We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for us”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Don Curro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Don Curro Hotel
Ranked #26 of 90 Hotels in Malaga
Malaga
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect for us”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Ideal position for daytime sightseeing and evening relaxing in nearby tapas bars. Within easy reach of bus/train stations for trips further afield. Great room, 6th floor, west facing balcony for sunsets. Comfy beds. Good breakfast. Helpful staff. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Eileen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    581
    213
    43
    25
See reviews for
209
519
63
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

South facing room reasonably high up and the air conditioning was not working - always manana (the day we were leaving) - the impression was they could not care - only stayed two nights and fried both nights - the street below was so noisy at times one had to keep the window shut (mind you even then it was still noisy). I asked for a reduction at reception on checking out because of this and none was even considered. Then there was the wifi - allegedly available throughout the hotel - actually you had to sit on the two person seat in reception or the stairs to reception to avoid restricted access (other half did manage it in the room at 11.30pm one evening suggesting the issue is one of lack of capacity at busier times).

Compare and contrast with Molina Lario, another equally excellently placed hotel, where we stayed in January - understandably fully booked on this occasion - much better, quitter and better service all round.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Location: Next to all within walking distance. Next to Cathedral, Museos, Hop on/off bus , Safe public underground P-house, Hole in the wall Bank cash withdrawal. Perfect standard. Hotel rooms excellent with high standard and good beds and fridge without lock and procedure. Immediate PC netcontact without long procedures. Pleasant and quick attendance at in/out check. Excellent breakfast standard. Not one irritating/frustrating incident. You see us and our freinds soon again. Regards Lissen & Tom

Room Tip: You cannot be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OOFF2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Malaga is a lovely city and a great destination for a weekend away. The Hotel Don Curro, which was recommended to us by friends, is right in the centre, within easy walking distance from the harbour, and round the corner from shops and many restaurants. Our room was clean and comfortable and the hotel staff were all very helpful

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fbldebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Just back from a weekend break in Malaga . As this was our first time in this part of Spain we were really unsure of traveling from airport to the city . We should not have worried ,short walk from the airport to access the train which was clean , displayed information on where we were ,on time and only cost 2 euros . A short walk again took us to the Don Curro Hotel . Reception staff not very friendly given room number, no pleasantries like enjoy your stay ,we were surprised by this as I had contacted the hotel prior to arrival and replies were prompt , bar / restaurant and housekeeping staff friendly and went out of their way to engage in conversation albeit pigeon English . .Room was exceptionally clean as were all public areas bed linen was changed although we were only on a three night break, bed very comfortable . Bathroom really dated but clean .Not a great variety at breakfast but was well presented and adequate . Location is what sells this hotel very easy access to the port and beach ,shops and places of interest are a few steps away .Would we return to this hotel ..Yes in the hope that staff a bit more pleasant .

Room Tip: we were on middle floor had street view which was ok for a short break , not bothered by any noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anne c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed end of oct 2013. Room 711, nice balcony view of rooftops overlooking city and mountains/side view of the port as we were on the 7th floor. Hotel Wifi on iphone was better than expected...wouldnt connect on just one occasion but otherwise 2 bars. Tv channels were all spanish except sky news which was fuzzy and unclear all the time. Room was neat and tidy but could have done with a lil more dusting! Bath/shower was ok, always warm water and functional. No lock on bathroom door! AC was a lil hit n miss, worked well on arrival but not so well at other times...i think the hotel control it centrally but we just opened up the balcony doors when it got too warm. Reception staff need to be more friendly n welcoming, especially the male front desk staff when checking in/out. Breakfast room staff were always very friendly and helpful!
Not enough power points near the large bedroom mirror so difficult to use straighteners n such! All in all i was pleased with the hotel especially location as all the tourist spots n everything u need is 10-15mins away max, mcdonalds, burger king, halal donner kebab 3-5mins around the corner!! Lol Would deffo recommend to others and stay again!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank sugar346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
67 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Check in was quit chaotic, no automated system here. Staff are nor overly friendly but ok.
I was in a spacious room (404) with a lovely marble bathroom. You could say it’s a bit dated but in a good way: there’s nothing wrong with the typical Spanish style.
The bed was very comfortable, the curtains are very good: it was pitch black in the room. There is no view from room 404 but I didn't mind. Breakfast was good. Right in town, just a 10 minute walk to the beach, a perfect location. After drinks at night it is always a short walk back to the hotel.
I would definitely go again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PetraRo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Centro
Venecia
Venecia
#38 of 90 in Malaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Room Mate Larios
#4 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perchel
Ibis Malaga Centro Ciudad
Perchel
Novotel Suites Malaga Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Don Curro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Curro Hotel

Property: Don Curro Hotel
Address: Calle Sancha de Lara 9, 29015 Malaga, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Malaga
#16 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Don Curro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Don Curro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Don Curro
Don Curro málaga
Don Curro Hotel Malaga, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing