We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room Mate Larios hotel Malaga Spain”
Review of Room Mate Larios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Room Mate Larios
Ranked #3 of 89 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2011

48 hours before our flight to Malaga, Room mate Larios emailed to say how much they were looking forward to welcoming us. When we actually arrived, however, it seemed they didn't want to welcome us at all; the hotel was full and they'd moved us to a different one.

That, however, was emphatically the end of the bad news. We were moved to their companion hotel, Room Mate Lola, on the other side of the Alamada Principal, nearer the docks. They were very keen to make amends and gave us a suite, free breakfast and free parking.

Ten days later, on our return to Malaga, we did then stay at the Larios and found it to be very impressive. Its chief advantage over its Room Mate stablemate is location, location and location. Sited near the top of the Calle Marques de Larios, near the Plaza de la Constitucion, the Larios is perfectly situated with the cathedral, the fashionable shopping district, the atmospheric alleys around the Pasaje de Chinitas and the stunning new Thyssen museum all on its doorstep. The hotel itself claims to be stylish and certainly is, with black and white motifs throughout and the breakfast and bar area finished off in art deco style. Our room was fine (still compensating wildly, they'd given us another suite) and the Room Mate beds were the most comfortable we found in Andalucia.

Unreservedly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robertwoffinden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

588 - 594 of 1,115 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2011

My fiance and I stayed at this hotel in August. We were in Malaga for only one day to attend a wedding in nearby Fuengirola. I booked on a discount website (I honestly cannot recall which right now, but one of the usuals.) We paid a fantastic price for the amazing room we got. We arrived and found the location easily. We took the cercania from the airport to Centro Alameda (I believe...sorry, doing this from memory) and walked about 10 or 15 minutes to Marques de Larios. It's a straight shot from the train to the to Marques de Larios. Marques de Larios is an incredibly beautiful, pedestrian only street. (For those who have been to Barcelona, it really resembles Las Ramblas in style and feel.) The hotel has a small door, but was easy to find. The staff were great. We arrived early, and they held our luggage for us and took a message for a friend we were meeting. We went back to Marques de Larios to find a restaurant (there are many) until we were able to check in.

The only tiny downsides were these. The room was not ready for check in at the check in hour (or so we heard from our friends who arrived on time. We were lazing at the restaurant still.) This is not atypical for Spain (I am American, which is why I have this perspective.) We were certainly able to get into the room within the hour of the typical check in time. Also, the windows of our room faced inward on some pipes in the center of the building structure, so that wasn't amazing. However, it was not at all bad for the discount price we paid. Otherwise, the room was huge and clean and the bathroom was great.

My fiance and I do speak Spanish, so that probably helped. However, I found everything clean and easy and beautiful. The staff were kind and the location was amazing for public transit. Also, Maruqes de Larios was unexpectedly beautiful.

Great place!

Room Tip: I didn't look for a swimming pool, fitness center or restaurant, so I cannot comment on those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denabills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Great room (Junior suite)
Wonderful staff throughout... From the front desk, the cleaners, the servers on the very lovely and trendy roof top bar.
Excellent location.
Would recommend this place without hesitation.

Later stayed at the Óscar Room-Mate hotel in Madrid.
Hotel was not quite as nice physically, but fine enough. The roof top bar was terrible in their staff's attitude to us as hotel guests. Rude, unaccommodating. Apparently that bar is not really part of the hotel (although it appears as a Roommate entity on their web site)... It is run as a separate business. I can't tell you how unwelcome they made us feel. They think they are a "destination" bar for the elite of Madrid's younger set.

Also at the Oscar Madrid, don't stay on the 7th floor.... You are kept awake all night by the arrivals and departures from this roof-top bar. They take stairs from this guest floor up and down to the bar. It is VERY noisy with the laughter, carrying-on, shouting, revelry, etc. after leaving the bar. The elevators (both of them) are constantly in use by these patrons, thus preventing hotel guests from accessing them.

On the positive side.... The Oscar's front desk staff and ancillary staff were very nice.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LABToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

This smart hotel is located on the main pedestrianised street of Malaga in between 2 shops. From the hotel you can see the Cathedral. Rooms are spacious and well maintained. We were given a bottle of water and apples on arrival and were even able to check in an hour early! We had a small balcony overlooking the street-brilliant. Staff were friendly and spoke English. The breakfast was perfect. It was just as Id expect from a Spanish breakfast. Possibly the best part is the roof-top bar. This is open late and well stocked with plenty of seating and fantastic views of Malaga from the hills to the Cathedral. The price of this hotel is what made us choose it over any others- I do think its very good value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Costa_Azul_9298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

The hotel was fine, and the location was excellent. Unfortunately, the hotel neglected to advise us that it was on a PEDESTRIAN ONLY STREET with no access by automobile and no parking. It is necessary to park several blocks away and drag any luggage an equivalent distance. We wasted over an hour trying to find the hotel and arrived bedraggled. Be aware.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rbogado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

It is a little known fact that over 87% of passengers who pass through Malaga airport never visit Malaga! First impressions of the city on the outskirts are not encouraging, grim clusters of east european style highrises and dull industrial estates but leaving that behind you will soon find yourself in one of the most atmospheric, historic and friendly cities on the Iberian peninsula. To me the heart of the city is the recently revamped and pedestrianised Marques de Larios. It is always vibrant, with great street entertainment and some of my favourite haunts in the city. The Bar Central just on the east side of the Moorish Plaza de la Constitucion is one of the city's favourite meeting places for generations of locals serving very reasonably priced tapas and also has an enticing pasteleria counter. just across the road is the Hotel Larios which hits all the buttons, nice rooms, lively bar friendly staff and lovely regional breakfasts. The actor Antonio Barderes is a frequent visitor. Just across the road is the restaurant El Chinitas (tel 952210972) probably the best in the city serving seafood to die for. For superb morning coffee and afternoon tea just down the street is the cafe Lapanta which is a must for me P picasso was born in Malaga and unlike Paris and Barcelona until recently gained little from this fact. His birthplace on Plaza de la Merced is well worth a visit and a dedicated museum, containing 150 of his paintings is now open on Calle St Agustin. For culture vultures this alone is good reason for visiting one of my favourite cities in Europe.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DCHPORTVENDRES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Had a wonderful in March at Room Mate Larios in Malaga. The location of the hotel was superb, right on the main shopping street, and our room overlooked Calle Larios which was great for people watching, and taking in the atmosphere of the beautiful city of Malaga. The staff we encountered at Reception, the Breakfast area and Housekeeping were extremely friendly and welcoming and all helped ensure we enjoyed our stay. Our Room was kept spotlessly clean, and was a good size with excellent facilities and great bathroom. It was my wife's birthday during our stay, and the hotel staff had thoughfully left a lovely arrangement of Chocolate and Sweeties for us to enjoy which was a nice touch. Breakfast was also excellent, and was buffet style in a bright room on the 1st floor, with views across Plaza de la Constitucion. Juices, Cereals, various Breads with Cheeses and Ham were all available, complemented with Coffee, Tea and some cakes and pastries. Location for a visit to Malaga couldn't be better with all the nightlife and restaurants on your doorstep further up Calle Granada. If you're thinking of visiting Malaga then look no further. Lastly, the Linea A bus from the Airport stops close to the bottom of the street, runs every 30 minutes and costs just 2 Euro per person.

Room Tip: Most rooms have a view of the busy Calle Larios, great for people watching
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ulstair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Barcelo Malaga
#4 of 89 in Malaga
3,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 89 in Malaga
536 reviews
Centro
Hotel Molina Lario
Hotel Molina Lario
#5 of 89 in Malaga
1,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Larios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Larios

Address: Calle Marques de Larios 2, 29005 Malaga, Spain (Formerly Hotel Larios Malaga)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
#7 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
#8 Family Hotel in Malaga
Price Range: £90 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Room Mate Larios 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Room Mate Hotels, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Room Mate Larios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Larios Hotel Malaga
Room Mate Larios málaga
Room Mate Larios Hotel málaga
Room Mate Larios Malaga, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing