We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Larios in Malaga vs. Oscar in Madrid”
Review of Room Mate Larios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Room Mate Larios
Ranked #4 of 89 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Great room (Junior suite)
Wonderful staff throughout... From the front desk, the cleaners, the servers on the very lovely and trendy roof top bar.
Excellent location.
Would recommend this place without hesitation.

Later stayed at the Óscar Room-Mate hotel in Madrid.
Hotel was not quite as nice physically, but fine enough. The roof top bar was terrible in their staff's attitude to us as hotel guests. Rude, unaccommodating. Apparently that bar is not really part of the hotel (although it appears as a Roommate entity on their web site)... It is run as a separate business. I can't tell you how unwelcome they made us feel. They think they are a "destination" bar for the elite of Madrid's younger set.

Also at the Oscar Madrid, don't stay on the 7th floor.... You are kept awake all night by the arrivals and departures from this roof-top bar. They take stairs from this guest floor up and down to the bar. It is VERY noisy with the laughter, carrying-on, shouting, revelry, etc. after leaving the bar. The elevators (both of them) are constantly in use by these patrons, thus preventing hotel guests from accessing them.

On the positive side.... The Oscar's front desk staff and ancillary staff were very nice.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LABToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

602 - 608 of 1,135 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2011

This smart hotel is located on the main pedestrianised street of Malaga in between 2 shops. From the hotel you can see the Cathedral. Rooms are spacious and well maintained. We were given a bottle of water and apples on arrival and were even able to check in an hour early! We had a small balcony overlooking the street-brilliant. Staff were friendly and spoke English. The breakfast was perfect. It was just as Id expect from a Spanish breakfast. Possibly the best part is the roof-top bar. This is open late and well stocked with plenty of seating and fantastic views of Malaga from the hills to the Cathedral. The price of this hotel is what made us choose it over any others- I do think its very good value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Costa_Azul_9298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

The hotel was fine, and the location was excellent. Unfortunately, the hotel neglected to advise us that it was on a PEDESTRIAN ONLY STREET with no access by automobile and no parking. It is necessary to park several blocks away and drag any luggage an equivalent distance. We wasted over an hour trying to find the hotel and arrived bedraggled. Be aware.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rbogado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

It is a little known fact that over 87% of passengers who pass through Malaga airport never visit Malaga! First impressions of the city on the outskirts are not encouraging, grim clusters of east european style highrises and dull industrial estates but leaving that behind you will soon find yourself in one of the most atmospheric, historic and friendly cities on the Iberian peninsula. To me the heart of the city is the recently revamped and pedestrianised Marques de Larios. It is always vibrant, with great street entertainment and some of my favourite haunts in the city. The Bar Central just on the east side of the Moorish Plaza de la Constitucion is one of the city's favourite meeting places for generations of locals serving very reasonably priced tapas and also has an enticing pasteleria counter. just across the road is the Hotel Larios which hits all the buttons, nice rooms, lively bar friendly staff and lovely regional breakfasts. The actor Antonio Barderes is a frequent visitor. Just across the road is the restaurant El Chinitas (tel 952210972) probably the best in the city serving seafood to die for. For superb morning coffee and afternoon tea just down the street is the cafe Lapanta which is a must for me P picasso was born in Malaga and unlike Paris and Barcelona until recently gained little from this fact. His birthplace on Plaza de la Merced is well worth a visit and a dedicated museum, containing 150 of his paintings is now open on Calle St Agustin. For culture vultures this alone is good reason for visiting one of my favourite cities in Europe.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DCHPORTVENDRES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Had a wonderful in March at Room Mate Larios in Malaga. The location of the hotel was superb, right on the main shopping street, and our room overlooked Calle Larios which was great for people watching, and taking in the atmosphere of the beautiful city of Malaga. The staff we encountered at Reception, the Breakfast area and Housekeeping were extremely friendly and welcoming and all helped ensure we enjoyed our stay. Our Room was kept spotlessly clean, and was a good size with excellent facilities and great bathroom. It was my wife's birthday during our stay, and the hotel staff had thoughfully left a lovely arrangement of Chocolate and Sweeties for us to enjoy which was a nice touch. Breakfast was also excellent, and was buffet style in a bright room on the 1st floor, with views across Plaza de la Constitucion. Juices, Cereals, various Breads with Cheeses and Ham were all available, complemented with Coffee, Tea and some cakes and pastries. Location for a visit to Malaga couldn't be better with all the nightlife and restaurants on your doorstep further up Calle Granada. If you're thinking of visiting Malaga then look no further. Lastly, the Linea A bus from the Airport stops close to the bottom of the street, runs every 30 minutes and costs just 2 Euro per person.

Room Tip: Most rooms have a view of the busy Calle Larios, great for people watching
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ulstair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Whoever wrote a bad review cannot have been in the same hotel as I. This is an excellent place to stay, and it is reasonably priced. My room was huge and fantastically presented. The staff were all helpful and friendly when I had a problem with the internet connection. Moreover the central location makes this a perfect place to stay if you want to visit Malaga, as you can walk everywhere. The hotel is part of a chain, and I wish there were more of its hotels around!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lusiade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Would recommend this hotel very highly. Ideally located in the centre of this very elegant city - within easy walking distance of almost anywhere you would want to go! 2 minutes from the cathedral and Picasso museum, 5 minutes from the Contemporary Art Museum and train station, and only 15 minutes stroll to the beach. Very clean, very comfortable and very good value for money...

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zabriske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Barcelo Malaga
#3 of 89 in Malaga
3,272 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 89 in Malaga
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Molina Lario
Hotel Molina Lario
#5 of 89 in Malaga
1,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Larios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Larios

Address: Calle Marques de Larios 2, 29005 Malaga, Spain (Formerly Hotel Larios Malaga)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
#7 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
Price Range: £76 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Room Mate Larios 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Room Mate Hotels, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Room Mate Larios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Larios Hotel Malaga
Room Mate Larios málaga
Room Mate Larios Hotel málaga
Room Mate Larios Malaga, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing