We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room Mate Larios - Perfect Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Room Mate Larios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Room Mate Larios
Ranked #4 of 90 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Room Mate Larios - Perfect Location”
Reviewed 27 November 2011

We stayed at Room Mate Larios in November before taking a cruise. It was excellent in every way and we highly recommend the hotel! We had a balcony overlooking the street which was great to "see and hear" the beautiful and lively city center. We definitely will stay here again.

Martel

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martel33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    513
    386
    81
    26
    18
See reviews for
107
592
57
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Dora, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

We booked a junior suite. We got a huge room #203 on the corner of Valle Latinos and constitution plaza. We had a great view of all the people out walking, talking, shopping and singing groups on the weekend.
The hotel is in the center of the pedestrian zone, tapas bar heaven.
The breakfast was nice, excellent coffee machine.
Friendly, helpful, bilingual front desk staff.
You won't be sorry if you pick Roommate Larios.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donato1899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
236 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 416 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

We decided to spend a week basing ourselves in Malaga. We read the reviews ( thanks Trip Advisor reviewers )about a number of hotels and selected this one. All the hotels we considered were within a few hundred metres of each other. Larios is centrally based and convenient for city centre attractions. I am not sure I liked the greeting at the entrance saying " Come up and stay with me tonight ". It is hardly something I would expect a reasonable hotel to have but no doubt Room Mates marketers thought otherwise. The reception area is also the sitting area, the bar and the breakfast area. It is very stylish and very comfortable. Reception was excellent. Indeed, all the staff without exception were incredibly helpful and charming - nothing was too much trouble.The best staff I have ever come across. Breakfast was fine and the coffee excellent - a rare event for hotel breakfasts. Our room was clean,spacious and stylish. The shower powerful with plenty of hot water. A nice TV but no English channel. No information in the room about anything so we asked at reception and after making enquiries the receptionist told us that there used to be an English channel but for some reason there was no longer one. We found it amazing that a 4 star hotel with an international client base should be like this in 2011. It is very useful at the end of a day sight seeing to relax and catch up with what has happened in the world during the day even if the channel provided is only CNN. We were there for a week and found it very difficult because the lighting in the bedroom was very poor and it was difficult to read. If we had been there for a night or two we would not have been so bothered about it - but a week!.

Larios has a fabulous roof terrace with lovely views of the Cathedral especailly at night. It was open for the first night and then closed for 3 nights because of bad weather but in fact never reopened when the weather improved.

I am all for helping the environment but was not impressed to find out that our sheets were not changed after 4 nights. In order to have clean sheets you need to make a request. How long would it be left before you were given clean sheets? Again this is not a problem for you if you are only staying for a couple of nights.

Room Tip: Try not to overlook the main street which although traffic free can be noisy all through the night
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katharine186300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Excellent room with three balconies!!!
Lovely, spacious and airy.
Bed very large and good mattress.
The location is fantastic - lots of lovely views from the roof bar and in the centre of all the hubbub of city life.
Definitely will return.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShropshireAnne_Mick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Canada Flintridge, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

The hip and quirky Room Mate chain is a great option for reasonably-priced, clean and comfortable rooms. Our suite overlooked the Plaza de Constitucion, and provided a great place to watch the flow of people streaming across the square. Even when jetlag prevailed, and I looked down on the plaza at 5 am, the room was soundproof enough that I could not hear the workers steam-cleaning the square! Location was perfect for exploring Malaga--set off on foot in any direction to wind down charming streets of shops and tapas places. Breakfast was included in our rate, and was substantial. Rooms are clean and beds extra-comfy. Will definitely stay at another Room Mate hotel when we have the opportunity!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chezcherie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We chose a mid term city break that could give us the benifits of good weather and interesting cultural experiences and Room Mate Larios gave us the opportunity to do this in style. The location (in the centre of the old town), the welcome, the staff, the service and cleanliness are all that makes this a perfect destination for a city break in Malaga. For us it gave us everything we required and although we didn't take advantage of the breakfast offered we found lots of places around which suited us well. We too would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: We asked for a room with a view and got one overlooking the main street, some noise but well within...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maria1joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

48 hours before our flight to Malaga, Room mate Larios emailed to say how much they were looking forward to welcoming us. When we actually arrived, however, it seemed they didn't want to welcome us at all; the hotel was full and they'd moved us to a different one.

That, however, was emphatically the end of the bad news. We were moved to their companion hotel, Room Mate Lola, on the other side of the Alamada Principal, nearer the docks. They were very keen to make amends and gave us a suite, free breakfast and free parking.

Ten days later, on our return to Malaga, we did then stay at the Larios and found it to be very impressive. Its chief advantage over its Room Mate stablemate is location, location and location. Sited near the top of the Calle Marques de Larios, near the Plaza de la Constitucion, the Larios is perfectly situated with the cathedral, the fashionable shopping district, the atmospheric alleys around the Pasaje de Chinitas and the stunning new Thyssen museum all on its doorstep. The hotel itself claims to be stylish and certainly is, with black and white motifs throughout and the breakfast and bar area finished off in art deco style. Our room was fine (still compensating wildly, they'd given us another suite) and the Room Mate beds were the most comfortable we found in Andalucia.

Unreservedly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robertwoffinden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 90 in Malaga
397 reviews
Centro
Hotel Molina Lario
Hotel Molina Lario
#3 of 90 in Malaga
1,813 reviews
Barcelo Malaga
#2 of 90 in Malaga
2,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Larios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Larios

Property: Room Mate Larios
Address: Calle Marques de Larios 2, 29005 Malaga, Spain (Formerly Hotel Larios Malaga)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
#7 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
#8 Family Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Room Mate Larios 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Room Mate Hotels, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Room Mate Larios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Larios Hotel Malaga
Room Mate Larios málaga
Room Mate Larios Hotel málaga
Room Mate Larios Malaga, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing