We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended, excellent price-quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Don Curro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Don Curro Hotel
Ranked #26 of 90 Hotels in Malaga
Utrecht
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Highly recommended, excellent price-quality”
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Although Malaga has lots of reasonably priced hotels, you can't beat this one. It's located in the middle of it all, and offers very spacious rooms and a good breakfast buffet at a very reasonable price.
The Hotel Don Curro is located in a quiet street in the middle of the city centre. The cathedral is around the corner, as is the main shopping street and lots of nice cafes and restaurants.
The rooms are large. It offers two comfortable and big twin beds (much wider than a meter each), a desk, cupboard space and a good size bathroom. Our room had a bath. All in all enough storage space to put all your belongings.
As said we really enjoyed the breakfast buffet. It offers lots of options, both sweet and salty. Lots of types of bread, cakes, croissants. Cheeses, sausages, hams. It also had yoghurt, fresh fruit, juices. Only thing we didn't like was the coffee. But coffee was of bad quality everywhere we went in Andalusia. I guess they don't care because spanish people usually put lots of milk in theirs.
Staff was very attentive with helping us with our suitcases. What could be improved is offering a standard set of information and map of Malaga in every room.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneWeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    579
    213
    43
    25
See reviews for
209
518
63
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

This 3* hotel was very good value with a generous and varied breakfast. it was immaculately clean and well decorated. The room servicing was excellent and front desk efficient. There is no quibling about minibar purchases. Good large flatscreen TV and free wifi. The location is excellent being near the port which is lovely for eating and wandering about looking at boats. The beach is not good. It is right in the centre of the lovely old town and exploring the small streets around the catherdral, watching the street theatre and visiting the Picasso Gallery is very relaxing. It is 15 minutes walk from the train station so this is a cheap and easy route from the airport. (Malaga Centro). Malaga is a great city for a short break and you can take the train down the coast to explore the famous beaches. It is still warm half way through October. The hotel being full, there were insufficient tables for breakfast over the weekend and you find yourself sitting at children's tables. This is a pity. Generally though, a good choice of hotel if your budget is smaller and you don't want a gym and leaisure facilities. There is a lovely family atmosphere and the people are friendly.

Room Tip: Room 115 whilst being fine in terms of size and amenities, has a bad situation looking onto a dark i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tynemouth
Level Contributor
127 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We thought this hotel was excellent value for money. It is situated in the best possible location, just off the sea front and right at the start of the main drag up to the old town. We had a side room with a balcony looking out over the rooftops of the old town. It was large, spotlessly clean, with excellent quality towels and bed linen. The bathroom was large, well appointed and spotlessly clean. The only slight complaint was that you could smell cigarette smoke when you first went into the room. Also, the breakfast was a bit disappointing - perfectly adequate but not excellent.

Room Tip: Rooms at the side of the hotel have nice views over the rooftops of the old town. Ask for a room on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B&PTynemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Stayed here after getting married in Malaga as we wanted to be based in the city centre and be close to family locally. After staying in a 4-star hotel the previous week I can say that we much preferred the 3-star Don Curro for its perfect location if its sightseeing around the historical centre of Malaga is your priority. Our room was small on the 7th floor with a balcony overlooking the street below (Sancha de Lara), which was fine. Bathroom was OK, not quite as good as the one in the prevuious 4-star hotel but suited us fine, no complaints. Staff were very attentive and helpful and housekeeping very good. Didn't try the restaurant food but had the complimentary breakfast buffet every morning which was very good when you consider it was included in the very reasonable price (continental buffet-style). I would stay here again without question as for the price and unbeatable location cannot be matched by any others in the centre.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greenfen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Stayed for the second time at the Don Curro and it was just good as the first time. Reception staff very efficient and there was always someone around to help you in all respects.

We emailed and requested the same room as our last visit in March (809) which has a large balcony and a fantastic view. Nothing had changed. The hotel is in one of the best locations for everything, especially shopping and restaurants and as before it was spotlessly clean.

Breakfast was more than adequate and there is a good selection of everything and the staff are very helpful.

We will be returning to Malaga again at the beginning of next year and will definitely be staying at the Don Curro again,

Out of interest if you want a cheap way of going to Malaga and staying at the Don Curro book a package through Easyjet Holidays, but to get the best price you should booked well in advance. We did on both occasions and cannot fault them in anyway.

Room Tip: Chose a room on the top floor with an excellent view of the Cathedral, mountains and port
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maidmarian9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Booked this hotel from reading trip advisor reviews and wasn't disappointed. Reception staff friendly when we arrived and even took our cases to our 3rd floor room. Room was good size with lovely clean bathroom ensuite. Breakfast was included and there was plenty of choice. The dining room at breakfast gets a bit crowded at times, but the staff were extremely efficient and cleared and re-laid tables quickly. Little waitress was a delight and always had a smile on her face. Location of the hotel is excellent and we felt completely safe wandering the streets at night. We particularly enjoyed people watching on the cathedral square which is just around the corner. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and hope to re-visit at some time in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cliftonkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorks
Level Contributor
114 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Location excellent, close to the cathedral and main shopping streets with lots going on very close by in the evening.
Rooms fine, beds comfortable and room and bathroom an ok size. Breakfast ok.
Reception not the freindliest, but efficient. I would have no problems staying there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donjmf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Room Mate Larios
#4 of 90 in Malaga
1,024 reviews
Centro
Venecia
Venecia
#37 of 90 in Malaga
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perchel
Ibis Malaga Centro Ciudad
Perchel
Novotel Suites Malaga Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Don Curro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Curro Hotel

Property: Don Curro Hotel
Address: Calle Sancha de Lara 9, 29015 Malaga, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Malaga
#16 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Don Curro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Don Curro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Don Curro
Don Curro málaga
Don Curro Hotel Malaga, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing