We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to Marriott standards”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
AC Hotel Malaga Palacio
Ranked #14 of 89 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
South Burlington, Vermont
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not up to Marriott standards”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

A great location and friendly staff. With that being said, if you are used to staying at Marriott hotels then be forewarned. If you have any Marriott status (even platinum) do not expect any of the usual upgrades. The beds resemble pull out beds and are small and uncomfortable. I will definitely choose a different hotel next time I am in Malaga.

Room Tip: Ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AC_MAP, Manager at AC Hotel Malaga Palacio, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with the AC Hotel Malaga Palacio.

We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your—or our own—expectations. Our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit.

You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future. If I may be of assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    846
    904
    254
    63
    67
See reviews for
287
1,005
86
313
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I'll start with the Pro's, the hotel is very clean and tidy and has good facilities overall and its location is superb.... its just not a "tourist" hotel and by that I mean there are no tea/coffee making facilities (unless you hire them for 11 euros a night) there are no changing rooms by the pool and no pool towels are given. I phoned reception and was told to use my room towel! Not ideal when you want to come back and have a shower after your swim and you have to use a wet towel. There was also no furniture on the balcony, we wanted to have coffee on it in a morning and had to stand. We were also relaxing having a lie in when the maid service barged in (despite the DND sign on the door!) then I come to the big problem, the beds! OMG, they were like campy beds with a plank on. The WORST Marriott beds I have ever stayed on and I am a Marriott lover. They squeaked, creaked and even moved when you went to sit on them. We got little sleep as they were just so uncomfortable. They also don't do double beds, two singles pushed together despite my asking reception if it was a double 3 times and being told yes! We loved the roof top bar but the service was awful so slow, we ended up going to find someone to serve us.

We had to change rooms on arrival because our first room stank of smoke but that cant be helped and is probably a one off. Our room on 11th floor was a brilliant size and the view amazing.

We were there when a big conference was there and they seemed to get the better treatment..... hey ho.

Breakfast was amazing.

Not much more I can say, would I go back? Yes I think I would..... but only because of the location and the breakfast.... and not for more than 1/2 nights.

Room Tip: ask for a high room so you get the views. rooms on the side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_Vinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AC_MAP, Manager at AC Hotel Malaga Palacio, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience during your stay in the AC Hotel Malaga Palacio.

We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Regarding your comments, we inform you that tea and coffee facilities are complimentary in Junior Suite and Suite, in the rest of the rooms are with charge. The Superior Room with ocean view, Junior Suite and Suite have furniture in the balcony.

Related the towels, you can use the one that you have in the room and the house keeper will give you more.

You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future. If I may be of assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lund, Skåne Län, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I went to Malaga on a conference and the organizers have arranged a stay at AC Hotel Malaga. The hotel was superb and the rooms are comfortable and the 4 day stay at this hotel was awesome. To add to that, breakfast was extremely delicious with lot of dishes to choose from.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Usman K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AC_MAP, Manager at AC Hotel Malaga Palacio, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear client,

Thanks a lot for your lovely words regarding our property.
We will be pleased in haviung you again with us.
Thanks and regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

My family and I stayed here last weekend for a long weekend for my sister's 21st birthday. The stay was perfect - hotel staff were so helpful, friendly, efficient and attentive. My parents were upgraded to the junior suite, which was a fantastic bonus for us and the regular twin room was also to a very high standard. (I maybe would have liked to have 2 chairs on the balcony to utilise the big space and the gorgeous sunshine, but that's being very picky!)
At check out the systems had gone done but the staff were super efficient and everything ran smoothly! I would recommend this hotel in a heartbeat to stay for a long weekend or even a week, the town of Malaga is really buzzy and such a great place to get the best of both worlds with the beach, port, bars, restaurants, shops and most importantly the sunshine!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay_H89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AC_MAP, General Manager at AC Hotel Malaga Palacio, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely comments about our staff and property.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope we can host you and your family again in your next visit to Málaga.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel at the end of a cruise. The cruise line recommended it, but we booked it ourselves. The hotel was awesome, despite several challenges. It appears everyone on the cruise stayed at the hotel -- it was swamped with people. One of the desk clerks said that in his 41 years of working at the hotel, the morning was the busiest and most demanding ever. We found the reception desk to be extremely accommodating. The room was not ready, but they held our luggage and delivered it promptly when we returned. We asked about the internet and a few other issues and the reception desk could not have been more responsive. The views from the top of the hotel were incredible. They were entertaining a communion social, but were still able to handle all drink requests.The elevator was slow, but kept working and accommodated all the large crowd -- you just had to be a bit patient. The breakfast was really good -- we had great bellman service in the morning and had a cab to take us on our onward journey almost before we asked for it. In short, the hotel was superb.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AC_MAP, General Manager at AC Hotel Malaga Palacio, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely comments about our Hotel.

Feedback from our guests is a very important tool for us as it enables us to pinpoint our weak areas and to improve accordingly.

We sincerely look forward in exceeding you expectations during your next stay with us.

Our aim is to satisfy all individual needs and to ensure that all our guests will keep a most memorable experience.

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and I invite you to contact us directly should you have any additional comments or request.

Please also feel free to contact us next time you will be in Malaga and I will be more than happy to arrange your stay with us.

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Almeria has a lovely castle which is free to visit closes 8pm and a 20 min walk from the hotel

A nice room at hotel and only 50 or so pounds Incl breakfast for one nite. Good matress and nites sleep though not a typical Marriot 5 star affair....this is Almeria and a good all rounder

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jase43ukchelms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AC_MAP, Manager at AC Hotel Malaga Palacio, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear guest,

We are really sorry but We think you made a mistake with the hotel. We are AC Hotel Malaga Palacio by Marriott in Malaga not in Almeria.
We wil l be pleased in having you in the future as a guest if you are visiting Malaga.
Thanks and regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

visited the rooftop bar and although the views were stunning the service was appauling!we waited forty minutes for drinks, asking several time where our order was, numerous other guests arrived after us and were served before us. eventually we walked out disgusted.

Helpful?
1 Thank kirstyGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AC_MAP, Manager at AC Hotel Malaga Palacio, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear clients,

We are really sorry about your comments regarding our roof restaurant.
Our waiters normally attend the clients in order of arrival. It must have been a mistake and we apologise about that. We will transfer your comments to our roof restaurant in order to avid future and undesired similar situations.
Thanks and regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Barcelo Malaga
#3 of 89 in Malaga
3,023 reviews
Centro
Hotel Molina Lario
Hotel Molina Lario
#4 of 89 in Malaga
1,900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Room Mate Larios
#2 of 89 in Malaga
1,083 reviews
Perchel
Salles Hotel Malaga Centro
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 89 in Malaga
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel Malaga Palacio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Malaga Palacio

Property: AC Hotel Malaga Palacio
Address: Calle Cortina del Muelle 1, 29015 Malaga, Spain (Formerly AC Hotel Malaga Palacio by Marriott)
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Malaga
#11 Family Hotel in Malaga
#13 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
#15 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Malaga Palacio 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Hotel Residencia in city center, overlooking harbor; near Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your AC Hotel Malaga Palacio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Hotels málaga
Ac Hotel málaga
AC Hotel Malaga Palacio Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing