We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD HOTEL AND FANTASTIC LOCATION”
Review of Don Curro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Don Curro Hotel
Ranked #28 of 87 Hotels in Malaga
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“GOOD HOTEL AND FANTASTIC LOCATION”
Reviewed 12 August 2011

me and a few of my friends visited malaga in june 2009. A very memorable holiday and a one that i enjoyed.

we were only visiting for 5 nights and stayed the hotel don curro in malaga.

The hotel is approx 10 mins drive from malaga airport

This is the most centrally located hotel, youve got all the highstreet shops literally 5 minute walk and some amazng spanish and italian restaurants.

The hotel is big and very spacious.

Majority of the spaniyards are friendly and outgoing but we came accross a few who are arrogantly rude and judging by the body language they were swearing at us in spanish and one lady tried to hit me for apparent reason- beware!!

Malaguetta beach is 15 mins walk from the hotel and its a massive beach and very clean. and they have the odd oriental ladies who approach you and offer you a full body massage for 10 euros which i accepted and very much enjoyed! :D

a short walk away from the hotel they have the cathedral which looks amazing and quite a few good clubs that offer you a free shot as an entry.

and if you go out a bit with a cab you could head in to torremolinos or to the marina where they have a strip of clubs and everyone looking to party. some very good clubs to head out to.

the restaurant at the hotel was ok we had very basic food there as it was a short trip and dont remeber eating much!

this holiday is for beach life, scenery anf night life!

also you can oay 40 euros and get on a horse and carriage which takes you all around sopain which I reslly enjoyed!

bought a pair of rayban for only 70 quid which in those days was a wicked bargain!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rouffar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    605
    224
    43
    28
See reviews for
218
539
69
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

If you have to go to Málaga, do not stay here. I stayed there for 2 nights in July 2011. The first thing I noticed as I got off on the 4th FL was the smell. It smelled chemical or plastic in nature and very very strong, especially when I entered the room--which was tiny, by-the-way. I told the reception clerk, they sent someone, and they said they didn't smell anything, of course. I think it was coming from the ventilation ducts, as this is where it was strongest. The smell persisted even after opening the window and running the hot water.

I'm not usually a finicky traveler, but the room was terrible; just large enough for the bed and a desk. The bed was too small, and the bathroom door opens in front of the sink, so that you can't stand there with the door open. That, combined with the smell, made for a depressing experience. I would look elsewhere even if it costs more.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cairo_slum_dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

We stayed overnight before we commenced our cruise. The hotel is very well locaated for the wharf but it is too far to walk to the cruise terminal . We walked to the wharf and took the shuttle bus to the ship. The hotel is fine. The room was good and the breakfast adequate. We found the reception staff quite rude and unaccommodating. We had a late check out until 2pm stipulated on our booking but they refused to allow us to stay beyond 12noon which was the normal checkout time. We asked for a compromise until 1pm but they were adament.we had to vacate before noon. This is a very busy hotel and it shows with the staff attitude as they are too busy to be friendly or courteous. However it did suit our needs and the room was clean and well equipped so for 1 night it was fine.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fleedom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

We stayed in this hotel for four nights. We were delighted with the location, just a few step Calle Larios, the main shopping street in Malaga.

The room was fine, we were on the 8th floor, without a view, but this didn't bother us as we had asked for a high floor, quiet room and this was what we got! We had a triple room which was a little cramped, but if it had been for two of us it would have been fine. The room was very clean, the housekeepers did a great job. The bathroom was fine, a decent size, the shower ran hot and cold, but not a major problem. There is a safe in the room which is complimentary, something of a rarity these days, so we were grateful for this! And good a/c.

Breakfast was ok for continental, the usual eggs and bacon in a hot tray, which I didn't eat, but lots of yoghurt, cheese, meats, bread, which was good.

The main selling point for this hotel is its location. Right in the heart of the town, a short walk from Calle Larios, the Cathedral, the Alcazaba, bus station. A slighter longer walk to the beach - Malagueta (maybe 20 minutes). For a day trip out of Malaga take the bus to Nerja, it takes about an hour and cost 7euros for a return ticket.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BirminghamCharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2011

The hotel is in the heart of city, ideally located for the gentle paseo from bar to bar. Great value for money and excellent rooms including a 5 star shower (my own personal measure of luxury) and to top it all friendly and excellent services. All in all, I will be recommending to all those visiting Malaga.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CiderLout99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shrewsbury
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights after a change in plans during a 12 day tour of Andalucia. This hotel is the kind of solid 3 to 4 star establishment that doesn't always get the kind of recognition it deserves on Tripadvisor. OK it doesn't have great amounts of character, but it is very clean with good sized well equipped rooms in an excellent central location, and at a reasonable price that we prefer to some of the more 'characterful' places that are often given top marks on these pages. We hadn't originally planned to visit Malaga but were very pleasantly surprised by how nice the old town is and how much it has to offer. This hotel provided the perfect base for exploring the city.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laval, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

I have booked this hotel based upon Tripadvisor members' recommendation, and this was more than I expected.

Rooms are clean and well furnished.

Hotel location is excellent, and near to most of historical sites.

I will definitley recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birdy_58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Perchel
Ibis Malaga Centro Ciudad
Mariposa Hotel Malaga
#11 of 87 in Malaga
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Room Mate Larios
#2 of 87 in Malaga
1,076 reviews
Centro
Eurostars Astoria
Eurostars Astoria
#31 of 87 in Malaga
513 reviews
Perchel
Novotel Suites Malaga Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Don Curro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Curro Hotel

Property: Don Curro Hotel
Address: Calle Sancha de Lara 9, 29015 Malaga, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Malaga
#16 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Don Curro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Don Curro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Don Curro
Don Curro málaga
Don Curro Hotel Malaga, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing