We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Something amazing that I was not expecting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La casa del perro - CLOSED

La casa del perro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Cracow
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Something amazing that I was not expecting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

I was visiting Malaga few days ago with my friend and we were exploring old city part. We felt hungry so we started to look around however we didn't want to finish in one of the international food chains. We were aiming something extraordinary. My friend pointed out that place - La Casa del Perro. Interior was tempting so we came in. We were great by nice lady who turned out to be the owner. I came to Spain to eat seafood so I focused on that. We were served well and the dish were so delightful that we came back couple of times. I may fully recommend that place if you want to eat something uncommon, tasty and still within good price range.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kaszmir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    42
    7
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
211 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Dissapointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

After discovering there are more than few vegetarian restaurants in Malaga we decided to visit the city for a dinner. La Casa del Perro and El Calafate happened to be on the same street next to each other, so we opted for the one that looked more comfy and full - La casa del Perro.

The restaurant was nicely decorated and we took a corner table. A waiter came soon to take our drink order and explain the way things work here. They have three boards, one is green and vegetarian, red in meat and blue is fish. These board are on wall, so to look at them you'll need to get out from our table, which is okay. There are some tapas (mordiscos) and meals (bocados). The waiter offered to order one tapas and meal per person. The prices of tapas were between 1,50-3,00 euros and the meals around 8-11. This boards don't change and are offered through out the day, there is an extra menu for lunch, that is not offered at dinner.

In the vegetarian table you could find in the tapas a potato tortilla and a zucchini shot, just examples I remember. Meals: a wok of vegetables and coucous, vegetable triangles that ended up being just those normal deep fried spring rolls in a shape of triangles, and tofu meatballs in coconut cream that they run out of but looked delicious even though I would say overpriced even without trying. About 9-10 euros for 3-4 meatballs is a lot, no matter how special they are. We ended up having the triangles and they were disappointing, for 8 euros six triangles, deep fried.

From the meat board we didn't have anything, nor I remember what was for offer.

The fish board had a interesting sounding and looking vegetable pie with cold smoked salmon that we ordered. This is served bland, not hot nor cold. I loved that it had lots of broccoli in, raw and cooked inside the pie. Also lots of carrots. The first waiter said that the pie is made of zucchini. But it was made of milk, creme fraiche and bread as we found out later. And I don't eat or consume milk nor creme fraiche, and noted that the dish had them after few bites, and felt immediately sick. Very disappointing. The dish had some green sauce made of lettuce, but it had also vinegar which gave a very strong and unpleasant smell to it.

They offer you a shot of almost any drink at the end of your meal for free. The bill for two person with wines and no dessert was 25 euros. Will not return.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Antoanna888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Highly recommended vegetarian-friendly restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

It's well worth seeking out La Casa del Perro (translates as The Dog's House) down a side street in the centre of Malaga. The menu is quite creative, even eccentric, but the cooking is good enough to back it up (for example courgette soup topped with bitter chocolate, which makes a surprising but successful combination). There's an interesting selection of local wines at reasonable prices, and the staff are very warm and helpful.
For me, it's the first choice for vegetarians in Malaga. Although not exclusively vegetarian, the menu is split into the separate boards: vegetable, meat and fish, so ordering is not the usual minefield. There's also much more joy in food than you'll find in the town's other more hairshirty vegetarian offerings.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SourceJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great original food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

With local friends who knew the restaurant we visited 'La casa del perro' for the first time. We were very pleasantly surprised. The atmosphere of the restaurant is cosy and easy going and not the standard spanish place. The food was original and very well executed. They have small plates as well as small tapas/small starter bites. Meat, fish or vegetarian. We shared 4 plates and a starter which were served consequtively which made it a very nice relaxing meal. Nice wines and not expensive at all. Will definitively go back there soon.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank inimini67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“La Casa del Perro - fantastico!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

We visited the lovely city of Malaga in May and were taken to this restaurant by friends who live in a nearby village. They described the tapas as works of art, and they were! Eight of us enjoyed the plates of mixed tapas, and they were taste sensations. The menus were in Spanish (of course) but the beautiful owner assisted us with our choices from the menu and everything was as she advised - very well presented tasty tapas. The service was excellent, the restaurant was full to capacity, the atmosphere very welcoming. The house wine was very enjoyable too. The menu of the day looked great and we will definitely return to this restaurant when next in Spain. Highly recommended and great value.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy1403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La casa del perro also viewed

Malaga, Costa del Sol
Malaga, Costa del Sol
 
Malaga, Costa del Sol
Malaga, Costa del Sol
 
Malaga, Costa del Sol
Malaga, Costa del Sol
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing