We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Don Curro Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Molina Lario(Malaga)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Venecia(Malaga)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Room Mate Valeria(Malaga)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Room Mate Larios(Malaga)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Sur(Malaga)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Lis(Malaga)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,305)
Filter reviews
1,305 results
Traveller rating
319
657
251
49
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
319
657
251
49
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationold townreception staffthe main shopping streetpicasso museumfront facingwithin walking distancehigh floorthe busgood sizecentral locationthree starsingle roombreakfast was includedthe heart of the citybars and restaurantsmalaga cathedral
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
256 - 261 of 1,305 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Ideally situated in the old town, the bus stop from the airport is just around the corner. We stayed here for two nights to enable us to explore the city before moving on to our holiday destination. Very clean accommodation , good service and the room was adequate. The only fault was the window overlooked the internal void, making the room feel rather closed in! The air con, worked perfectly and this was indeed very welcoming as the outside temp was 34 deg! Wifi good. Breakfast very satisfactory with all the usual offerings of a continental breakfast. A brilliant peaceful nights sleep, very comfortable. All in all an excellent choice of Hotel. brilliant location and would definitely stay here again. But perhaps next time we would request window overlooking the outside of the Hotel! Tip, use the bus service from the airport it is so cheap and door to door service!

Room Tip: Choose an outside facing room.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Warm welcome on arrival, friendly valet came to park our car. Checking in was quick & efficient.
The room was a good size modern, light, airy & spotless. The bathroom was also a decent size fully tiled with good lighting.
The bed & pillows were very comfortable so a great nights sleep was had by all. The hotel was busy but the room was quiet without noise from other rooms/guests.
Breakfast was very nice indeed with a good selection of hot & cold selections all buffet style.
This hotel is of a really good standard & it's situation is excellent to access the shops & fabulous tapas bars in Malaga. The staff here were very friendly. We really were impressed with the hotel & we will stay here again without hesitation & also recommend it to friends.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank MONDRON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Great hotel on a quite side street in Malaga Spain. This hotel was right around the corner from the main strip and easy access to central bus lines. We stayed here 2 nights as the first part of our 3 week journey in spain. The Hotel staff were kind and tried to assist where they could, they gave us smaller bills for our large euro and directions to the castle around the corner. We took a hike up to the castle on our last day but were too late, missed the last tour by 3 minutes!

Over all a good hotel, clean, friendly, and good aircondiition inside the rooms. this is key during the summer months in Spain. The weather was great and we loved the food. the beach is a short distance down the road, you could walk it or take the bus for 1,3 euro ea. We used bus #1 for a straight shot to the train station for our next city.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ntgeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Ok, so this probably isn't the hotel you would pick for a week's beach holiday, but it is however perfect for a couple of nights to explore this great city without costing the earth.

We chose the hotel as an airport hotel after reading a few good tips on the Malaga TA forum. The hotels near the airport don't look that great but the airport bus that goes to Malaga central stops close by the Don Curro hotel ...only takes about 15 / 20 minutes on the bus and half that time in a cab. We got an extremely good price and so we decided to stay two nights and enjoy Malaga city before traveling off to Nerja for our beach break. Staying here took all the stress out of traveling and trying to make connections work.

Location wise the hotel is right on the edge of the old town and a 5 minute walk to the new port development. It is also close to the port bus station where you can pick up many coaches to main coastal resort and handy for the fantastic art museums and tapas trails of Malaga.

Firstly we were allocated a very nice room on the fifth floor (511 I believe). It had large twin beds pushed together and a balcony. It does seem that the design of the hotel means that some rooms are smaller. We saw one room with a double bed that was tiny so if space is important ask for a twin. Some bad reviews on this site come from people who have been allocated internal rooms, the fire evacuation plan suggests that there is only one such room like this per floor, so I guess it is really bad luck if you get one of these. We emailed ahead to ask for the room type we wanted.

The rooms were a lot more than we expected for the price. They had everything you need, good crisp white bedlinen, great mattresses that felt new, effective air-con, flat screen TV with satellite channels, double glazed, sound proof doors out onto a private balcony with room for a table and two chairs. The rooms looked freshly painted in duck egg blue and had modern art work (I mention because some of the pictures on this site are a bit old and make the rooms look dated - they're really not).

The bathrooms were a little old fashioned, but I quite liked them. Grey marble throughout and ceramic bath, no mold, mildew or marks.

There is a small bar on site but to be honest you have the old town on your doorstep bustling with locals until late into the evening, so we just used the hotel to rest our head. Calle Strachan is a good option for food and wine, it is only two streets away. We liked Gorki as they had modern and traditional tapas and sharing plates and it seemed to be the place of choice for fashionable Malagueños (they also have a branch at the port).

What I did like about the bar in the hotel was the fact that they made you up a tray of tea of coffee in traditional pots with linen napkins for you to take up to your room at the end of the evening and drink on your balcony, they also didn't rip you off like other hotel bars do and the drinks were very cheap, in fact a large bottle of water was cheaper than the shop close by.

Breakfast was a selection of pastries, jams, meats and cheeses but there was also some scrambled eggs and bacon. Some people have knocked the breakfast but I thought it was good for the price. It isn't a 5 star hotel catering for all nationalities, it's a local Spanish hotel serving Spanish breakfast.

This hotel clientele was predominantly from Spain whilst other Europeans and Americans book into the Marriott or the fashionable Molina Lario - both next door. These hotels have all the trimmings but cost 3 or 4 times as much, so just do what we did....rest you head in the Don Curro's comfy beds and visit the fashionable rooftop pool bars of the hotels next door for a cocktail or two!

Room Tip: Room 509, 510, 511 and 512 should be good. Ask for a twin as the rooms are larger (beds are pushed together)
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank genene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This hotel is located perfectly round the corner from the wonderful old town with its squares and alleyways packed with cafés, bars and restaurants. Room was simple but nice with a modern, clean and spacious bathroom. Free wifi and room safe. Breakfast was fairly basic buffet style but a reasonable choice. Would recommend to anyone wanting a pleasant, clean and well located hotel at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Judith373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews