We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location”
Review of Room Mate Larios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Room Mate Larios
Ranked #2 of 88 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
Reviewed 13 September 2011

This smart hotel is located on the main pedestrianised street of Malaga in between 2 shops. From the hotel you can see the Cathedral. Rooms are spacious and well maintained. We were given a bottle of water and apples on arrival and were even able to check in an hour early! We had a small balcony overlooking the street-brilliant. Staff were friendly and spoke English. The breakfast was perfect. It was just as Id expect from a Spanish breakfast. Possibly the best part is the roof-top bar. This is open late and well stocked with plenty of seating and fantastic views of Malaga from the hills to the Cathedral. The price of this hotel is what made us choose it over any others- I do think its very good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Costa_Azul_9298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,058 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    539
    391
    84
    26
    18
See reviews for
112
609
60
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

The hotel was fine, and the location was excellent. Unfortunately, the hotel neglected to advise us that it was on a PEDESTRIAN ONLY STREET with no access by automobile and no parking. It is necessary to park several blocks away and drag any luggage an equivalent distance. We wasted over an hour trying to find the hotel and arrived bedraggled. Be aware.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbogado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clogheen, Ireland
Level Contributor
229 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

It is a little known fact that over 87% of passengers who pass through Malaga airport never visit Malaga! First impressions of the city on the outskirts are not encouraging, grim clusters of east european style highrises and dull industrial estates but leaving that behind you will soon find yourself in one of the most atmospheric, historic and friendly cities on the Iberian peninsula. To me the heart of the city is the recently revamped and pedestrianised Marques de Larios. It is always vibrant, with great street entertainment and some of my favourite haunts in the city. The Bar Central just on the east side of the Moorish Plaza de la Constitucion is one of the city's favourite meeting places for generations of locals serving very reasonably priced tapas and also has an enticing pasteleria counter. just across the road is the Hotel Larios which hits all the buttons, nice rooms, lively bar friendly staff and lovely regional breakfasts. The actor Antonio Barderes is a frequent visitor. Just across the road is the restaurant El Chinitas (tel 952210972) probably the best in the city serving seafood to die for. For superb morning coffee and afternoon tea just down the street is the cafe Lapanta which is a must for me P picasso was born in Malaga and unlike Paris and Barcelona until recently gained little from this fact. His birthplace on Plaza de la Merced is well worth a visit and a dedicated museum, containing 150 of his paintings is now open on Calle St Agustin. For culture vultures this alone is good reason for visiting one of my favourite cities in Europe.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DCHPORTVENDRES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Had a wonderful in March at Room Mate Larios in Malaga. The location of the hotel was superb, right on the main shopping street, and our room overlooked Calle Larios which was great for people watching, and taking in the atmosphere of the beautiful city of Malaga. The staff we encountered at Reception, the Breakfast area and Housekeeping were extremely friendly and welcoming and all helped ensure we enjoyed our stay. Our Room was kept spotlessly clean, and was a good size with excellent facilities and great bathroom. It was my wife's birthday during our stay, and the hotel staff had thoughfully left a lovely arrangement of Chocolate and Sweeties for us to enjoy which was a nice touch. Breakfast was also excellent, and was buffet style in a bright room on the 1st floor, with views across Plaza de la Constitucion. Juices, Cereals, various Breads with Cheeses and Ham were all available, complemented with Coffee, Tea and some cakes and pastries. Location for a visit to Malaga couldn't be better with all the nightlife and restaurants on your doorstep further up Calle Granada. If you're thinking of visiting Malaga then look no further. Lastly, the Linea A bus from the Airport stops close to the bottom of the street, runs every 30 minutes and costs just 2 Euro per person.

Room Tip: Most rooms have a view of the busy Calle Larios, great for people watching
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ulstair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Whoever wrote a bad review cannot have been in the same hotel as I. This is an excellent place to stay, and it is reasonably priced. My room was huge and fantastically presented. The staff were all helpful and friendly when I had a problem with the internet connection. Moreover the central location makes this a perfect place to stay if you want to visit Malaga, as you can walk everywhere. The hotel is part of a chain, and I wish there were more of its hotels around!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lusiade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Would recommend this hotel very highly. Ideally located in the centre of this very elegant city - within easy walking distance of almost anywhere you would want to go! 2 minutes from the cathedral and Picasso museum, 5 minutes from the Contemporary Art Museum and train station, and only 15 minutes stroll to the beach. Very clean, very comfortable and very good value for money...

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zabriske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano, Italy
Level Contributor
54 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

This hotel is perfectly located in the centre of the tourist area of the city and near all the main sights, within minutes of the Picasso museum, the Cathedral and the Alcazar. It is at the end of an elegant and pedestrian street full of shops. The hotel is perfect as a base for walking to numerous places of interest, restaurants and tapas bars.
There is no parking at Larios, so you have to park at the Room Mate Lola which is about a 5 min. walk.
The room we had was airy and very comfortable with windows overlooking the Larios street; a lot of noice though due to location comes from the pedestrian street, but when our balcony doors were shut you could not hear a thing.
The staff was very helpful and courteous and very well informed of their city.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GORILLAS63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Barcelo Malaga
#3 of 88 in Malaga
2,901 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 88 in Malaga
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Molina Lario
Hotel Molina Lario
#4 of 88 in Malaga
1,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Larios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Larios

Property: Room Mate Larios
Address: Calle Marques de Larios 2, 29005 Malaga, Spain (Formerly Hotel Larios Malaga)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
#7 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
#8 Family Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Room Mate Larios 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Room Mate Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Room Mate Larios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Larios Hotel Malaga
Room Mate Larios málaga
Room Mate Larios Hotel málaga
Room Mate Larios Malaga, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing