We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base for visiting Malaga”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Salles Hotel Malaga Centro
Ranked #29 of 90 Hotels in Malaga
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good base for visiting Malaga”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Having flown into Malaga airport many times but never having visited the city itself, we thought we would see what it was like. Didn't expect to like it much but we found it to be a really nice city to visit. We chose this hotel because of its location and the fact that it has a rooftop pool. This itself was small and the terrace very busy, but it was ok for a short break, and the views over the city were really great. We had a top floor room (very convenient for the pool) but like the rest of the hotel it really could do with updating. The bathroom was large but tired and the sleeping are was comparatively small with weak air conditioning. We booked room only and we enquired about breakfast when we arrived. This was 13 Euro per head. However there is a small coffee shop in the lobby which provides a good but limited continental breakfast which we opted for - it was very good. The hotel is very well located for access to the city centre - just a 5 minute walk over the river. Overall I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for trip to Malaga, and I would certainly stay there if we visit again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    580
    206
    60
    34
See reviews for
150
626
47
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Good location few mins walk to centre of Malaga, very beautiful. Rooftop pool is lovely. Booked a superior room as rest of hotel is old fashioned, view of side street and bins. Not the most luxurious 4 star but ok.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HOC89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Terrible.
Booked this only because of it's pool and pool terrace.
The pool terrace was great and actually the only positive about this hotel.
The pool itself was a joke, 1,15m at the deepest and more like an oversized bathtub than a pool. Another drawback was the fact that there was no shade at all in the pool area, and in 40 degree heat that's not good.
Also, all sunbeds were taken from early morning. However, no problem, it was too hot to be there anyway without shade.
We booked (and got confirmed) a quite room.
Got room 415, fourth floor, but the television from the neighboring room was so loud it was as if we had our own tv on.
And by the way the satellite channels they promisse worked only in the third room we stayd in. In the first 2 rooms the remote control to the channels were missing!
Changed to room 515, fifth floor. Stayed one night in a terrible smell. The whole floor smelled like cabbage. No satellite channels.
We were promissed by a very unfriendly lady at the reception to see another room the next day, at 11,30.
Since we were 3 people we obviously needed a 3 bed room, first she said it was for 3 but then changed her mind and said it only fitted 2 people.
Until her supervisor came and said that it absolutely fitted 3.
The next day we came down at 11.30 but the guests staying in the room didn't check out yet ( check out was at 12) and now all of a sudden we couldn't see the room until 13.30
Was this only to make our lives miserable and make us wait half the day?
We asked if we couldn't see it at 12 when they've checked out but that was impossible, according to the unfriendly staff. (Lady with blond hair)
We sat down in the reception and just waited, not wanting to believe that someone could be that inflexibel.
Half an hour later we could see it, all of a sudden, thanks to another member of staff and we desided to take this room.
701, on the seventh floor. I believe this is the only room in the entire hotel I would recommend. Seventh floor even smelled pleasant.
We didn't eat the € 13/person breakfast!
Pass the river (which by the way is dried out and used as a dogs toilet, hense the smell passing it) to the old part of Malaga and eat somewhere else for from € 2/person.
There is not much positive to say about this hotel, not even the location,
The decor in the hotel is like a Russian hotel in the 80'ies. Gold, pink, pictures of crying babies, blue leather sofas in the entrance. Didn't know if we should laugh or cry.
Wi-fi came and went but mostly it didn't work.
One reason could be that it was a completely open wi-fi, without password, even though they give you a password when you check in.
I think half of Malaga was surfing on their wi-fi.
Take our advise, book elsewhere, don't let the promisse of a pool fool you.
Next time we'll definately book a b&b instead and experience a bit of Spain, not Russia.

Room Tip: Seventh floor, rooms at the back. One of them is 701. Only 4 rooms on this level. You would not want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeanette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
124 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel is located 2 mins away from historical centre of Malaga, but I did not find this attractive especially in August. Locals celebrating summer on the streets: dancing and drinking, music is loud and streets very dirty that you can't step as people throwing rubbish on the ground. I would prefer something closer to sea.

However hotel is good. Service is good, employees are nice. Rooms are clean and bathroom is huge, there is a bathtub. Only thing is that wifi not working well.

There is a pool on the roof, which is not big and there are around 10 sun beds. To clean the pool they using bleach. Pool towels are available at reception.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evgeniya_ef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hohenems, Austria
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Our whole choir was accomodated in that hotel - and because it was freshly painted and just renovated we did not had much to criticize. The breakfast-buffet was great, the rooms were clean and the personal spoke good english.
MAybe not 4 Stars - but still great price/performance.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaMuffinMonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed in this hotel for < 24 hours while awaiting flight out of Malaga airport.

Pluses: relatively inexpensive, not far from the touristy center of town. Staff are pleasant.

Minus: Bad smells! Odor was especially apparent in the corridor outside of our room on arrival, and had migrated to the lobby by the morning our departure. Yuck!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank podleyblumstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

What is 4 Stars in this hotel?

1. Location
2. Reception on arrival and departure
3. Rooms
4. Roof terrace
5. Ambition from the staff to amuse their guests by arranging entertiment on the terrace



Whats not 4 Stars is:

1. Breakfast was beyond 1star
2. Lobby is unchanged from 30 years ago


Not bad at all but to earn 4 stars you must have more than this

And, i belive that the managment is aware of this, because the price is very good. Not a 4 Stars price!
You get what you pay for

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Per-Åke J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Perchel
Novotel Suites Malaga Centro
Barcelo Malaga
#2 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,800 reviews
Room Mate Larios
#4 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Molina Lario
Hotel Molina Lario
#3 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,814 reviews
Centro
Itaca Malaga
Itaca Malaga
#24 of 90 in Malaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salles Hotel Malaga Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salles Hotel Malaga Centro

Property: Salles Hotel Malaga Centro
Address: Calle Marmoles 6, 29007 Malaga, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga > Perchel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Malaga
#18 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
#18 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Salles Hotel Malaga Centro 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wi-Fi and a seasonal rooftop pool with impressive city views can be found at Salles Hotel Malaga Centro, set in Malaga's picturesque old town. Rooms at the Malaga Centro are brightly decorated and spacious, hava satellite TV and a balcony. The Malaga Centro's Guernica Restaurant serves a range of Mediterranean and Andalusian cuisine. The Picasso Cafe-Bar serves drinks and snacks. Guests can relax and enjoy city views on the Centro's rooftop terrace. There is a poolside bar, open in summer. There is also an on-site gym.The hotel is a 15-minute walk from the Picasso Museum and less than one kilometre from Málaga Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, ACCOR, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salles Hotel Malaga Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Malaga Centro
Malaga Centro málaga
Malaga Center
Salles Hotel Malaga Centro Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing