Marbella and the costa, indeed the taxi driver was surprised I was going to Malaga. It cost 18€ to get to the Palacio. I had booked through Marriott but this is not a typical Marriott, indeed the Marriot logo is mainly absent as everything is branded AC Palacio. The entrance lobby is small and unimpressive but it leads to a long lobby with lots of wood, comfortable armchairs, a business area and a small bar/cafe. I had ordered a superior room and got a corner room with views of the cathedral and old town. Room was generous the staff very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was the best I had had in southern Europe, food extremely fresh and well selected. Only gripe is no wifi in the rooms only in the lobby area. I would go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scoll365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AC_MAP, Gerente at AC Hotel Malaga Palacio, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Dear clients,

We are pleased you have shared your comments related your last stay with us. We are delighted you have enjoyed a lovely stay in our property. As you mention, our hotel is belonging the new brand AC Hotels by Marriott sharing loyalty programme and other benefits as high quality levels. We can definite our property as stylish, urban, cosmopolitan and tailor-made for people looking for a new way of understanding, experiencing and feeling the city. Those are the distinguishing characteristics of AC Hotels. We are constantly upgrading our services, amenities and facilities to ensure that every stay is the best stay possible at AC Hotel Málaga Palacio.
We will be pleased in having you again with us so do not hesitate in contact our property and we will offer you a nice stay.
Thanks and regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

Location first class, facilities fantastic, immaculate hotel. Taxis not badly priced from the airport but the train is cheap and is only a ten minute walk away. Staff are young friendly and helpful . Breakfasts are really good and are served until twelve o clock. Lots of cheap but good restaurants and bars around the doors. Malaga itself is a beautiful modern yet traditional town with lots of character x

Room Tip: View onto the harbour is recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AC_MAP, Gerente at AC Hotel Malaga Palacio, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Dear client,

Thanks a lot for your lovely words related our property and Malaga. We are pleased you have spent a nice time with us, overall due to the this special event.
We will be pleased in having you again with us.
Thanks and regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Centro
Hotel Molina Lario
Hotel Molina Lario
#3 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,813 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Barcelo Malaga
#2 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Room Mate Larios
#4 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel Malaga Palacio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Malaga Palacio

Property: AC Hotel Malaga Palacio
Address: Calle Cortina del Muelle 1, 29015 Malaga, Spain (Formerly AC Hotel Malaga Palacio by Marriott)
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Malaga
#8 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
#11 Family Hotel in Malaga
#15 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Malaga Palacio 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Hotel Residencia in city center, overlooking harbor; near Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, Marriott, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your AC Hotel Malaga Palacio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Hotels málaga
Ac Hotel málaga
AC Hotel Malaga Palacio Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing